AtomicHorror wrote: » I think at a certain point media outlets have to ask themselves if they're really obliged to offer a platform to everyone with a brain-fart about an important topic. And ask themselves if they're offering it for the sake of good journalism or good sales. A lunatic is free to stand on a box on Grafton Street and speak as he wishes, we don't have to make the decision to hand him a megaphone.
dav3 wrote: » Well we had Mattie Mcgrath on the radio the morning after the Citizens’ Assembly once again stating he is opposed to abortion in all circumstances. He is quite happy forcing a women to have a baby against her will, even if she was raped. I’m sure he’s not the only TD who thinks in this way. Unfortunately he wasn’t pushed on this by the interviewer, he never is. I believe people with this mindset should be encouraged to come forward and give a full explanation as to why they think forcing a woman to have a baby against her will is a reasonable belief to have. It’s the only way to show these people that their belief is no longer held by the majority of people in Ireland.
JupiterKid wrote: » Forcing a woman who has been raped to carry her fetus to full term is utterly barbaric, and anyone on this thread advocating this should be ashamed of themselves.
Outlaw Pete wrote: » Ah here we go with the martyrdom.. Haven't seen one user refer to women (who have become pregnant through consensual sex) in that manner, or anything close to it.
B_Wayne wrote: » One user referred to them as 'hussies' and another came along to back them up on the use of the term... So it's pretty spot on.
Howard Tasteless Bank wrote: » Well yeah, and I mean apparently this is news to some people but the abortion debate does also take place outside the confines of boards on sites where people let their true colours show a bit more.
AtomicHorror wrote: » Actually, two other users came along to thank ricero for his judgment. So there's at least three of them in it, and although ricero hasn't shown his face since then, the other two are still posting here:
ricero wrote: » Liberals are trying to ruin this countries morality. I for one will not vote in abortion to be used as a easy fix for hussies who forget to use contraception
Riskymove wrote: » The difficulty, as ever, is how these work in pracice and what is required to be proven etc.
Howard Tasteless Bank wrote: » No, I mean what would the process be, not the 'women should be punished if they have sex on purpose' bit. Walk me through how it would happen, what would the guidelines and rules be so that the dirty hoor who let her knickers down stays pregnant and serves her right, and the poor fallen woman who was raped is allowed an abortion because sure she'd probably never have one normally the poor thing.
NuMarvel wrote: » There may be difficulties with the rape ground, especially to deciding what burden of proof is placed on it. Here's how other countries deal with it: This is all assuming that TDs legislate in line with the CA recommendations, which they may not choose to do in all cases.
NuMarvel wrote: » [*]Within the next 10 weeks due to rape, health risks, socio-economic reasons, and serious foetal disability [/LIST]
AnGaelach wrote: » In Canada 1 in 4 pregnancies ends up aborted. I'd much rather not see that statistic replicated here.
AnGaelach wrote: » In Canada 1 in 4 pregnancies ends up aborted.
ohnonotgmail wrote: » while even 1 abortion to 6 births is nowhere near the 1 in 4 mentioned even that 1:6 doesnt take into account miscarriages. I think we can safely dismiss the 1 in 4 stat.
Akrasia wrote: » I looked up the stats, there are about 400k births a year in Canada and about 65k abortions a year. That works out at about 1 abortion to 6 births at least 88% of all these abortions take place before 12 weeks, probably much closer to 95% because the clinics don't report gestational age, only the hospitals do, and hospitals are more likely to deal with medically necessary abortions in later term.http://www.statcan.gc.ca/tables-tableaux/sum-som/l01/cst01/demo04a-eng.htmhttp://abortionincanada.ca/stats/annual-abortion-rates/
Spinach105 wrote: » To those of you who would like to see abortion legalised, what cut off point would you want?
....... wrote: » This post has been deleted.
Zubeneschamali wrote: » No cut-off point.
Zubeneschamali wrote: » This is the legal position in Canada.
Zubeneschamali wrote: » No cut-off point. Leave to women and their doctors. Pregnant women and their doctors do not do late terminations for the craic. Keep the law out of it, it is a personal matter. This is the legal position in Canada since 1988, and society there has not descended into cannibal gangs, most abortions are done early, and abortion rates have been declining.