pone2012 wrote: » To be fair, that was a big part of it, a lot of people were unimpressed with what Conor brought to that workout....Leaking that footage was effectively damage control
.ak wrote: » Damage control... The idea that the lads, just as Conor was going through a 12 round bag session, all turned themselves off camera and were like, 'Quick, send Dana the text, get him to leak the footage! This looks terrible!' is laughable. There's far fetched and then there's that.
walshb wrote: » wonder, I don't believe that you genuinely think that Conor wins. It's quite an easy stance to take, and I reckon your praying for what you think will be all the adulation should Conor win. He loses and people just say you got it woefully wrong, but sure he was always going to lose.. He wins and maybe you think that your prediction was so brilliant and developed and constructed and thought out and meaningful. But really his only chance is that slim KO.. that is not a well developed or meaningful or brilliant prediction. It's just a prayer for a win. We could all pray it. That's not me having a pop at you, just observing. From reading through your breakdowns, assessments, analyses you have went from this side to that side and back again. It just doesn't add up to a now genuine belief that he wins.. From a TKO win 9th rd for Floyd to this utter confidence that Conor wins? I don't buy it.
walshb wrote: » wonder, I don't believe that you genuinely think that Conor wins. It's quite an easy stance to take, and I reckon your praying for what you think will be all the adulation should Conor win.
wonderfullife wrote: » Dana says Conor won every single round against Paulie, gave him a bad beating that left them (Dana and Lorenzo) feeling really sorry for Paulie. Says he's not surprised and actually glad Paulie left the camp to prevent further damage to himself. Also says he has no interest in Conor v Paulie, said "I've seen that fight it didn't go well". https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z3KsYr-JrPY
pone2012 wrote: » Sorry now but where did I mention " the lads" I believe Dana white had that footage edited long before that interview, but dropped it at that time as a knee jerk reaction to people being unimpressed with what Mcgregor was doing..
wonderfullife wrote: » That's crazy talk. As Dana said in the interview I posted: "Edited? What am I frickin Steven Spielberg!?". The conspiracy theories are fun I guess but the truth is Dana is notoriously short fused and 100% happy with throwing any fighter under the bus. Look at Woodley! I think Dana just had enough of Paulie doing 500 interviews going around saying Conor sucks and thought "right enough of this sh1t" and posted it. The vibe I got from Dana's interview is he genuinely thinks Paulie is delusional. If they're ALL lying - John, Owen, Tiernan, Artem, Dana, Dashon, Gerry - if they're literally all a pack of liars, they're putting in some Oscar-worthy performances.
xtal191 wrote: »
gilmour wrote: » Why not release it on the Wednesday or Thursday then? This week would have been perfect, closer to the fight, allow Paulie to run his mouth some more, and now that camps are starting to taper down there isnt much to actually talk about from both camps other than build the fight. But an hour after a public workout from Conor, THAT was the best time? Why?
Outlaw Pete wrote: » You can't be serious?? So, they are doing the media workout, social media start laughing and so Conor's people go 'Ah crap, quick, somebody edit the footage and we'll release it!" First of all. NOTHING that Conor did at that media workout wasn't specifically planned. All of it was deliberate with an eye to giving nothing away and do something which people might say 'What the hell was that about?' in response to. Secondly, they timed the release of that footage to perfection as it was released within minutes of Conor and his time doing three or four interviews each. Ariel even watched the clip during Conor's interview.
wonderfullife wrote: » Great video Xtal. Picking Conor: Emil Meek, Cynthia Cavillo, Stevie Ray, Paul Craig, Gunni Nelson, Khalil Rountree Rooting for Conor: Overeem, Jo-Jo Calderwood Picking Floyd: Claudia Gadehla, Micky Gall, Paul Felder, Santiago Ponzinibbio, Kevin Lee, Kamari Usman Funny that 38 out of 39 fighters picked Nate for the Diaz 2 rematch and we already have 6 on record picking Conor to beat Floyd. Mad!
section4 wrote: » The fact that they think there is some credence in publishing a spar with maliniaggi says it all, if they think Paulie has credibility in terms of Top level boxing now they are in dreamland .
section4 wrote: Conor said he would ko Diaz in 2, he was wrong And if Conor wasn't such a cash cow for ufc he prob Wouldn't have got the decision in the second fight
Subcomandante Marcos wrote: » I just heard Ariel saying he never got paid for that terrible ppv "experience" nonsense in Manchester. Hopefully the next time that shower of crooks attempt to run something like this Conor tell's them to GTFO and fans don't line their pockets while they rip people like Airl off. You can tell Conor genuinely likes Ariel and appreciates his support and the coverage he gave him early on so I'd say he'd give those lads a wide berth in future.
Swashbuckler wrote: » So you're suggesting the judges were corrupt and gave the decision to Conor because he makes the UFC money?
Swashbuckler wrote: » Im always interested to hear the reasoning from people who say Conor got the nod because it was in the UFC'S interests. If someone comes out with a statement like that then it needs to be backed up.
everlast75 wrote: » All due respect, you have your excuses if McGregor wins.. too many to list for me. Maybe Wonder's posts are fanciful to you but most believe them to be well thought out. Yours on the other hand come across as a grumpy uncle who is tired of listening to anyone who doesn't know half as much as you do about combative sports. We get it. You believe he will lose. I do too. I believe he has a 1% chance.