coylemj wrote: » Every single scam that I've read about on boards where people attempted to report it to the Gardai, they met a brick wall - civil case, see a lawyer, PFO, not our problem, couldn't be bothered. I don't believe for one second that the person who called you was a cop.
jcd5971 wrote: » The problem on done deal is that if a person running a scam uses a throwaway sim the number you give the guards is irrelevant.
LollipopJimmy wrote: » I sold a guitar on donedeal a while back and because yer man didn't receive it within 2 days I had a call from the Guards. I supplied the tracking number etc that I'd already given to the muppet buyer and all was well but the cops do take it seriously anyway. Similar value fwiw
machiavellianme wrote: » Did you lodge the money directly into his account or did you send it via bank transfer from your own? There may be some hope of getting it back if it's the latter - contact your bank.
LollipopJimmy wrote: I sold a guitar on donedeal a while back and because yer man didn't receive it within 2 days I had a call from the Guards. I supplied the tracking number etc that I'd already given to the muppet buyer and all was well but the cops do take it seriously anyway. Similar value fwiw
RossieMan wrote: » It doesn't get lost with PM though. Also an post won't take mobile phones with batterys, so you've no chance claiming for one there.
lau1247 wrote: » I would strongly insist on getting a snap of the receipt to at least make a complaint with Anpost if it was lost in the post. Otherwise you were shafted by the seller.
RossieMan wrote: » You can't do a charge back, or pay over card on a private transaction. He used a lodgement machine, so he has absolutely zero comeback. Live and learn, and all that. Pay for registered post next time, or Parcel motel is even better.
lau1247 wrote: » assuming it is Anpost, according to the postage calculator tool. Even standard parcel posting include track and trace code. Example link that I tried. I would strongly insist on getting a snap of the receipt to at least make a complaint with Anpost if it was lost in the post. Otherwise you were shafted by the seller.
Jesus Shaves wrote: Bought and paid for a phone on donedeal 2 weeks ago and lodged the money into sellers account, seller said he posted the next day through normal post but I've not received anything, what are my options?