Nabber wrote: » Jaysus, how do you people remember what the summer was like. I can't remember what the last summer was like. Some of ye lads can remember the 70s and 80s.... Impressive.
sryanbruen wrote: » Just like Schadenfreudia said, we remember things that are of interest whilst we also remember weather extreme events - because they're so extreme, how can you forget them? I remember these events to give interesting facts about past weather to people and compare with the present. For example, I compared the Summer of 2011 to 2015 and they are both very similar here.
Nabber wrote: » Irish summers don't contain extreme events. Unless by Irish terms we call 28c extreme. Other than that we lack in most weather events. I enjoy weather, but I find it hard to think of memorable weather events in a Dublin summer. I remember in 92 I clocked my friends mam in the face with a water balloon, accidentally.
Stinicker wrote: » 2007 was the worst year for rain on record and it rained every single day that summer it seemed.
sryanbruen wrote: » I would like to update on this. My dullest Summer months 1. August 2008 - 79 hours 2. August 2002 - 85 hours 3. August 2011 - 91 hours 4. August 2006 - 94 hours 5. July 1986 - 96 hours 6. July 2002 - 104 hours 7. August 1994 - 108 hours 8. July 2015 - 110 hours 9. August 1986 - 117 hours 10. August 2013 - 119 hours My wettest Summer months 1. August 2008 - 183.1mm 2. June 2012 - 182.2mm 3. August 2014 - 171.4mm 4. August 1986 - 168.7mm 5. July 2009 - 163.9mm 6. June 2007 - 135.5mm 7. June 1997 - 126.4mm 8. June 1993 - 121.2mm (about 101.1mm of that on the 11th) 9. July 2007 - 117.6mm 10. June 1998 - 113.5mm My coldest Summer months 1. August 1986 - 9.7c (exceptionally cold!!!!) 2. June 1991 - 10.3c 3. June 2011 - 11.1c 4. June 1987 - 11.2c 5. June 2012 - 11.3c 6. June 1999 & 2015 - 11.6c 7. June 1998 & August 2011 - 11.7c 8. June 2002 & August 2014 - 11.8c 9. July 1988 & June 2001 - 11.9c 10. June 1990 & August 2015 - 12.1c Results show that the top two worst Summer months in my records are August 1986 & 2008.
sryanbruen wrote: » By extreme events I mean not normal months like: December 2015 February 2014 July 2013 June 2012 April 2011 December 2010 November 2010 November 2009 July 2009 August 2008 April 2007 July 2006 (amazingly, 2004 and 2005 did not have one extreme month) August 2003 March 2003 (felt more like April in the sunshine) November 2002 October 2002 February 2002 Well some summers do be memorable (I know this is off topic) in Dublin. Examples: Summer 2014 - June and July were awesome whilst August was plain awful Summer 2013 - June and August were just pleasant, nothing out of the ordinary whilst July was proper Summer weather Summer 2010 - June and August were very pleasant whilst July was terrible Summer 2006 - June and especially July were just too pleasant, it didn't feel like Ireland in these months 'cause of the heat and sunshine whilst August was much more average after a very warm start ^ I hope I cleared up the idea for you of what I mean by an extreme event or month. Anyways on-topic, I already confirmed that Grange's worst summer was 1986.
Godge wrote: » 17 extreme events in 14 years. You may describe them as abnormal events, but extreme is not the correct label.
Timmyboy wrote: » I remember seeing snow on hills in mid Cork North West in July of 1986. Your records helped me to remember.
NIMAN wrote: » Yeah, our summers are gradually getting more depressing if you ask me. This summer has been the final straw, and next year we will definitely book a week abroad. The kids, and me too, deserve at least some sunshine on their holidays. It appears that are summers are now moving forward, seems to be a pattern or am I imagining it? Our best weather is now around the April/May time, July and August are usually write-offs in recent years.
snowstreams wrote: » I thought it was pretty decent until I saw the met eireann stats for July. It was 1.1c below average for Athenry and 158% of rainfall. Lots of the country was wetter and colder than average. But because it was sunnier than normal and winds were weak it seemed better than average in my opinion. Also i think a large chunk of that rain came in the space of 2 days towards the end of the month.
DOCARCH wrote: » Here's one of my simple criteria for a good/bad summer month...in Dublin 16. July 2017 : 22 days with max of 20.0c + = good July 2016 : 23 days with max of 20.0c + = good July 2015 : 13 days with max of 20.0c + = not good July 2014 : 26 days with max of 20.0c + = very good July 2013 : 30 days with max of 20.0c + = very good July 2012 : 11 days with max of 20.0c + = bad
sryanbruen wrote: » I think this Summer is another perfect middle of the road Summer so far.
sryanbruen wrote: » I say this and then have a totally different opinion a few weeks later, yeah this Summer is sh!t.
Storm 10 wrote: » The Daily Star today do I need to say anymorehttp://www.dailystar.co.uk/news/latest-news/637291/uk-weather-forecast-summer-coldest-35-years
George Sunsnow wrote: » ''Twas a great summer in the southeast