HighLine wrote: » R117 seems to be on route to Glencullen now.
stampydmonkey wrote: » Past it as r117 flew by. Guards had closed the road. Hope it's nothing too serious.
cosanostra wrote: » Granuaile getting kitted out in Galway https://twitter.com/fcorby/status/843094580220313600
jmayo wrote: » I actually would trust the fishermen and local civilians who are lending a hand above some of our state services. The AGS have requested people to hand in anything to local Garda Station and AFAIK Belmullet has been used as storage point. Are you seriously asking that question ? All the SAR piliots are very much aware of that rocky island with the big bloody lighthouse on top of it and they don't rely on Sky Demon, Iphones, or Google for their navigation. The fact someone is aware of Skydemon and yet thinks a professional SAR operation hasn't anything better scares me, most especially if they are a pilot.
Irish Steve wrote: » I've thought for a while before posting this, but as it seems to be raising it's head again, I am going to try and damp down some of the comments re Blackrock and Blacksod. Blackrock is over 10 Nautical miles from Blacksod, which is where they were planning to land for fuel, and I would expect that their let down procedure would be similar to the profile used for a full instrument approach, so if they were operating at 4000 Ft, a gentle let down profile to allow them time to break cloud and become visually oriented before landing would have not required them to cross Blackrock at much below 3000 Ft, so massively clear of the island. To put that in context, an ILS approach to land that flies a 3 degree descent profile would be at 1500 Ft 4 miles from the runway, so it we allow an additional mile to ensure good transition, they would have started descent at about 13 miles, which is a mile before Blackrock, and been descending at less than 400 Ft per mile. There is no way that we can get a definitive statement about exactly what is or is not in the S92 database, the issue has been raised, and cannot be answered at this time, so I am going to say that for now, this subject needs to be let lie, and not constantly dragged up again, to avoid boring people. All I will add is that I will be very surprised (shocked even) if it transpires that Blackrock is not in their database, but in theory, they had no need to be anywhere close to the island to be able to fly an appropriate vertical profile for a landing at Blacksod, and having used Blacksod for refuelling on previous occasions, the crew would have been aware of the local geography.
jmayo wrote: » Are you seriously asking that question ? All the SAR piliots are very much aware of that rocky island with the big bloody lighthouse on top of it and they don't rely on Sky Demon, Iphones, or Google for their navigation. The fact someone is aware of Skydemon and yet thinks a professional SAR operation hasn't anything better scares me, most especially if they are a pilot.
Gaoth Laidir wrote: » Being aware that an island exists and knowing where you are in relation to it right now are two very different things. I already acknowledged that it is highly unlikely that they don't have it on their navigation suite, I was just highlighting that Skydemon, which is legally valid for flight, doesn't have it. I'm not sure why that scares you.
Discodog wrote: » If you are flying over the sea in bad visibility & you get a visual on the surface, on your way into land. Would you stay at height or safely descend under the cloudbase ? In other words do you follow your eyes or your instruments ? Plus a helicopter doesn't have the approach restrictions of a fixed wing. If necessary they can hover & literally look out of the door as they descend as is common on landing. The key to this is why they were so close to Blackrock.
siobhan08 wrote: » I heard the debris are being brought to Gormanston for the investigation Would that be to the army base or is there somewhere else they could bring them ? Just curious as it from near there
Irish Steve wrote: » In passing, does Skydemon give a MSA for the area, as that may provide the answer, if the MSA is significantly above the height of the island, the (possibly wrong) assumption is that you won't be operating other than in VFR below MSA.
Gaoth Laidir wrote: » That's what I'm saying. Survived the impact, freed herself but didn't survive thereafter.
Steve wrote: » At best it's a typo, pathetic journalism.
Esel wrote: » See my edited post above with two paragraph excerpt and link.
Steve wrote: » Black rock is literally a rock (yes, a big one) and does not have a fuel store. I doubt it is even manned anymore, would have to check that. 116 was never going to refuel there.