Listowel Man wrote: » shocking just how poor Michael Collins is the aww jaysus acting makes me cringe
maryishere wrote: » The Irish people who went to fight in WW1 went for a variety of reasons. One reason some of them went for, for example, was to defend Europe against the invading Germans, who invaded and raped little Catholic Belgium, for example. Of course, your hatred of the British, which was bred in to you, stops you from seeing that.
indioblack wrote: » One scene had a gigantic explosion heard outside - inside there was dust and smoke.
blinding wrote: » The british in Ireland were 'A lovely Bunch of Lads "
Listowel Man wrote: » there will never be a united ireland because what was done in our name by the IRA makes most people sick
maryishere wrote: » I think you wil find that practically all the damage and death caused by explosions during the troubles was committed by Republicans....98 or 99% of the explosions anyway.
blinding wrote: » Haven't most people in Ireland forgotten what the British have done in Ireland over the centuries . Every thing/body is forgotten eventually . It will be about what the people of a certain time in the future believe is best for them . Admittedly the actions of the IRA may have pushed this time further ahead . If we are not to forget the actions of the IRA should we also not forget the actions of the British and their proxy terrorists . Perhaps the British were controlling two sets of proxy terrorists.... We have been so lucky that the British were " A lovely bunch of Lads in Ireland " Just as well they never turned nasty......
Listowel Man wrote: » the british soldiers were vicious *beep* but they're not in dail eireann atm acting like butter wouldnt melt
MRnotlob606 wrote: » I would counter that argument by saying a United Ireland looks more likely now that little Britain decided to leave European Union.
maryishere wrote: » As several economists have said, it is likely the EU will not survive and IRExit is only a matter of time. Besides, there would be no border in these islands if it were not for Republicans.
Junkyard Tom wrote: » A Little Pony wrote: » Absolutely and utterly irrelevant to the topic and has no bearing at all to what you are talking about. It was perfectly in keeping with the flow of the discussion. Just because it makes uncomfortable reading for you doesn't mean you should be afraid of the discussion. It would be poetic justice if a +50% vote for a UI in the north bounced it straight back into the EU via a united Ireland, wouldn't it?
A Little Pony wrote: » Absolutely and utterly irrelevant to the topic and has no bearing at all to what you are talking about.
indioblack wrote: » I remember the phrase from an ITV Playhouse production decades ago. There was another with Patrick Troughton called "He Rises on Sunday and We on Monday". I doubt if works like these would stand up to modern scrutiny - probably too stage-Irish - yet the essential message would have been the same. There was a marvelous black comedy about the hotel that was continually being bombed - the Europa, I think it was called. One scene had a gigantic explosion heard outside - inside there was dust and smoke. "Don't worry sir," says the waiter to one of the guests, "it's just the British army making the place safe".
FTA69 wrote: » Sounds like your family is a shower of cringing forelock tuggers. Were they police informers as well?
DEFTLEFTHAND wrote: » Typical response I suppose. It's ironic that your lads call rat every time someone offers of an alternative view to our history, your paramiltary organisation was riddled with touts. We had class and believed in parliamentary democracy, not violence and mindless killing.
Widdershins wrote: » I'd love to see that comedy, trying to find it on Google
MRnotlob606 wrote: » Can you reference these economists?
maryishere wrote: » Wolfgang Münchau for one has made comments along those lines.
Deleted User wrote: » Nah, he hasn't. ..
mr67stag wrote: » Not excuted for his bit part in Easter rising on the grounds that he was a us citizen,begging for clemency with his US birth cert to the Embassy ,so we are told ,remember Tom Clarke was a US citizen also but so how with out the same luck. He turned his back very quickly on the the republician movement fairly rapid interning them during the war. Prefentel treatment for RAF during WW2. Lets not even mention his dodgy Irish Press share scam in the US which netted millions in todays terms.
[Deleted User] wrote: » Nah, he hasn't. Well, imagine that: maryishere telling porkies once again...
rafatoni wrote: » constantly telling mince pies on every thread.
maryishere wrote: » Thats you. I gave the source to back up my statement.