Erik Shin wrote: » Had a burger with Paul McGrath, Kevin Moran and Chris Morris...they came out of a bar, into the chippie, chatted for a few mins while eating and back into the bar.
JohnCleary wrote: » Michael D kicked us out of his (Galway) house for smoking a bong out of his kitchen sink. He came into the kitchen in PJ's and one of those hats... all he was missing was the candle. I'm not even ashamed to admit this in public, it was fcuking hilarious :pac:
enfant terrible wrote: » Were you on the Irish Olympic swimming team? "Well, Limerick is a Jack Bauer kind of town. . . It is, it is. The Olympics were on, and one of my favourite stories ever happened there. I was sitting next to a guy in a pub, and he had a tracksuit on, from the Olympics, and I said: 'That was pretty fast, that you got that; I didn't think they were selling them yet.' And he said: 'I'm on the Olympics team'. I said: 'No, you're not, the Olympics are in Barcelona. . .' or wherever they were at the time. And he said: 'I am'. The bartender nodded. So I said, 'What event?' And he said: 'Swimming', and I looked up at the TV in the pub, and the swimming was on. I said: 'No you're not -- they're swimming, right now'. And he went, 'Well, I didn't do well, did I!?'."http://www.herald.ie/entertainment/tv-radio/what-a-difference-a-day-makes-27905385.html
Sir Oxman wrote: » Please let that be true
enfant terrible wrote: » What'd yee talk about?
Jack the Stripper wrote: » Louise Duffy.
JohnCleary wrote: » I was about 16, I honestly have no reason to make it up. We ended up in the house because my friend's cousin was in the same year as his son (I won't mention his name). Same lad was well known for the craic. The best bit was (and i'll never forget this), was the man himself calmly walking through the kitchen door and queerly asking "what's going on in here?" just as one of the lads was about to choke up a lung. Christ I wish I knew how to describe the out-fit on him.... i'm guessing you know what i'm on about... stripey PJ's, with the hat and the candle.... (minus the candle)
dan1895 wrote: » Had a heap of pint bottles of Bulmers with Blackey Connors from Glenroe one christmas which was strange because I don't drink Bulmers. When working in a bar I served John Mahoney of Frasier's Dad fame on more than one occasion.
sudzs wrote: » I'd a few pints with Blackie Connors too! Also a quick drink and a chat with Maureen Potter in The Flowing Tide before they renovated destroyed it. And once went on the lash with Eunice McMenamin/Fidelma in Glenroe.! She was great craic! This was all in Dublin back in the fabulous 90s!
please helpThank YOU wrote: » :) We all paid for own drinks but he did offer to pay a nice guy Kiefer Sutherland.it was the time Julia Roberts called off her wedding to Kiefer Sutherland .
Heckler wrote: » I used to drink in a local pub where Blackie would be around if he was in Cork (sorry don't know his real name !). I was pissing away next to him in the jacks doing the usual "HEY BLACKIE", Ignore "HEY BLACKIE" Ignore. "HEY BLACKIE" Cue...."MY NAMES NOT ****ING BLACKIE !". If anyone knows Tom Barrys in Cork that was there and he turned up at Toms funeral a few years ago. A gent.
sudzs wrote: » He Liam something - or other. He could be a bit cranky alright! I had an argument with him about the LA riots!!
dan1895 wrote: » Are you thinking of Liam Cunningham? Blackie Connors was played by Michael Collins.
jh79 wrote: » Michael Collins played Blackie's friend, he is now head of Pavee Point.
Technoprisoner wrote: » i shared a piss with Bertie Ahern.... true story too!!