It might surprise you to know that Ireland is the only country in the EU that does not have an Intelligence organisation. Instead, we rely almost exclusively on the UK to provide accurate intelligence to us. As we have seen recently, UK intelligence is completely overwhelmed by the number of Islamic extremists. According to MI5, there are
at least 23,000 terror suspects in the UK, and 400 active terror plots being investigated
There is a concept in security called 'Defence in Depth'. This means that you don't depend on one single protocol to keep you safe. This creates a bottleneck point of failure, meaning that if one security breach takes place, it will be catastrophic as there is no safety net. It's like having a house, but only locking the front gate instead of the doors. Once the front gate is breached, the attacker is in. So to mitigate this, you lock the gates, the doors and windows, and install an intruder alarm. Also, a big nasty dog helps too.
We are going to get hit. The Irish public need to get this through their skulls.
It's a matter of when, not if. There's no point in pretending our cuddly harmless leprauchan Paddy image is going to save us. It isn't. Some day in the near future, we will be looking on in disbelief as throats are cut or crowds of people are mown down in Dublin or elsewhere.
The only monitoring that takes place in Ireland is the Gardai Special Branch, and to a lesser extent, the G2 Army Intelligence, which is a relatively small organisation. Now, they are already up to their eyeballs with the domestic terrorist/criminal organisations, such as the RIRA, CIRA, Hutch/Kinehan bomb attacks etc. At least with these organisations, they are speaking English. Also, they can be infiltrated with informers.
It's not so easy with the Islamic threats in Ireland. The warning signs are starting to flash. We've had activity down in Waterford recently, and there are a number of suspects who are being investigated for having links to the recent Manchester bombing. We've already had a number of Irish Islamists killed in Iraq and Syria. We got lucky that Khalid Kelly blew himself up in Syria, instead of on a bus in Dublin at rush hour.
ISIS have already declared Ireland a target for operations. The 'yerrah it'll be grand attitude' isn't going to do anymore.
You can read the signs with your eyes closed.
We need to maximise our defences immediately, and do everything we can to minimise our threat profile. There is already suspicious activity taking place in the Clonskeagh mosque/Islamic Cultural Centre of Ireland (ICCI), who have links to the radical Muslim Brotherhood. It should also be noted that the imam of the Clonskeagh Mosque/ICCI is Hussein Halawa, who just happens to be the Father of Ibrahim Halawa. Ibrahim is Ireland's current Islamist cause célèbre who is under arrest and awaiting trial in Egypt. He and his sisters just happened to go to Egypt and he found himself on stage somehow calling for violence against the Egyptian government.
Many liberal Irish websites, most notably the Journal.ie, have been consistently regurgitating propaganda and outright lies that support the families claims. Some would say collusion, and even outright collaboration:
https://www.thejournal.ie/fatima-halawa-cairo-3186989-Jan2017/
When we are attacked, remember what side these 'journalists' were on. They are playing their part in subverting Irish society, make no mistake about that. Facts are being blatantly omitted when reporting on these stories.
Adding to this, even the imam of the moderate Blanchardstown mosque is telling anyone who will listen that radicalisation is now taking place in Irish mosques. You can guess which mosque that might be:
http://www.independent.ie/opinion/comment/imams-split-over-fears-irish-muslims-are-being-radicalised-in-mosques-34222983.html
How many clues do you need before the penny drops? Or will you wait until there are body parts on Irish streets before it dawns on you that this is what reality is in the West now? It isn't going away, and giving out extra cuddles and being nice on Facebook doesn't amount to jack sh1t.
What troubles me most though, is that in spite all of these warnings, all the obvious signs, and the repeated calls for action, nothing will be done until something terrible has happened. We don't take proactive measures in Ireland, we only react.
We've been lucky so far; they only need to be lucky once.