boggerman1 wrote: » Fair play to that man for switching to the dirty holstein.at least i not alone!.sick to the back teeth of new zealand,new zealand rammed down our throats by teagasc,the comic and agriland etc.last time i checked this is ireland not new f##king zealand
pedigree 6 wrote: » Brilliant! The motor on the milking machine is tripping the switch and just when I had 1 row milked. So now I can't milk. Serviceman/electrician is hopefully on the way. Wexford loose and now this on a Sunday evening. Brilliant!:(
whelan2 wrote: » Did you get finished yet?
Gawddawggonnit wrote: » She was found a few hours ago thank God. They brought in tracker dogs. Perfect tool for the job! Found inside an ancient disused saltpetre mine on my land. I didn't know it was there but an old school chum of hers told me they often played there as children. All's well.
stanflt wrote: » Seriously thinking of cross breeding next yr All industries research shows greater profit
cute geoge wrote: » Why did you consider quitting?? Imo lads are putting themselves under serious pressure looking for 80% calved in 6 weeks .At the end of the day if you milk the all the cows a couple of weeks later before drying off they will make up any loss of production by not compact calving
pedigree 6 wrote: » Nearly finished. Replacement motor put in. Sh1t everywhere. Volume washer done the trick but slats are full now may hook up slurry spreader. It never ends.....aghhh. .
freedominacup wrote: » Milking went grand here. No problem with slurry we even went to a barbecue afterwards and waterford won the hurling. Twas a grand day altogether.
GrasstoMilk wrote: » Only way to do it. Used to be quite spread out here and I'd give up milking if I had to go back to that
Injuryprone wrote: » Come back to us when you're doing 100 on your own
Mooooo wrote: » Tbh compact calving is the way to go but you have to be able to bring someone in. Was codding myself doing it on my own the last couple of years at 130 to 140 calving with 30 to 40 in the autumn. Even if things go perfect you're under pressure and when things go bad it's a bollix all together, and my calving wasn't even that compact. Now if facilities are perfect it makes it easier but still even if someone came morning and evening to do calves
stanflt wrote: » We calved 120 in 6 weeks- doesn't sound like a lot but honestly we were knackered- the saving grace was that we had 2-3 weeks pre breeding to recharge I couldn't do it on my own tbh
whelan2 wrote: » It doesnt have to be done in 6 weeks. Calved from end of January here until beginning of april. 120. With minnimal help. A week or so break before breeding start. Won't be in a rush to increase numbers..... same with Autumn... as long as its not spread out over a long time. No point killing yourself either
GrasstoMilk wrote: » And ye reckon I've a pile of labour? Only me and dad here. Yes, couldn't do it without him but he's heading for 70 now and he definitly won't be increasing his work rate. Just going to have to get more things automated as much as I can. We're over the 100 and heading for more and I'll be at a stage in 5 years time that I'll be able to manage it all on my own and the only way to do it is compact calve. Autowasher on parlour Calf feeder Backing gate in collecting yard Good cow roads and a functional yard. It can be done and is being done. Don't have all that yet but that's where We will be soon
Buford T. Justice V wrote: » You're a terrible man, freedom:D
Gawddawggonnit wrote: » Where's all this part time labour going to come from?? Do ye reckon that it's possible in the future to rely on idle workers to be waiting for the call...? I wouldn't mind being able to whistle up temp workers... Calve ayr and find it easy on the system. Six calved over the weekend no bother.
Buford T. Justice V wrote: » It's not necessarily idle workers waiting for a call. I have all the silage and most of the slurry contracted out. I'll probably do the same with fertiliser next spring and maybe feeding silage as well for March in the near future. That will allow me to concentrate on cows, calves and grass during the peak. One lad in my DG has a neighbours son come in to help with the calves, spreading fert and doing odd jobs around the yard. He's planning to get him trained to milk for next spring so he will have more time for other things, like sleep:D. Oh, and paperwork too:rolleyes:. There's a nice number of lads looking for part time work like that and then you have the option of students for spring as well. And that's before you get into paid labour or FRS workers for a few months. Lads simply won't be able to keep up that workload without some help, either interested family or some form of paid workforce in the future.