Rightwing wrote: » From what i saw of the 2 games, donaghy is the only kerry player that would make mayo's team. Yet all these so called analysts get it so badly wrong. Or are they trying to be controversial to get a gig?. Laughable.
Rightwing wrote: » Similar to the pundits like tomas o se, i'm no expert, but mayo struggled v roscommon, kerry, cork, galway, derry. So i wouldn't be getting carried away if i was mayo. I'd say the kerry minor team would beat the kerry senior team. so at the moment, i'd rank it like this: 1 dublin 2 tyrone 3 mayo 4 kerry
jam83 wrote: Tyrone didn't push up on a single Dublin kickout and Dublin had the ball in midfield at their leisure to launch from there. Granted the movement in the forwards is very good but Mayo have a great chance as they will pressure every dublin kickout.
Fr Tod Umptious wrote: » I have to watch it back yet but I was worried throughout the second half that Kerry would sneak and goal and get within a point or 2, maybe watching it back will show that the Mayo defence was better than I thought from my canal end seat. .... Can’t wait for the final, all the talk , and rightly so, will be about Dublin, but this Mayo team are the only ones who have really put it up to Dublin in recent years and hopefully they will do so again and more in a few weeks
PARlance wrote: » It was a constant worry. I didn't think we were ever going to lose it but they were a goal away from being right back in it. That was a bit of a worry but it's an All Ireland Semi against Kerry... a nice worry.
danganabu wrote: » I think it has more to do with Mayo's recent history, its quite funny actually and I was talking to someone about it Saturday night, but even with ten minutes to go you were half thinking if Kerry get a goal here, when in reality Mayo destroyed them. Rochford actually touched on it in his post match interview which I thought was very reassuring, I like him as a manager and I think he has gotten more right than wrong and has made some massive and brave calls but the lazy armchair analysts would have you believe he is a bluffer and is being dictated to by player power :rolleyes:
irishgeo wrote: » i am worried about our tackling ability. we cant seem to lay a hand on runners going through and resort to fouling to stop them. thats not going to cut it against dublin. tyrone couldnt get near them. dublin were very cynical off the ball as well. peter harte was fouled off the ball a number of times yesterday without getting a free.
Fowler87 wrote: » Sure life is grand lads:cool:
PARlance wrote: » Oh jesus, they've started. There'll be a cover of M17 yet!
Bunny Colvin wrote: » I'd nearly trade never winning an Ireland with not having to hear another All Ireland song. ****e cringey nonsense that's overdone at this stage. Did I mention I hate All-Ireland songs?
tacofries wrote: » This is gonna get a great response from 2 posters in particular but what do people feel has changed which has made Doherty and Moran click into form? Is it due to playing Aidan at full back which then results in us giving a different style of ball into the forward line? The question does need to be asked if our love for Aidan results in us ignoring styles of play which may suit other forwards better.
ProudDUB wrote: » At least you're from Mayo. Try being a Dub and having this doozy stuck in your head.... :mad:
seligehgit wrote: » Yes is the answer imo,quite an improvement in our forward play with Aidan sitting more defensively. Much quicker ball and greater fluidity.Footpassing in the last few games has been a joy to behold.We have been attacking at great pace from the half back and on occasion full back with Zippy on the front foot.The off the shoulder passing has been wonderful.Hoping he'll take up position in the middle of the park as an auxiliary midfielder.He can rotate inside as necessary or to mix things up.Many others have mentioned many moons ago their belief that Aidan at times tends to stifle our attack when he takes too much out of the ball and puts the head down.For all his great attributes he isn't exactly blessed with a blistering turn of pace.