Sarz91 wrote: » God no. I'd never chase a two man break down from a group where there are 5 or 6 lads from the same club. If I can't bridge it myself and leave the group behind I'll look for someone to come with me up the road. With the head wind on the main road before the left to the finish, no one really seemed like they wanted to. I felt grand coming into the finish and was in the first 15 or so before the turn but sat up due to some serious flashbacks to coming down hard. Dropped a good few places and cruised over the line. Still think the race should have come up the road and taken a right turn up the final bit to the finish. You heading along to the Des?
dahat wrote: » Was you with me in tow that chased down the two lads up the road? May have lied when I said I was hanging on! Agreed on the pace and I feel I may have left a result behind me. That's two races where the pace wasn't so hot.
Sarz91 wrote: » Might have you seen you today dahat. Fair play on the result. Tried getting up the road to the break a few times but got chased down. Funnily enough no one wanted to chase the break. After last weekends crash my confidence coming into corners was way down and as such I sat up for the tight left hand before the finish. The pace today was pretty handy in fairness. A few surges here and there but nothing major. I was in a decent amount of pain with all the road rash on my leg and the previously dislocated thumb.
Kaisr Sose wrote: » Well done. Never in doubt...just a matter of how soon!
dahat wrote: » Cracking race today, only for wrong line into the Sprint and one gear wrong I'd have gotten a Top 10, well pleased. Training Peaks gave me a Threshold Value of 305 after today's race. With some luck and experience I might actually go close to landing a race maybe.
InTheAttic wrote: » Nice! You must be absolutely flying. My 2 mates couldnt stay in the front group. Both strong vets riders. What weight are you?
dahat wrote: » Best of luck today,dull & wind starting to pick here locally. See ya on the road!
InTheAttic wrote: » Will do. Yeah I've registered. All the better if the group is split. It's safer. I'll let those "early-bloomers" go and won't even try to make my way to the front this time. It's a long season and i'll get my legs in time.
dahat wrote: » Is this a subscription or is the free part enough to gain what i need from it?
py wrote: » Setup an account on trainingpeaks. They've a feature that will calculate your FTP (and FTHR) based off your best 20 minute effort from your ride files. Even though you've not done your actual FTP test yet, your race should have a good solid effort that they can base it off.
Shoco83 wrote: » I wish it was that straight forward, according to my smart turbo and TrainerRoad I'm at just over 3.9W/Kg but have been dropped in most races I have done. I know I have the legs but poor positioning a probable lack of confidence in big bunches means I always seem to get bullied towards the back, there's only so much chasing out of every corner or over the top of every hill before you can't hold on anymore
dahat wrote: » What way do ye view FTP and normalized power after a spin? Read a few bits that say they are quite similar. I'm still to do an FTP with the Stages as I'm in a 3 race period so not keen on burningy ass too much with a 4 & 9 day break between each race.
mossym wrote: » as i said above, neither average power or normalised power is related to ftp unless, as i said above, you do a flat out hour spin. you could have an ftp of 300. if you were to go out on a very easy spin. ap and np could both be 100, if you pedalled consistently and evenly. if you did a lot of surges and coasting, np could be higher than AP, as NP takes into account teh variance of the surges, whereas AP doesn't your FTP doesn't change from ride to ride, well it might, but by very little, as you get fitter/stronger AP and NP could very from 1% of your ftp to 500% of your ftp or more, depending on length and intentisty of the ride. you cannot tell what a persons ftp is by looking at AP or NP, unless, and i'm repeating myself again now, its a flat out test for an hour, or a flat out test for a shorter period and you apply a derating factor(which is how the 20 mins test is run) honestly, you should pick up the training with power book. not understanding ftp, NP, AP, and to a lesser extent IF, variability index, makes using a power meter pretty pointless.
dahat wrote: » Average power seems to be better realted to my FTP than normalised power which according to some articles is a better reflection of the spin and your ftp. I can't see it myself which is why I'm seeking opinions on it.
mossym wrote: » on what basis would normalised power and ftp be the same, or even similar? normalised power, on a well controlled ride, might be very similar to average power. they are both hugely different to ftp, unless you did a flat out one hour ride.
Inquitus wrote: » Watts/Kg is a big deal, if you can hit close to 4W/Kg then you'll do very well in A4 and end up in A3, don't know what you weigh.
Harrybelafonte wrote: » Question for you Cram Were you doing these tests while down at the track? Is it true that track riders tend to have higher wattage output for the shorter periods, but a lower FTP? Like the 5 minute is higher than a similar level on the road but the hour is well off for the same?
Sarz91 wrote: » Can I have your job? Or can you point me in the right direction as to where to apply?