ScumLord wrote: Has there been any talk of the under card yet? Could be an opportunity for the real Irish boxers to get themselves noticed on the world stage. Katie Taylor would be an obvious choice if we want to show Irish boxing at it's best, but is she more of a main card type fighter these days?
ScumLord wrote: » Has there been any talk of the under card yet? Could be an opportunity for the real Irish boxers to get themselves noticed on the world stage. Katie Taylor would be an obvious choice if we want to show Irish boxing at it's best, but is she more of a main card type fighter these days?
JaMarcusHustle wrote: » Given the main event, I reckon Phelps vs Shark II would be right at home on the undercard.
The Reservoir Dubs Anchorman wrote: » GerryDerpy wrote: » I dunno man. If Conor says he is going to knock him out inside four rounds, goes in and does it, you need to re-evaluate your opinion of him as a boxer. Not if he gets murdered for 4 rounds and just manages to land a haymaker.
GerryDerpy wrote: » I dunno man. If Conor says he is going to knock him out inside four rounds, goes in and does it, you need to re-evaluate your opinion of him as a boxer.
The Reservoir Dubs Anchorman wrote: » I wonder. Why would he bother going back? €75million in the bank. He'd have to fight 20 times in the UFC to even come close to that amount.
Sweet Science wrote: » He is contracted to the UFC so he cant even if he wanted to . Plus there is no other boxing fight that would come close to this commercially
The Reservoir Dubs Anchorman wrote: » he could just retire. I'm not talking about him boxing. I'm talking about just hanging up the gloves and mouthguard. Why would he bother to fight?
JaMarcusHustle wrote: » Maybe he enjoys it? Maybe he likes having fights to train for, having lots of attention, and competing in a sport that he undoubtedly loves. It's easy for fans to say people should retire now that they've made enough money, or if they're past it and in danger of tainting their legacy - maybe they just want to keep playing the sport they enjoy playing.
The Reservoir Dubs Anchorman wrote: » Maybe it will be interesting to see what happens. Its a lot of money for a guy who likes to live it large, we'll see how motivated he is afterwards.
walshb wrote: » I know enough about MMA to not put him in the top ten ever in UFC... He could become a contender if he does more in the Octagon...
Outlaw Pete wrote: » Jon Jones...the salmon of knowledge
wonderfullife wrote: » He loves fighting. Forbes have his 2016 income at $34 million before tax. He doesn't need the Floyd fight. He didn't need the Alvarez fight. He doesn't need future fights. I know people love to say he only fights for money but he drags himself into the gym to teach boxing classes on pissy evenings when it's lashing rain. Why bother? He's worth a fortune already, yet he keeps showing up the gym every day. It's kinda like when a Euromillions winner suddenly has $100 million and they keep turning up for work and people think they are nuts... If they love what they do, why not?
Yeah this ^ He lives for fighting. Owen Roddy was saying if Conor retired he thinks he would be getting into random scraps and wars in the gym every week because he loves it.
Dana White last week hinted very strongly that "they're going to make Conor really happy" by giving him a part-ownership stake in the UFC. If money was his sole motivation, which it isn't, that'll help. As for his future, GGG is a great boxer but he's not a draw. The few PPV's he's headlined have tanked and he's virtually anonymous in America outside the hardcore boxing community. Canelo, on the other hand, is a draw but he has to get past GGG first. Assuming he doesn't, then the biggest money fights left for Conor are in MMA - IMO both the GSP and Nate trilogy fights would sell more.
TL;DR - Conor is deserving of a top 10 spot even now. He has the historic double-gold achievement and has beaten 4 guys who are 100% in the top-5 of all time in their respective weight classes (Aldo, Holloway, Mendes, Alvarez).
Donald Trump wrote: » The Reservoir Dubs Anchorman wrote: » GerryDerpy wrote: » I dunno man. If Conor says he is going to knock him out inside four rounds, goes in and does it, you need to re-evaluate your opinion of him as a boxer. Not if he gets murdered for 4 rounds and just manages to land a haymaker. Yea but what happens if McG murders MW for 4 rounds and then MW lands a lucky haymaker
Sweet Science wrote: » Gervonta is the co main . No opponent named yet
The Reservoir Dubs Anchorman wrote: » What does co-main even mean? Is it just to give the under fight a bigger billing? Because there isn't a fight out there than could compete with this one in terms of hype and interest.
Mellor wrote: » Co-main is the name given to the fight with second billing. It's technically a misnomer but it's fairly standard at this stage.
The Reservoir Dubs Anchorman wrote: » So its just bull **** .. grand. I thought that was the case I wonder why it has become standard. Do events need Co Main's to sell?
Mellor wrote: » It's just the name of the second last fight. Same way the top few fights on MMA cards are collectively the PPV "main card" as opposed the "under card". Nobody is buying a PPV because they used the phrase co-main. If anything it just serves to let people know, on the night, that the main event is next. The penultimate fight sounds a bit too circusy imo.
wonderfullife wrote: » 1. Jon Jones 2. Anderson Silva 3. GSP 4. Royce Gracie 5. Mighty Mouse 6. BJ Penn 7. Matt Hughes 8. Conor 9. Jose Aldo 10. Ronda Rousey
The Reservoir Dubs Anchorman wrote: » So Tyson thinks McGregor might get himself killed against Mayweather, are they paying him for promoting?
Mellor wrote: » Potentially unpopular opinion here. But I wouldn't have Royce anywhere near the top of that list. He just benefits nostalgia (and a pinch of marketing). Of course, he deserves mention on the achievement list. Probably top spot imo.
weldoninhio wrote: » Its a possibility. Didn't Joao Carvalho pass away after an accumulation of punches in a Dublin MMA event? Happens in boxing every year or two too, or probably more often that you just don't hear about because they aren't high profile. Does't have to be a monster punch that seriously harms someone. Repeated blows to the head can be fatal.
StringerBell wrote: » So you see, it doesn't matter which side of combat sports the person speaking comes from if it doesn't suit your narrative its simply deflect and ignore. He isn't biased like the boxing guys, he is just clueless. Of course.
The Reservoir Dubs Anchorman wrote: » Agreed, I have asked that question already on the thread. What happens if McGregor ends up badly hurt. No body seems to want to answer it. Obviously it would be very bad for boxing and UFC simultaneously.
Outlaw Pete wrote: » It was a quite clearly a joke referencing the response which met Eddie Alveraz's comments. Honestly, ye are half asleep in here.
Outlaw Pete wrote: » But sure if you want to pretend I was dismissive of Jon Jones' opinion (when I myself only give McGregor a slim chance in the fight) and then back slap each other's posts like happy seals.... work away.