Outlaw Pete wrote: » McGregor caught him lots during those rounds, it wasn't all one way traffic. People saying the fight proves that Conor doesn't have power are having a laugh. You can see from the shots Conor was throwing, long before they landed, that they were not going to do much. Why he seemed to under perform in the regard I am not sure. Not saying McGregor has huge power or anything but just that while he connected with Floyd quite a lot (111 punches - 2nd highest amount of shots any fighter has ever hit Floyd with) he never really hit him with anything of significance..... and that's just as well for Floyd as had they're been power on those shots, they would have hurt him. Not competitive? Yeah, right.
bajer101 wrote: » Was just thinking what would happen if Conor boxed Andy Lee. Would be over very quickly.
Subcomandante Marcos wrote: » Andy is 6'2" and walks around over 190lbs and weighs 175+ on fight nights and cuts a decent amount of weight to make middle weight these days. It's not really a fair question to ask. He's a much bigger man.
snowflaker wrote: » Backing himself to win in 9.5 rounds seems he had his game plan all worked out. There is a reason novice boxers don't fight 10/12 rounders. Floyd and everybody knows this
Mellor wrote: » The fact he had back himself under 9.5 rounds (and didn't know how much he got on) is more damning if his performance than anything else. I'm aware the bet still came in, but there's no way he's planned to c utt it that close. I'd guess Conor survived a few rounds longer than anticipated.
Outlaw Pete wrote: » You said you found it hard not to give him credit for the early rounds. So what?
Blueberry Pods wrote: » You said Conor wouldn't land a punch on Floyd, you said Conor wouldn't win a round, were you wrong, yes, are you the one movinf the goal posts, yes.
ThinkProgress wrote: » I see where you're coming from... part of me was anticipating some kind of masterclass too. Particularly as this was his big send-off. But then another part of me, just knew that Floyd would be cautious. He has always been a slightly frustrating fighter that way... But is that not also part of his genius? He is a clever tactician... and he actually fights within his true abilities. He was always in total control of the outcome of this fight. It's just that his tactics, were conservative. I guess leopard can't really change it's spots. He's also not really a naturally offensive fighter. I think there were two fighters out there, trying to figure out what they were doing!! (slight exaggeration)
The Reservoir Dubs Anchorman wrote: » I doubt we ever see McGregor in a boxing ring again(no harm)
Burkie1203 wrote: » McGregor's ego says otherwise. If he wants to be a serious boxer he needs to change his entire coaching setup. Loyalty wont save him from a savage beating if he steps in the boxing ring again. I don't think he would go the proper route to gain the experience either.
benny79 wrote: » Can I ask a question to the boxing experts. How did Conor only win the first round? I definitely taught he 100% won the second and even the third as Mayweather done absolutely nothing to justify winning them! This is why I hate boxing.. I watched the Packy fight and I taught the judges were giving Mayweather a good few rounds that Paco was clearly winning. Same with the boxing in the olympics
Ultimate Seduction wrote: » Congratulations to the people who won soft money Saturday night. Fair play to the lads who predicted it almost to a tee. I think if Conor had decent cardio he would have troubled Floyd, he would have kept slipping an countering Floyd. Floyd wouldn't have come foward like that if Conor wasn't badly gassing either. End of the day he did gas and got an education on boxing conditioning. Fair play tho. Especially to Walsh who seems to have watched the same fight I did.
benny79 wrote: » How much of a difference would gloves laced wrong make?
Burkie1203 wrote: FM was never going to lose. Even if CmcG wasnt gassed after 3 or 4 rounds, his technique was poor. His best shot, the uppercut, didnt trouble FM. A lot of the other stuff he landed was depowered.