Deleted User wrote: » Yeah, that's exactly it. I think another element is that McGregor's team are more akin to hired help than teammates. So they feel like they have to follow him around 24/7 because he is paying for their time. With most fighters their teammates will come and help them prepare for a fight, accompany them during fight week etc. Then the roles will be reversed and they'll repay the favour for their teammates fights. Conor doesn't seem to like doing this, it's rare that you'll see him accompany a teammate during fight week, be in their corner, etc. He prefers to just pay them for his camp and then he doesn't owe them one back. I suppose it's one of the perks of success although im not sure it's good for team moral
Useful.Idiot wrote: » when did he mention it? Thought he made a point not to
wonderfullife wrote: » It wasn't just the rowing technique and that's worrying. If you look at his bench press, he was lifting his bum and feet off the floor to try get the final reps, not only are you risking a lower-back-injury, you're also not using your core properly. I dunno. Stuff like that really worries me because there's only really 3 explanations: 1. His coaching team don't know proper weight lifting techniques and proper rowing techniques and are simply allowing him to row and lift like a donkey. 2. His team do know the proper techniques but are afraid to correct Conor on them because they are yes-men who don't want to tell him he's doing it arse-ways. 3. They have informed him and he a) doesn't listen to them or b) is incapable of executing basic techniques.Given the fact Julian Dalby is a national champion weight-lifter, you'd have to be leaning towards options 2 or 3, neither of which are good. Look, I know he's not trying to be a rower or weight-lifter but for a professional athlete he should at least be trying to use proper techniques and not injure himself. Any instructor worth their salt in any local gym wouldn't tolerate a novice continuing to lift and row arseways.
kwestfan08 wrote: » Don't think he mentioned it outright but last weekend when he was wearing the jersey of the basketball player she was texting when Floyd flew in a rage and beat her. So he was more than alluding to it. Edit: Outlaw Pete got there first.
Alf Veedersane wrote: » Julian Dalby isn't a national champion at weightlifting or powerlifting. He's strong but he's neither of those. Nor a gym instructor.
Gintonious wrote: » He was a cyclist? He is a doctor though, right?
Alf Veedersane wrote: » Yes to both.
His official Guinness World Record announcement reads: “The greatest weight dead lifted in one hour is 68,210 kg (150,377 lb 5 oz) by Julian Dalby at the Raw Condition Gym in Dublin, Ireland, on 3 June 2012. Julian performed 109 reps of 50kg; 27 reps of 40 kg and 2056 of 30 kg.”
Gintonious wrote: » A bit of reading shows he does have a world record. That amount of reps would leave you in a ball.
weldoninhio wrote: » Floyds ex is not very happy with McGregor using her domestic violence as a prop in the build up.
Gintonious wrote: A bit of reading shows he does have a world record.
wonderfullife wrote: » That's so strange because Conor deliberately didn't mention it. The CJ Watson jersey wasn't about domestic violence at all. It was poking at Floyd's ego reminding him that this tall basketball player CJ Watson was off shagging his missus. Floyd has the biggest (and most fragile) ego in all of sports in my opinion, and a bit of a Napoleon-complex, so it's not a bad idea to attack his ego.
MMayweather wrote: » That statement is her just riding the coattails of McGregor trying to get some liberal sjw sympathy and praise
Inviere wrote: » In all fairness, neither you, or anybody else here, have the first clue as to the dynamics of Conor's team or camp.
EagererBeaver wrote: » Lol.
wonderfullife wrote: » That's so strange because Conor deliberately didn't mention it. The CJ Watson jersey wasn't about domestic violence at all. It was poking at Floyd's ego reminding him that this tall basketball player CJ Watson was off shagging his missus.
VW 1 wrote: » The world record is for most weight lifted in x period of time. Iirc it was dead lifting, and it was 60kg or something on the bar.
“Julian performed 109 reps of 50kg; 27 reps of 40 kg and 2056 of 30 kg.”
Gintonious wrote: » Plus it will take a hell of a lot more to attack the "most fragile" ego in all of sports as you put it. You're probably the only one with that opinion.
weldoninhio wrote: » So again you are right and everyone else is wrong, including Josie Harris, in this instance. She probably released the statement for the craic.
wonderfullife wrote: » I dunno. Whatever about the weights, his rowing technique is clearly horrendous and easy to fix. Conor is all about efficiency of movement so it's weird that he's training so inefficiently. Then that makes me think... if they're training inefficiently on a rower and on a weights bench... what's to say they're not doing the same inside the ring? Taking 5 steps to cut an angle when 4 steps would do?
I'm probably being a bit harsh but if I had spare money I wouldn't be rushing off to enroll in his FAST Program when seemingly the guys behind it can't even get Conor to row properly.
wonderfullife wrote: » No, I'm in good company thinking his ego is both his biggest strength and biggest weakness.http://www.boxingscene.com/degale-mayweather-talks-rubbish-big-ego-all-about-him--112774http://metro.co.uk/2017/06/05/mike-tyson-slams-small-scared-man-floyd-mayweather-for-muhammad-ali-comparison-6685793/https://www.ringtv.com/385527-floyd-mayweather-jr-s-early-years-from-the-ring-magazine/http://www.couriermail.com.au/sport/boxing-mma/floyd-mayweather-is-an-insufferable-egomaniac-but-it-works-brilliantly-for-him-writes-ron-reed/news-story/ef4564749ad59426433a2f8c35343397http://deadspin.com/is-manny-pacquiaos-promoter-sabotaging-the-floyd-maywea-1683524338https://www.theguardian.com/sport/2011/jul/22/floyd-mayweather-jr-amir-khanhttp://www.thesweetscience.com/feature-articles/20430-a-fallen-floyd-fights-for-life-after-deathhttp://www.espn.com/boxing/story/_/id/9241028/what-floyd-mayweather-jr-zero-worthhttp://www.foxsportsasia.com/news/mcgregor-playing-mayweathers-ego/https://www.caymancompass.com/2015/02/27/mayweather-s-ego-is-greater-than-his-record/http://bleacherreport.com/articles/1085504-floyd-mayweather-legendary-boxers-ego-will-continue-to-cause-troublehttp://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/8233092/Kevin-Pietersen-and-the-top-10-sporting-egos.htmlhttp://thecruelestsport.com/2009/11/23/the-ego-is-always-at-the-wheel-why-floyd-mayweather-jr-seems-so-hesitant-to-fight-manny-pacquiao/http://www.spin.ph/boxing/manny-pacquiao/haymaker/floyd-mayweather-ego-trip-loses-wbo-welterweight-title-belt-crown-stripped-manny-pacquiaohttp://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/other-sports/68236914/mayweatherpacquiao-rematch-temptation-fuelled-by-ego-cashhttp://www.boxingnews24.com/2014/05/floyd-mayweather-sr-discredits-a-future-champion-to-satisfy-his-sons-ego/
wonderfullife wrote: » It's not about right or wrong opinions. It's about the fact Conor *literally* didn't mention her name once, didn't mention domestic violence once and all he has done is *twice* reference CJ Watson, and the second time he didn't even bring it up. He wore the Warriors jersey once in a 2 second segment of a Mac Life video and Draymond Green decided to make it an issue a week later.