Water John wrote: » Besides the burn out factor. If the calves get a disease outbreak, it would be hell on earth. I remember reading Katherine O'Leary last year saying it took all four of them to cope with a disease outbreak. That's a herd of about 120/130 cows at the time. Not for or against close calving but don't make it out to be easy.
whelan2 wrote: » That's it though. You are relying on everything to go perfect. What if someone gets ill during the hectic period? All's well when things go right. No need to kill yourself to get perfect figures on paper
yewtree wrote: » Don't think its right to say lads are killing themselves to get paper figures, there are lots of benefits with high calving rates.it's not easy breeding and calving at the sametime or watching cows for 5 months. From my own expierence the later calves were always the most trouble as there is a disease build up in sheds the less April calves the better.
charolais0153 wrote: » Was at a herd dispersal today. This cow was the highest price. She was a red and white freisian. What do ye think she made
stanflt wrote: » 3150
charolais0153 wrote: » 2700
C0N0R wrote: » What sort of money were heifer calves making?
yewtree wrote: » How did the sale go? I persume this was sale outside shrule? I was going to go bit got held up at home.
charolais0153 wrote: » Was at a herd dispersal today. This cow was the highest price. She was a red and white freisian. What do ye think she made] You getting into dairying Charolais? Have cows here that are very loose with fresh grass, what would be s solution to this? Also would this have any effect on cow performance or is the only downside that they destroy the pal out and me
charolais0153 wrote: » It went well . that was the sale near shrule alright
Sillycave wrote: » charolais0153 wrote: » Was at a herd dispersal today. This cow was the highest price. She was a red and white freisian. What do ye think she made] You getting into dairying Charolais? Have cows here that are very loose with fresh grass, what would be s solution to this? Also would this have any effect on cow performance or is the only downside that they destroy the pal out and me What ration you feeding? Feeding a 14% off the shelf nut here and cows are ok on that front some a bit loose but not bad at the same time. Following cows now with fert to bring up to 110units out
Buford T. Justice V wrote: » I slept out this morning again, sixth day in a row:o But the cows were waiting for me in the yard so only a half hour behind time. And a beautiful, slow, stress free milking, girls pumping milk so no hurry to put on the next cluster. Sometimes, this job is enjoyable:)
Sillycave wrote: » You getting into dairying Charolais?
Mooooo wrote: » Sillycave wrote: » What ration you feeding? Feeding a 14% off the shelf nut here and cows are ok on that front some a bit loose but not bad at the same time. Following cows now with fert to bring up to 110units out Feeding 16% off the shelf nut...cows on second grazing paddocks Does it have impact on performance or going back in calf?
Sillycave wrote: » What ration you feeding? Feeding a 14% off the shelf nut here and cows are ok on that front some a bit loose but not bad at the same time. Following cows now with fert to bring up to 110units out
whelan2 wrote: » Back to reality tomorrow with school back on
Sillycave wrote: » Mooooo wrote: » Feeding 16% off the shelf nut...cows on second grazing paddocks Does it have impact on performance or going back in calf? I guess acidosis is the thing to watch for but the dung would be bubbly so to speak I think. You could prob drop the p in the nut and if it's persisting by next load get a nut with a bit more fibre in it maybe beet pulp or the like
Mooooo wrote: » Feeding 16% off the shelf nut...cows on second grazing paddocks Does it have impact on performance or going back in calf?
Timmaay wrote: » https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1435778153147183&id=854702607921410 Landmass the size of Portugal used for feed!!
Keepgrowing wrote: » On compact calving and working alone I feel some are becoming slaves to the prescribed system. Even when all is going well it's hard going. Every gate would need to be hanging, human and herd health needs to be 100%. Some guys insist on being heroes attempting to do it all themselves. Easy calvings sires are a must and this puts Xbreds in the mix very much especially with heifers. We never see the cows between 10.30-11pm and 5.30am. Lost 1 calf due to this. We do have cameras but they're switched off as we were getting no proper sleep and were wrecked every day. All calves on adlib milk in groups of 20 from 3 days old. After a few weeks when madness abates they go outside on OAD. Labour is now the limiting factor and help is needed. If you can't get someone for the yard work get a contractor to feed, slurry, fert, dehorning, fencing etc. Another thing is have as few groups of animals as possible and that downer cow that takes 40 minutes every day needs the knacker. Focus can't be lost or you'll get overwhelmed. If 90% don't calve in 6 weeks it's no biggie a lot of what guys claim needs to be taken with copious amount of salt.