TherapyBoy wrote: » Changing your name doesn't hide anything. All your previous nicknames are listed on your public profile. Same for everyone, mod or not.
Insect Overlord wrote: » I think people should just stick to one account instead of turning up with a new one every few months, weeks, or even days. Continuity and identity go a long long way.
sqwertypoo1934 wrote: » "Changing your name doesn't hide anything. All your previous nicknames are listed on your public profile. Same for everyone, mod or not." FAKE NEWS! Easily verified as fake by looking at Insect Overlords public profile. No mention of previous nicks. Twy hardurrrr...
Jobs OXO wrote: » This is incorrect.
sqwertypoo1934 wrote: » Not the screen seen by the plebs. IO anfhile can confirm this - some setting he has chosen himself perhaps in Display Options?
Jobs OXO wrote: » Hi have been on the site with previous (now closed) accounts for a good number of years. I have never seen it so quiet. Sunday morning and looking at latest posts traffic seems so slow. Is no one posting anymore? AH doesn't seem to be much craic anymore. Anyone notice the same? Any ideas how to improve the situation ?
TherapyBoy wrote: » It's the only layout I've ever used. No school like the old school!
LuckyLloyd wrote: » my skin is the same as yours
sqwertypoo1934 wrote: » I had always assumed this was a "perk" for mods - ye can change names willy nilly raftery an filly, and hide it from the plebs for at least a while.
sqwertypoo1934 wrote: » "anyone can hide their name change"
Insect Overlord wrote: » I can also confirm that my "previous nicks" are not hidden. Anyone on the legacy site should be able to see them.
osarusan wrote: » I can't access the 'About me' section. Here is what I can see if I go into your profile:
osarusan wrote: » (EDIT: I don't think any of this is really that important at all, but...) No, I can't. I can't see most of the stuff that Therapyboy posted earlier - maybe it depends on user settings. I can't access the 'About me' section. Here is what I can see if I go into your profile:
blackwhite wrote: » Same for me as well. But surely - your entire post history is still there if anyone bothered to look. It's not a case of all links to the old name being erased To my mind it's very different situation to closing an account and opening a new one.
sqwertypoo1934 wrote: » Le Sigh (cringe!) indeed, both you and therapyboy are misrepresenting what I misinterpreted as a perk. Not just the name change but being also able to hide it. I've only ever taken note of how many mods avail of this option.
sqwertypoo1934 wrote: » a whiff of delicious dickishness off it.
sqwertypoo1934 wrote: » Aren't you brilliant Zaph? Tis like you have a homing instinct for anything with a whiff of delicious dickishness off it.
Wibbs wrote: » Maybe only available on the old desktop layout? There's quite the bit missing from the mobile platform.