jaymla627 wrote: » I'd rather let the neighbour have it and just put more meal into the cows if you want to go up in numbers, you'll easily buy in a good 3 way mix to balance grass for sub 200 a ton, let say on the 20 acres you utilize 112 ton of dm, it will cost just shy of 21000 to match this output with imported feed, when your talking of it costing 40 plus grand a year to meet repayments/development costs/and running costs(fert/spray etc) on the bought in block it just further hammers home if a real economic cost is attributed to land ownership it alters the figures of grazed grass been a cheap feed immensely
George Sunsnow wrote: » Land rental value of your owned land is an opportunity cost Google opportunity cost It's not something you can put in your hand unless you take up the opportunity In which case you're not farming anymore ergo you wouldn't be a farmer Other opportunity costs affecting me is not having done Rocket science at college or medicine I could have earned a lot more money than on the farm None of these things are a cost against my production because I wouldn't be producing if I did them Ergo owned land price/potential rental is not a CoP So let's put that nonsense to bed What you pay yourself or what you should be paying yourself is a CoP on the other hand,a real tangible cost not imagination
mf240 wrote: » Bord bia is a load of dung but it's not that hard to get trough it. Even the lads at it know it's a load of shyte but it's a handy job .
Mooooo wrote: » So we are to be unique in the business world not taking into account opportunity cost??
whelan2 wrote: » First Autumn calver calved this morning. Not due until September 1st. Small fr heifer calf
yewtree wrote: » Without using opportunity cost you have no clue how the farm is going. If you can make more money out of renting the place, would you not be better off doing that?
George Sunsnow wrote: » Yes of course you would! However until you do that it's an opportunity cost totally unrelated to the production you are currently doing on the farm The key word is production Unless the cost is involved in making the product it is not a cost against that product Opportunity cost sure is a tool to evaluate decisions as to whether to farm or not It's also by extension a weapon against your processor to be waved if you can get more from renting or selling than producing The concept of opportunity cost and cost of production should not be confused The latter is a tool only,a personal tool to evaluate decisions Nothing else
Gawddawggonnit wrote: » Snap. Bunch of heifers due to calve from September but one decided to come early. A neighbor called into the parlor at 6 to tell me. Off I went to see alls well...feckin monster of a calf that had to be jacked. Both are fine. First calf from a *supposedly* easy calving part bull. It didn't help that I had a gallery of about 20 cyclists watching me.
Mooooo wrote: » For years the cop quoted by industry didn't include land, which for you as an individual may have been fine but for farmers as a group it was not as many had land bought etc. The buyers were looking how low they could pay and the cost of the land the milk came from wasn't even considered I think the initial question posed by a poster trying to work out if they should go dairying should include it and also the published cop figures in media should include it as many of us are paying for land.
George Sunsnow wrote: » Buying land is a cost of production That's completely different You write it off against production and if the money was borrowed,the interest too It ceases to be a CoP once it is 100% written off
mf240 wrote: » Next time your in a restaurant ask the owner if he has the establishment paid for, and if he has then tell him you want to pay less for your meal.
Brown Podzol wrote: » Land, labour, capital and entrepreneurship are the factors off production. All are scarce and so have a cost. I didn't make it up. It's the basis of all economics.
George Sunsnow wrote: Google opportunity cost It's not something you can put in your hand unless you take up the opportunity In which case you're not farming anymore ergo you wouldn't be a farmer
alps wrote: » Completely incorrect.... Interest on borrowed money is entered on Irish COP models, the capital repayment is not, nor should it be. You have bought a capital asset which may appreciate or depreciate over time.
The value you can derive from it in the meantime is the rental value of it....easily determined.
kowtow wrote: » Of course you can. You can farm less ground and rent it out and still be a farmer. Or rent half the land and put cows indoors.
But that is not the point. If you don't make some allowance for land you cannot properly understand your business, and most importantly it's scalability (or otherwise). .
yewtree wrote: » Did anyone here ever test dairy cow ration to check for energy and protein levels? I know you can work out energy content based on inclusion level of ingredients.
alps wrote: » Yes...tested pretty much as the label said. You can expect some deviation. However a friend of mine sent a sample in the last week to test for mycotixin levels, and it came back 10 times higher than the recommended tolerances. He has been plagued all summer from mastitis outbreaks, despite spending big money on parlour servicing and changing liners and rubbers a number of times. He had covered every angle and was left with the only outstanding area being the ration. He is feeding between 4 and 6 kg all summer, and his concerns were confirmed. His belief is that this year SOYA hulls and maize meal are extremely high in mycotixins..He has now insured that his supplier includes a binder for the rest of the year.
freedominacup wrote: » alps wrote: » Yes...tested pretty much as the label said. You can expect some deviation. However a friend of mine sent a sample in the last week to test for mycotixin levels, and it came back 10 times higher than the recommended tolerances. He has been plagued all summer from mastitis outbreaks, despite spending big money on parlour servicing and changing liners and rubbers a number of times. He had covered every angle and was left with the only outstanding area being the ration. He is feeding between 4 and 6 kg all summer, and his concerns were confirmed. His belief is that this year SOYA hulls and maize meal are extremely high in mycotixins..He has now insured that his supplier includes a binder for the rest of the year. What is a binder?
yewtree wrote: » Thanks lads for the replies, where did you get it tested?
yosemitesam1 wrote: » It neutralises the toxin, the mill should really be doing that for free if they're selling poor quality grain that they probably penalized the grower for