Gamebred wrote: » You're Mickey Gall comparison is the only BS here, he had 1 actual pro fight and another against a journalist, Mayweather is the best ever, Ward one of the best ever were discussing, allowed Lombard to fight has nothing to do with miss matches either, You think it'd be fine to let Ward fight Maia in boxing, incredible.
wonderfullife wrote: » I didn't say that. I said anyone with combat experience should be sanctioned. Conor has 24 professional MMA fights fighting guys in 4oz gloves throwing punches at his head. That's combat experience. CM PUNK was a fake wrestler from WWE with no experience of combat. You don't think Conor can end up in a coma in MMA? Will I list the 12 deaths in MMA in the last 15 years? Regardless of talent, boxers and mixed martial artists can end up injured/hurt/in a coma or dead. The duty of care to protect people absolutely exists. If Justin Bieber wants to box against Errol Spence he should be denied a boxing license.
Sweet Science wrote: » So basically you just want human cock fighting . Boxing is a sport and i would like it to stay that way.
Sweet Science wrote: » Of course he can . Where has this come from ? You would let a BJJ specialist box the P4P number 1 in the world . You would also let a boxer get in an Octagon a fight in MMA. Sorry if i have an issue with this
Gamebred wrote: » Nope nothing against combat sports, massive problem with miss matches though, considering NSAC stopped a 19-1 fighter being matched with Ward, love to see the freak shows you'd come up with if in charge.
wonderfullife wrote: » They sanctioned Idris Elba (an actor) to kickbox. They sanctioned Freddy Flintoff (a cricketer) to box. Yeah, their opposition was very average. But I'd have a far easier time with Demian Maia, a guy who has sparred former Brazilian national champion boxers, getting sanctioned. I'd have a far easier time Conor getting sanctioned against Floyd who wouldn't put someone to sleep with a xanax.
The Reservoir Dubs Anchorman wrote: » Floyd punches harder than anyone McGregor has fought. I think your missing this very significant factor. People say Mayweather is feather fisted, but thats only in terms of boxing. He will hit far harder than anyone McGregor has been in the octagon with. And also its a fallacy that Mayweather is feather fisted, he just isnt a knockout artist.
wonderfullife wrote: » Massive problem with mis-matches yet no problem with Yair v BJ Penn being sanctioned and that was basically an assault that everyone and their dog saw coming.
Sweet Science wrote: » So because there is danger attached to both sports there should be no safety procedures in place just let anyone fight anyone in any combat sport .
wonderfullife wrote: » Conor McGregor is a phenomenal athlete, a phenomenal fighter and he's going to go in there and make you all look foolish. CM Punk, Freddie Flintoff, Idris Elba those type of people fighting, ok I've an issue with those.
Gamebred wrote: » Again your making mute comparisons, 2 mma fighters one an all time great the other an up and comer with zero top 10 wins so dont see a problem, You're a headcase if you think miss matches are ok for any sport never mind a crossover, you will change your tune in Aug.
wonderfullife wrote: » And you'll look silly when Conor makes a fight of it. Floyd isn't Neo from the Matrix. He has good reflexes and good footwork but Conor will time him and hit him often. I already told you my prediction (over 90 punches landed by compubox numbers by end of round 9, with Floyd landing 165).
walshb wrote: » I think you are going to break us eventually. Come fight night I'll have the mortgage on Conor to win via KO....
The Reservoir Dubs Anchorman wrote: » Some of the Promo's for it would nearly convince you that he has a chance.
wonderfullife wrote: » He's worth a fiver for the craic I think we'd all love to see Conor do it, just we have a disagreement over how likely it is. I wasn't impressed with Floyd's sparring the other day. If he moves like that come fight night Conor will hit him plenty.
wonderfullife wrote: » You're right. CM Punk v Mickey Gall was a far bigger mis-match. If you're arguing otherwise you're delusional and have completely jumped the shark. Blasphemy! Snooker is amazing Ok so when Juan Pablo Montoya switched sports from Formula 1 to Nascar, as a complete novice in Nascar, you feel that was a fraud and that he cheated the system and it wasn't sport? Even though he was instantly competitive? You're very wrong.Conor is not driven by money. I know it looks that way but he really isn't. He was putting in long hours every day for 5 years making nothing. He made an average of 1,000 euro A YEAR for his first 3 years in fighting. He was fighting lads for a couple of hundred quid. If he was just motivated by money he would have jacked it in and got a 20 grand a year minimum wage job. There was absolutely no money to be made in MMA when Conor first started training! None even at the top of the sport. As for the switch from boxing, when he moved to Lucan and met Tom Egan he fell in love with martial arts and UFC. I know that might not be the answer you're looking for but he was a huge Bruce Lee fan and became a huge UFC fan. He only started boxing at 12 and boxed casually until he was 16, while also playing saturday football and training twice a week. If Conor boxed until he was 24 and had a load of fights and wasn't doing well, then sure I'd agree he switched sports because he wasn't good enough. But that's not the case here, he literally jacked in boxing and football around the same time and discovered martial arts.
Sweet Science wrote: » I admire your loyalty for Conor . A lot of fans in team sports should take note. You would even convince me that Mayo will win the All Ireland but we know that will never happen
wonderfullife wrote: » I think we'd all love to see Conor do it, just we have a disagreement over how likely it is.