Den14 wrote: » I remember that girl giving her mother the dirtiest of looks!
me_right_one wrote: This is the one, premier dairies:
Day Lewin wrote: favourite ad of all time.
FintanRyan wrote: » Yep,the freeze frame-I remember that part very well!!As soon as me man says "....well I don't give a damn!!..." he turns to walk away but immediately the picture freezes,and then the V.O. abruptly delivers the closing line something to the effect of ".....the man who doesn't(or 'didn't') give a damn.Known(or 'know him') for what he is."Jeez I wish I could remember more....In my memory, it goes: 'The NEIGHBOUR who doesn't give a damn, know for what he is'. The big problem the complainant farmer had was 'You're cattle were on my land again...[and this was the real problem] You're buying in cattle from God knows where...'. So this bad neighbour was not only letting his cattle stray onto the other guy's farm, he was buying in untested livestock. It was all about spreading bovine TB. The freeze frame was a very big deal at the time. This and an ad for Maverick, which I think was a feed for calves and featured cowboys and branding, gave me a view of Irish agriculture which upped the macho stakes in a way I couldn't reconcile with my uncle Michael's farm.
darkdubh wrote: » Yes, it was for AIB. Ann Glynn advert here at 2.47. For some reason everyone working for AIB, with the exception of Ann Glynn herself and the first "cracked it" guy have English accents.
branie wrote: » I can remember the ad with "Anne Glynn thinks she's cracked it"; it was an ad for a bank.
Eeden wrote: » I vaguely remember this one, but not what it was for or what they thought they had cracked. You've got me wondering now!
Aglomerado wrote: » I think it was AIB, not certain though.
An Riabhach wrote: » Lads does anyone know what this ad was for-a mother is dropping her little girl off at school-presumably her first day-and they both look sad,and in the background there's a woman singing a song which goes "...take good care of yourself,I worry about you when you're gone...." ??
An Riabhach wrote: » Your memory is excellent. That was one of my favourite ads from the 90s and yet I can't remember the long version of that advert. A lot different about it, including the music being slightly different. Not to mention the barman's reflection changing in the mirror,and me man's reflection changing in the water.I'd love to know what the idea was there.
darkdubh wrote: » Might have been on another thread, can't find it but there was a discussion of the Bass ad where yer man goes walking across fields and mountains to deliver a pint to his buddy who's building a stone wall. It starts here at the 4.05 mark. Very strange ad especially the opening sequence in the pub with the reflection changing in the mirror and the barman getting freaked out.
An Riabhach wrote: » Was there somebody on here a while back looking for an ad with a woman talkin about headaches and stuff? Tis in here with this lot... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XL-CtTuGgCE
An Riabhach wrote: » Thanks to Darkdubh and www.ifi.ie https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SiiqzSnXWxo