Bushmanpm wrote: » If there IS a link between mental health and infanticide by mothers, wouldn't THAT be worth looking into? Y'know, to try and prevent/limit reoccurrences? I don't see how it's "...gender bashing..." if it actually HELPS mothers and children in the future and as for "...agenda pushing..."??? Personally I think that YOU should be ashamed and have some decency for any possible future victims who could be helped to avoid such tragedies, for both the child AND the mother.
SEPT 23 1989 wrote: » its murder
Ann_Landers wrote: » Maybe. Could be manslaughter either. I'm keeping an open mind but what I find strange is that the guards seem to have already made up theirs.
The_Kew_Tour wrote: » They might know more then you?
Nabber wrote: » Model reads private messages about her being fat. It get 224 replies on boards. Toddler stabbed to death, gets 78 replies. Not post around the same time. Boards going to ****s
tritium wrote: » Whether its long term mental illness or shorter term issues brought on by some change in circumstances we should probably be looking at how to provide support to prevent this happening, including more open conversations about mental health and coping for both men and women. One of the saddest points in the articles i linked is that many of the perpetrators felt it was done for the childrens own good, and thats not a natural mindset.
Ann_Landers wrote: » That's obvious. I'm just going by the article that says she hasn't been questioned yet. It seems prudent to reserve judgement until that happens. A toddler has been stabbed to death and they are calling it a personal tragedy. That is odd.
eviltwin wrote: » Personal tragedy is probably garda speak for no one else involved but given a child is dead its a massive understatement and quite disrespectful imho to the deceased.
[Deleted User] wrote: » We need to look at any factors in these cases that may point towards cause or indicators of risk. We need a serious conversation about the State's responsibilities towards the children of people with mental health issues. Genuinely, 'support' for such individuals should be a secondary concern. Of course, it may not be possible to identify at-risk cases before the fact, but I'm convinced that our current routine of diagnosing the parent/killer afterwards and closing the case as an unavoidable tragedy is a serious dereliction of duty.
Kidchameleon wrote: » I wonder how many of the pitch fork gang who were foaming at the mouth with delight at Alan Hawe's reburial will be happy to see the mother and baby in this tragic case buried seperatly.
SEPT 23 1989 wrote: » Parents who murder their children should get the heaviest sentences
murpho999 wrote: » Law should not differentiate on this. Clearly in this case, the person had severe mental health issues and is mostly likely looking at a very long time in a psychiatric facility.
volchitsa wrote: » This is a disgusting post.
kylith wrote: » I agree. Obviously I know no more than anyone else but mental health issues, and possibly post-partum depression/psychosis may play a role here.
seamus wrote: » "Personal tragedy" is a catch-all term used very frequently because they cannot state it was a murder or manslaughter. They don't even use the word suicide anymore. These are all legal terms, so if you use them early you are pre-empting any investigation. "Personal tragedy" is not a legal term but appropriately captures the scope of what has occurred while also being a code word for "murder-suicide".
Anita Blow wrote: » Child was 3 so would be too long after the birth to be postpartum psychosis or depression
Klonker wrote: » Yeah, let's make this a gender thing :rolleyes: have some cop on for **** sake. sugarman wrote: » Valid point in fairness and it is a discussion forum.
sugarman wrote: » Valid point in fairness and it is a discussion forum.
Ann_Landers wrote: » Speculation, really. We don't know if she has mental problems yet.
jackboy wrote: » I wonder is that the real reason. They could use the word 'killing'. I think 'personal tragedy' is used to imply that the killer is not at fault. It is cowardly language to use in my opinion....and very Irish.