wayne25 wrote: Am I being too ott about this,? I don't think I am as I've felt peed this evening thinking about my treatment today.
Victor wrote: » Are they invited to the wedding? Have they given you a present?
Never wrestle with pigs wrote: » I thought it was the woman posting until I got near the end. Toughen up princess, work is work and personal life is just that.
Addle wrote: » You're not married yet. They might arrange something in your absence. Do you work directly with a mix of men and women? Where I work, if your immediate team don't organise a card/gift, it won't happen. And the men never organise anything.
wayne25 wrote: » Mixed 50 50 ratio Men/Women. Well that's it, perhaps Friday, won't hold my breath after the ignorant behaviour.
bubblypop wrote: » No offence OP, but your wedding is not a big deal to anyone other than you & your other half & your families. If your work colleagues are invited then Im sure they will give you a card / present. Other than that you shouldn't expect much. Edit, people leaving work get recognition because it's work related
tracey turnblad wrote: » If he is anything like me, I think all he wanted was their good wishes. I never received any good wishes from my management team. Not even a goodbye as I walked out the door...
wayne25 wrote: » The thing is effort was made for occasions in the past for staff working there a year or two. That's the issue.
Addle wrote: » Do you make a fuss to each of your colleagues when they have an occasion in their lives?
endacl wrote: » Congratulations Wayne. I wish you and your bride every happiness for your future together.
wayne25 wrote: » It's not to do with toughing up, it's simple manners and acknowledgement.
bubblypop wrote: » But you said efforts were made with regard to promotions and retirements etc. Are workmates invited to your wedding? Was there a fuss over any other wedding? Like I said, no one really cares bar you & your family
Never wrestle with pigs wrote: » But it is really. Like I said work is work pet. You leave it at the door when you walk out the door for home.
wayne25 wrote: » Jesus a guard wouldn't ask these questions. Yes some are, they I have no issue with. Efforts are made for long serving staff yes and I've been to wedding day related Dos & fusses were made.(2 male colleagues over the years) So yes my job cares, only depending on who you are and by how much a$$ you lick over your time there.
drunkmonkey wrote: » Nobody gives a duck there not invited. Probably think your a bollix seen as your there 9 years and no invites. Few people have said it, man the feck up, this isn't how men carry on. Go get some unmarried sex in as it's way underrated.
wayne25 wrote: » Limited to 10 invites, not every staff member could get the time off, obviously. That's your opinion, fine.
drunkmonkey wrote: » Park it and burn it, you've more important things to worry about. They probably forgot and if they said congrats when you first tell them that should be enough. These are work colleagues their not your "friends". Do yourself and favour and don't come back near boards until your back from honeymoon. You don't need the distraction this week.[/quote Cheers all. On the grand scheme of things there are more important things. And yes after today certainly those people I thought were actual friends are far from it. A good lesson learned. Adios!