Kerry stalker wrote: » I am looking for some rabbits in and around the munster area to test out my air arms s410 extra fac. Any suggestion welcome
sniperman wrote: » best way to get permission is to go knock on doors,or through a mate that has permission already,thats how i did it;)
thunderduck wrote: » Thats it some farmers would be happy to see yoi coming
Kerry stalker wrote: » Thanks for the all the advise, i am always keeping an eye out for bunnies around my area.. i guess it just takes time to find out who ownes the land that they are on, and aproching them.Hopfully word of mouth will get a few spots awell...
dodderangler wrote: » Don't walk up with the rifle though.
J.R. wrote: » Agree......also - don't knock on the door in fully camo clothing - can be unnerving to some people not used to it.
Base price wrote: » + 1 As an aside, why do you need live quarry to prove your rifle/shot. I used to use paper targets for my .22lr at 50, 75, 100m.
ezra_ wrote: » Strictly speaking, that is illegal use of a firearm. You are either hunting or target shooting. And target shooting has to take place in an authorised range.
Base price wrote: » + 1 Over the years I have had lads arriving to the yard complete with gun, wearing camo and maybe a dog in tow. Instant reaction is to run them out of the yard. I never had issue with anyone calling to the house of an evening to ask permission. However I never allowed anyone to shoot over the farm unless they were known to the lads that had permissions. As an aside, why do you need live quarry to prove your rifle/shot. I used to use paper targets for my .22lr at 50, 75, 100m.
RS98 wrote: » If a young enough lad came up to your door to ask for permission to shoot, and he was local, would you say yes? And if not, would you be annoyed? RS
sniperman wrote: » well you will get no at some doors,but you will also get yes,not all farmers will refuse,good idea to show some kind of insurance as well;)
hedzball wrote: » Strictly speaking you have to zero your rifle on a living animal so...'hdz
J.R. wrote: Crazy rule..........but we're stuck with it.....as they say, "The law is an ass!"
J.R. wrote: Firing 50 - 100 shots at objects would be classed as target shooting.
Base price wrote: » Oh feck. I remember reading some bolloxoligy about zeroing in rifles on here a few years ago.
Luckysasha wrote: » Has this law ever been tested ? Let's face it hands up who has ever done a bit of target practice on their land. If your using subsonics through a moderator far enough away from main roads or houses you would have to be very unfortunate for a Garda to find you. I'm not condoning it or making justification for doing it but I'm sure the law is more to do with lads banging away 200-300 rounds of HV ammo at tin cans behind the neighbors house
Luckysasha wrote: » Has this law ever been tested ?
Sparks wrote: » Short answer yes; Longer answer yes, but the specific circumstances may or may not match what you're talking about. Target shooting outside of an authorised range has definitely seen more than one person land in hot water, but zeroing being picked on, I'm not sure. Problem is, the law makes no distinction between the two at all. Worse, case law is built upon nit-picking detail, where the details are picked by people paid and trained to be more pedantic than me. Some people might not believe such people exist; but yes, they do. End result is that a case on target shooting outside of an authorised range would be precedent for any case where zeroing was being picked on It's a god-awful piece of law, ill-conceived by someone who was ignorant of the operational details of both target shooting and hunting and who was utterly convinced he knew better than all of us. And after it was made law and we pointed out the problem, it was acknowledged as an error, but he never bothered to fix it. So we're stuck with it for the moment.
Free-2-Flow wrote: » There is no definition of what Target Shooting is in Ireland according to the Firearms act, How may shots is considered target shooting? 1? 100? It doesn't specify.
Therefore they do not enforce it by the law.
1349 wrote: » I know nothing about the law, but would it be possible for the NARGC to take a judicial review to find out if zeroing is covered by the law?
Does the vagueness doctrine, or anything similar even apply in Ireland. Pretty crappy if it doesn't.
Sparks wrote: » S It's a god-awful piece of law, ill-conceived by someone who was ignorant of the operational details of both target shooting and hunting and who was utterly convinced he knew better than all of us. And after it was made law and we pointed out the problem, it was acknowledged as an error, but he never bothered to fix it. So we're stuck with it for the moment.
"I know nothing about the law"
Grizzly 45 wrote: » For whats it's worth. I had a chat in my kitchen with the DOJ's current cheif range inspector on this very topic a few years ago.
1349 wrote: » I know nothing about the law, but would it be possible for the NARGC to take a judicial review to find out if zeroing is covered by the law? It seems a bit unjust that the only way to find out if something is illegal is to get charged with it and wait and see if you get convicted or not. Would it not be a very safe bet that the vagueness doctrine would apply and that there's no way in heck a court would convict for something that MAYBE is illegal? Does the vagueness doctrine, or anything similar even apply in Ireland. Pretty crappy if it doesn't.