Permabear wrote: This post had been deleted.
topcatcbr wrote: I know with the Army now they need to fill 800 positions now with hundreds leaving every month. They are finding it difficult to get people to join.
topcatcbr wrote: For years people have said if its that bad why join. Now its a reality. People don't want the public sector jobs. When once it was a case of being able to attract the best people for the jobs with more than enough of the right people. Now its a case of take what you get and this will effect those services in the future.
LexieOnRale wrote: » Gardai and nurses. Friend of mine is a SHO in a regional hospital and I was shocked at how little he told me he's paid considering the crazy hours he's expected to work
dev100 wrote: » The defence forces job is no longer a good pensionable job that it once was for the ordinary foot soldier All the military wants now is young lads out of school keep them them for 5 or 10 year and feck them out then. They don't want any oul lads or oul ones unless you move up the ranks but not everyone has that opportunity to do so. You can be guaranteed people will apply for the military. The pay is ****e because people are going for it. If people stopped applying the wages would have to go up. Supply and demand.
blanch152 wrote: » In the public sector, those earning less than around €33k have already had their pay fully restored to 2008 levels.
andekwarhola wrote: » Teachers, child care workers and nurses. Also Luas and bus drivers who perform infinitely more critical functions than the above and should be on at least 150k a year.
OldNotWIse wrote: » Luas drivers should be on at least 150k?
andekwarhola wrote: » I was being sarcastic :pac: (about Luas and Bus Drivers). Agreed it's galling to see how little of the exorbitant fees charged by creches actually appear to end up in the wages of carers although I don't know the overall cost of running such a business.
Permabear wrote: » This post had been deleted.
topcatcbr wrote: » The public sector is prime example. With all the cuts imposed on the frontline staff pay the management got proportionally less cuts. But when there is increases given eg benchmarking they got much higher increases.
Sosurface wrote: » The other side of the coin. Who doesnt get enough dollar? I'll start the ball rolling with my own profession: Engineering. World literally cannot function without us. Relatively well compensated in some places. Just thrown on the pile of middle income mediocracy in the Irish idiocracy.
Geuze wrote: » Taxes in Ireland are below European averages. The price level is 20-25% above the EU average. This is due to excessive costs:extremely high property costs massive insurance costs high legal costs high medical costs [e.g. a GP in France charges 23-25] Govt policies do contribute to these high costs, yes.
Geuze wrote: » Is this correct? Let's check. The first pay cut was 5% for wages up to 30k. Above that it was a 7.5% pay cut. Then there was the second pay cut, the PRD. What has happened in the LRA? Have these been fully reversed? The PRD has been abolished for those earning up to 28,750. Okay, for somebody on 28k, the PRD has been abolished, and they have got the following pay restoration: 1-Jan-2016 = +1% April 2017 = +1,000 So 28k less 5% = 26,600 Jan 2016 +1% = 26,866 April 2017 +1,000 = 27,866 So, somebody on 28k has seen much, but not quite all, of their two pay cuts restored.
Geuze wrote: » Higher earners in the PS took higher pay cuts than lower earners.
murpho999 wrote: » So your friend is neither a garda or a nurse. An SHO is a doctor. Recently qualified and will have a career path onto good money as they move up the scale.
Padraig Mor wrote: » Average pay for HSE nurses is about €55k - €60k. How much more do you think they should be paid?
Jodotman wrote: » Teachers? Really? Primary school teachers do 9 to 3 and 2 months off in the summer. I couldn't think of a least stressful job. People saying teachers have never worked in a high pressure office environment. Secondary school teachers have three months off in the summer and generally work 9-4. That's plenty of time to get your lesson plans done. I know secondary school teachers have it tough in some schools but other schools it's piss easy. If anything there paid too much.