spix wrote: » You realize sparring performance doesn't mean everything, mayweather gets beat by his sparring partners all the time and alot of them are nobodies. It only counts on fight night. Some people perform better under pressure, others crumble.
Call Me Jimmy wrote: » One thing I'm very interested in is when he spars against the best boxers he has. By that time it will be clear to his team (and him) what exactly is going to go down. Unless he definitively gives these guys trouble, Kavanagh and Roddy will know before the fight that its going to be an absolute ****show. But during that time the build up will continue and Conor and the boys will be talking it up and people will be spending their hard earned cash. I wonder will there be a feeling of remorse if it is going badly and they are lying about sparring etc. Just a thought, a lot of people will say 'we already know its going to be a ****show and anyone who doesn't is a fool' but I still think the team will be in a wierd position having to flat out lie about things. Just going by the conventional wisdom, that is how it will play out.
Sofiztikated wrote: » I see you just admitted he was a star here.http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=104101598&postcount=2756 So you were/are on a wind up.
walshb wrote: » Fair points.. I suppose the best way to describe my view would be Andy Murray. A favourite of mine. Cheer him over anyone else. Well known, globally known, excellent at his sport, world successful at his sport. For me he is not a star. Just a tennis player who is famous and successful.. Stars to me are much rarer.. It's a mix of several things, as well as having that something.. Of course, subjective and personal to many.. Conor a star to many. No issue there..
Mellor wrote: » Your a gas man Walshy. You've already redefined sport to your own agenda, now you're having a go at star. Your scale for stardom is odd. I've no issue with not using it for reality TV knobs. But trying to argue that one of the most famous sports figures (right now) is a tough sell imo. Personally I'd say the Beatles, Michael Jackson, Dempsey, Ali, George Best etc are Legends, not just stars. One Direction, Canelo, Ronalo are stars, but not a legends. McGregor is a star on the same scale as the above. But not a legend like the previous.
Dozyart wrote: » That's some cringey sh1t right there!!
jimmynokia wrote: » FFS https://twitter.com/soundmigration/status/885858776334704641
Zero-Cool wrote: » This is crazy! Guy makes his own passes and follows May weather crew into the arena. Ends up backstage walking out with Conor and staying ringside the whole time. Someone is getting fired over this. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8PL1BC1s8CQ
walshb wrote: » There's no proving right or wrong here.. I don't think he is a star... End of.. Separate note, anyone hear that 70 euro the price for PPV here..
wonderfullife wrote: » ............ George Lockhart went on record this week saying Conor will be weighing 159lbs on fight night, that they're specifically keeping him within 5lbs of the limit to perform at his best. Whether that is the truth or misdirection I don't know........
everlast75 wrote: » One of my mates contacted me and said Conor is on Sky News giving a press conference and apologising??
StringerBell wrote: » I'm not sure Mayweather needs to go for the kill so much as just wait till Conor gets tired and let nature take its course, he won't need to up his abysmal offensive output too much to get a stoppage with a sustained burst after McGregor has blown himself out.
Mean Laqueefa wrote: » Jayushttps://twitter.com/Jordan_Coombe/status/886174883985707008
Swashbuckler wrote: » I felt the same after the Aldo tour. I just don't think these multi city, multi day tours do it for me. Only so much sh*t talk you can tolerate. And this one especially I found very forced.
dulux99 wrote: Jaysus lads I don't know about ye but having watched all of the four press conferences and all the interviews afterwards, I feel like I need to go about six months before I can watch anything mcgregor related again. It's been so nonstop and intense. Not sure did they intend for these press conferences to have that kind of effect on people!
wonderfullife wrote: » Steve Bunce take on the fight on his radio show: "Mayweather will do whatever he wants with him - and to him - but Floyd loves himself and he loves showing off so I expect he will make a point of stretching it out the full 12 rounds". Basically his argument is Mayweather could KO Conor in the 1st Round if he truly wanted to but for him "showing off" isn't in knocking his opponent unconscious it's in getting maximum air-time to flaunt his skills.