please helpThank YOU wrote: » That is because maybe the person was being stitched up in the first place.:cool:
Elemonator wrote: » Wasn't there speak of a tactical outfit for Gardai years ago?
mynamejeff wrote: » wtf does that mean ? very random thing to say isnt it ?
please helpThank YOU wrote: » The Gardai are using to much `fairy liquid.
Potential-Monke wrote: » No idea who that is.
please helpThank YOU wrote: » Was the pay/salary very good in the garda?
corner of hells wrote: » Is there any chance you're the bloke snackbars rattling on about ?
seachto7 wrote: » To the ex Garda who posted about the uniforms. Dress pants, shirt and tie are hilarious. Doing your job in a suit almost but don't many US police wear similar ? Combat / hiking style pants and hiking style boots or shoes would be better and more comfortable too.
mynamejeff wrote: » i know several who don't drink if you dealt with public order issues every weekend caused bu drinking you mightn't either whats with the attitude allah ?? is the chip on your shoulder hurting ya ?
corner of hells wrote: » The way you describe that Garda , it sounds like you don't like him , you call him a useless **** , calling him fat and then say he had a drink driving conviction having after given a half arsed account of how "he" told you how he failed a part of the fitness test and was then allowed pass out as a Garda. Me personally I would never admit to failing a part of a fitness test not once , twice but three time's to anyone let alone anyone who dislikes me. Can you see how it sounds like a fairy story ?
seachto7 wrote: » I saw the police in action last week in Spain, and they don't f*ck about, and they actually look like they'd turn you over as well. In Italy, they prefer to look good, but will equally f*ck you up.
seachto7 wrote: » Too many stories in the news of Gardai getting assaulted.
Allah snackbar wrote: » A guard that doesn't drink , now were in fantasy land
Professor Moriarty wrote: » Sounds much more plausible.
Cee-Jay-Cee wrote: » But you did care otherwise you wouldn't have bothered with the explanation.
markodaly wrote: » Yes, I do acknowledge that the court systems are a bit of a joke most of the time. The whole 56 convictions and suspended sentences thing is a joke, so I do feel sorry for the Gardai when they arrest someone, go for a conviction but only for the Irish court system to fail them.
......... wrote: » Not as soft as the Irish courts, which is a far far worse problem. Police are wasting their time in Ireland, and they know it.
Potential-Monke wrote: » Some people have got the point of losing the height restriction here. The Garda? are a community based force. For years the work of the Garda? was assisted by the help of the general public. Ask any of your parents or grandparents what they remember of the Garda?, and they will tell you their names, because they got on with the nice public and the criminals were usually scared of them. Why? Because the Garda would batter you. You didn't cross them because you'd get a beating. Now, the Garda? are much more approachable. Yes, there are times when the big burly guards are required, but less and less are needed these days. 95% of the issues Garda? are involved with are resolved peacefully with no requirement for physical force. However, i do agree that the fitness should be a core part of the force. The problem is, because it's been this way all along, in order to now demand that fitness be a core part, it will have to be part of the working day. The RSU already get part of their day to gym it up. The regular, traffic, etc are so understaffed that it would't be feasible to bring that in. And before anyone says anything, other police forces get gym time as part of their paid day. As for the training in Templemore, the "run" is not a requirement to pass (well, it wasn't 11 years ago when i joined). They prefer you to pass it, but you if you fail it it has no effect on your "passing out". The PCT (phsyical test to get in in the first place) is handy. Anyone with a bit of fitness will pass it. Also, there are sections of AGS that are intimidating, ie: RSU in full gear, balaclavas, military style uniform, MP7 and Glock, maybe a Benelli, 4-6 of them... They're quite intimidating, regardless of size. The uniform for the regular, in general, it outdated and not suitable for policing today. Shirt and tie? Dress trousers? High-vis jackets that come in a few sizes (XS, S, M, L, XL, XXL, XXL), shirts that are made by the cheapest provider (so badly that the collars weren't designed with a tie in mind, so the tie pushes up a collar), heavy thread pants with no useful pockets, a stab vest that's outdated and way too heavy/cumbersome, a utility belt that has been proven to cause back problems, a small can of the near lowest strength pepper spray, and a metal ASP that's apparently not as dangerous as a wooden one. Anyway, i left, couldn't be dealing with a public who judged me before i even spoke to them. I'm not massive by any means, i'm 5'6", was overweight for a good few years, but i was sound. I didn't judge, i didn't pick on people, i treated everyone (even the scum) with respect, because too many people with phones recording and uploading select clips. There's a picture of me chasing a woman at a protest, and the article was making it out like i was the bad one, whereas she had just slammed the window of a car so hard that i was surprised it didn't break. She was being a nuisance, and knew it, so she never came within reach. But the media portrayed me as the bad guy in it. Ye have the police force that the Government made, based on feedback from the community. Ye want a more aggressive, stronger force? It's not going to happen. There's too much PC, not enough Garda?, No proper equipment, no support, management that want to reprimand for every little thing... I'm surprised there's a force left to be honest...
Allah snackbar wrote: » Ok ? I know him personally , when he passed out he had never completed the run he had to pass the physical , I think he told me that you had to run a mile and a half in 11 minutes or something like that , he was never able to beat the time they set as a minimum standard of fitness and they let him do it 3 times , he told me himself that he wasn't far off it twice but they just let him off with it , he was done for drink driving about 3 years ago and he retired shortly after . I don't know what makes you think it would be in my interest to make up something like this , would you care to elaborate , and believe me I don't really give a **** what you think but I'd like to go some way in understanding your idiotic post
Allah snackbar wrote: » Yes , it's all a lie , he's actually still in the guards , never failed his fitness test and climbs Everest every 6 weeks for charity ,he's a non drinker ,a midwife on his days off while running a meals on wheels for the elderly , does that make you feel better :rolleyes:
Allah snackbar wrote: » corner of hells wrote: » Anecdotal evidence is often the best evidence. So you've never told a story that you've heard first hand from someone else , I mean he didn't say he went to mars just that he was let pass out without passing one part of the physical exam , I think I'll just post humorous one liners in future to see how many thanks I can get
corner of hells wrote: » Anecdotal evidence is often the best evidence.
artorias wrote: » I come from a place where the police force is composed of huge men and women who are always heavily armed and are trained in several martial arts. Crime rate is stupid high there and police officers are often killed by kids half their weight. That being said, the police are a bunch of abusive thugs who will rough people up and sometimes shoot and kill innocents. You don't want that kind of crap here. Your police is fine, crime rate here is stupid low compared to the rest of the world. Learn to appreciate the things you have, because they don't last forever.
markodaly wrote: » There is an impression that the Gardai are soft alright