mal1 wrote: » Four motorcyclists approach from behind. The lead guy slowed as he approached us, giving us time to get into single file (often this is a problem), They overtook safely in single file. Friendly beep and some waving to say thanks from all. He was happy that we moved into single file, we were happy that he gave us time and room to do so. Happy story. No 'us' versus 'them'. Best of luck with the b*tching lads. It's too early in the week for me.
Zascar wrote: » Cycling two abreast is not illegal - it's just a dick move to do it with absolutely no regard for holding up the traffic behind you.
Tenzor07 wrote: » I wonder how many of the motorbikers that do the weekend Wicklow Gap Moto tt were sticking to the speed limit here?
Fighting Tao wrote: » Awww. You didn't watch Anne Doyle
Zascar wrote: » I've no problem with them cycling properly to keep safe. But if there are just two cyclists on a small windy road with oncoming traffic - often its very hard to overtake in a car when two of them are taking up half the road. If they were in single file for a minute you could overtake - but too many times I've been stuck behind for 10 mins as there is no opportunity to pass. It annoys me. I cycle myself sometimes and I don't want to be a burden to anyone. Sometimes you see cyclists who just don't give a fuk - that's not how the roads should work.
AndrewJRenko wrote: » It's Anne Doyle FFS. Really? 10 minutes? In my experience, it is bad luck to be stuck behind somebody for 10 seconds. On rare occasions, it might just get to 30 or 60 seconds. But 10 minutes? Could there be a slight exaggeration here? BTW, using the road does not make anyone a 'burden' to anyone. All the many cars that blocked me and held me up on my cycle to work this morning were not a 'burden'. They're just other people using the road, people with the same rights and entitlements as me.
ThisRegard wrote: » Now of course we're not going to paint all motorcyclists as clowns like those in the video, like the OP, and many posters, have done in with cyclists in this thread, are we?
Smoothrider wrote: » As I mentioned originally, we are talking about rights here. If I want to cycle up the road alongside another cyclist, probably talking ****e, then that is my (our) prerogative and right. If you have a problem with a fellow citizen and road user exercising this particular right then you have a problem with the world you're in, and are probably a huffy little brat who throws a looper fit for being briefly inconvenienced at any stage of your life's trajectory. (A very common and unfortunate disease of the modern age.) I say this as a car driver, motorcyclist and cyclist. The lad who said that it just distilled down to not being a dick was right. Cool your clogs and chill the **** out. If you do not or cannot do this then you are, as I say, a dopey knacker, and simply don't realise it yet.
beauf wrote: » Could only be on a tiny road. Be the same if they met a tractor etc.
9harnjgyz6u8o5 wrote: Cyclists, as we are so often reminded, are classified as "vehicles" on the roads. They are entitled in law to cycle 2 abreast but as case law has shown, they are NOT entitled to act as slow moving vehicles causing traffic build up behind them. They have a duty to pull over and allow traffic to get by - but some "dopey knackers" simply don't realise that yet!
D0NNELLY wrote: » It's the feckers who go around randomly in groups of 5 thinking they're in the fecking peloton in the tour de fecking Artane.
grahambo wrote: » Cyclists are without a doubt the biggest Hazard on the road.
cajonlardo wrote: » You did see that guy's youtube channel has the exact same videos featuring motor cyclists, cars, rollerskating pregnant grannies.....
stewygriffin wrote: » The problem with alot of ROAD USERS is that they they think the world owes them something. Everyone breaks the law and everyone breaks the rules of the road.Cyclists too.Even professional drivers too. And if you say you dont,then you are lieing through your teeth.
stewygriffin wrote: » Wonder if all the motorbikers allowed to jump in on the cycling forum and blitz that out of it??
stewygriffin wrote: » Rickshaws....the scurge of society in Dublin. Dangerous as feck too.someone will die in one of them contraptions soon.
stewygriffin wrote: » Red means Go Here,you hit me with your car,you hit me so you did,you hit me on my little old bike and Im a defenseless person against your big car....you hit me so you did..:pac::rolleyes:
Pugzilla wrote: » If your bike doesn't have an engine then GTFO
stewygriffin wrote: » Oh and with regards to the Wicklow Gap....I say this to motorbikers and cyclists too. Watch out for that nutjob in the Grey Seat Leon. Hes mentally unstable and goes out in his car to try and wipe people off the road. Judge let him back out to create more havoc,instead of locking this dangerous person up.
stewygriffin wrote: » Red means Go Here,you hit me with your car,you hit me so you did,you hit me on my little old bike and Im a defenseless person against your big car....you hit me so you did..:pac::rolleyes: Its shockin Joe.................:pac:
cython wrote: » The irony of that video is ridiculous. At around the 1 minute mark, he moans about cyclists breaking reds (and I'm in no way condoning them doing that, mind) while he goes into the bus lane, and I doubt he's driving a taxi or bus (youtube profile identifies him as a trucker). Plus, regardless of his vehicle, he looks to encroach on the advance stop line, with is a no-go anyway. Never mind that he hashtags it cyclists, while including as much bad behaviour from other drivers and pedestrians :rolleyes:
Pugzilla wrote: » You do that realise in the majority of countries that bus-lanes are legally open to motorcycles?
Pugzilla wrote: » No surprise then that Ireland isn't one of them with its anti-motorcycling culture, which is evident in the posts of these f*g**t cyclists.
Pugzilla wrote: » I never see a motorcycle run a red light, but I see cyclists do it every day of the week.
Pugzilla wrote: » I'll glady use a buslane or filter through traffic if that means not getting rear ended and crushed to death by a dozy car driver. I value my safety above obeying the archaic road traffic laws of this country.