Omackeral wrote: » midlandsmissus wrote: » "We are conditioned to distrust women, and think they are hysterical" I know people on here have an issue with this phrase but I'm gonna say it. That's utterly retarded. I distrust my loving girlfriend do I? My mam, who reared a family of four on her own? My sister, who is my favourite person in the world. My teachers, who taught me how to read and write? I never did have a male teacher until I was 12. My various bosses and supervisors who bestowed trust on me to help run a company and gave me opportunities? Officials who I voted into public office? Pull the other one midlandsmissus and stop perpetuating victim culture, because that's what exists more than anything else.
midlandsmissus wrote: » "We are conditioned to distrust women, and think they are hysterical"
LuckyLloyd wrote: » midlandsmissus wrote: » Wibbs- purient nonsense. Its not just me and my personal experience. Time and time again we see feminists, indeed any woman that dares to have an opinion, shouted down. Lon - shouted down, the woman who said 'why I didn't report my rapist- shouted down. One would wonder why some men are so afraid of women, that they don't let them have an opinion. Get over the fear. You're entitled to have an opinion. You're entitled to express that opinion. You're not entitled to have that opinion accepted without challenge.
midlandsmissus wrote: » Wibbs- purient nonsense. Its not just me and my personal experience. Time and time again we see feminists, indeed any woman that dares to have an opinion, shouted down. Lon - shouted down, the woman who said 'why I didn't report my rapist- shouted down. One would wonder why some men are so afraid of women, that they don't let them have an opinion. Get over the fear.
midlandsmissus wrote: » An Irish man said it.
midlandsmissus wrote: And yet, why do we never see a thread on here started by a woman, poking at a man who stands up for mans rights, and the thread is filled with hundreds of women calling him 'crazy, a lunatic, a narcissist, attention seeker'. Because we let men have opinions freely.
midlandsmissus wrote: » Because we let men have opinions freely.
midlandsmissus wrote: » Why the fear
bodice ripper wrote: » Yer wan is a crazy narcissist. Crying selfie? Ah here.
midlandsmissus wrote: » And yet, why do we never see a thread on here started by a woman, poking at a man who stands up for mans rights, and the thread is filled with hundreds of women calling him 'crazy, a lunatic, a narcissist, attention seeker'. Because we let men have opinions freely. Why the aggression? Why the fear?
midlandsmissus wrote: » Omackeral as you can see I have been offline for an hour. Unless you know of a superhuman device that enables me to reply to five people at once, dont be so presumptuous. Also, I work, and sometimes I have to go to my real life. So if I dont reply to you (posters) get over it! Its like toddlers demanding attention. Me! Me! Me!
Widdershins wrote: What selfie was this?
Omackeral wrote: » I work as a Prison Officer. Rapists in prison are seen as the lowest of the low. They are scum. Murderers are miles above them. What does that tell you? Apart from Subversive Republicans (and that's largely political), Sex Offenders are the only category of prisoner requiring their own prison. Imagine that, their own prison because even the dregs of decent society won't accept them. Rapists aren't accepted in decent society and are just as much not accepted in indecent society.
bodice ripper wrote: » The McCabe one where she posted a selfie of herself crying reading the responses to her blog post. She has since deleted it, along with various posts and comments that did not agree with her world view.
midlandsmissus wrote: » Wibbs- purient nonsense.
Its not just me and my personal experience. Time and time again we see feminists, indeed any woman that dares to have an opinion, shouted down. Lon - shouted down, the woman who said 'why I didn't report my rapist- shouted down. One would wonder why some men are so afraid of women, that they don't let them have an opinion.
Get over the fear.
An Irish man said it.
LuckyLloyd wrote: » You're entitled to have an opinion. You're entitled to express that opinion. You're not entitled to have that opinion accepted without challenge.
midlandsmissus wrote: » So if I dont reply to you (posters) get over it! Its like toddlers demanding attention. Me! Me! Me!
Omackeral wrote: » Pull the other one midlandsmissus and stop perpetuating victim culture, because that's what exists more than anything else.
Glenster wrote: » Wahhhh people with willies have it worse! Wahhhh people without willies have it worse! -This thread.
TheDavester wrote: » Ian o docherty was critisced by me and a few here for his twitter meltdown a few pages back
darkdubh wrote: » Whats with the personal insults?
jameorahiely wrote: » You must have missed the MRA protesting at the rose of tralee thread...
red ears wrote: » A hopeless response to the question omackeral asked you.
midlandsmissus wrote: » There are no words to describe how nonsensical your post is. Why are you so terrified of letting a woman talk? Do you have so little self identity, that you have to not let women express there opinions, because it makes you afraid?
midlandsmissus wrote: » There are no words to describe how nonsensical your post is. Why are you so terrified of letting a woman talk?
Humria wrote: » On regards the rape culture thing, it's a bit of a loaded term really.
I don't accept the argument that because there is far more rape in African countries that it's not a problem here.
It's cases like this that make me think that we still have a ways in how we think about rape:http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/the-sex-case-that-divided-a-town-and-shocked-a-watching-nation-26593097.html
So, I want you to try picture something for me. Imagine a girl walking home at after a night out. She gets attacked and raped. Is there a part of you thinking that she shouldn't have been walking home by herself? I know there is a part of me that does.
Now, picture a mean walking home by himself after a night out. He get attacked and beaten up. Do you blame him for walking home alone or do you think he was just really unlucky to be in the wrong place at the wrong time? I know I think about them different, even if I'm annoyed that I do it.
As a women I feel like I constantly have to think about my safety. I was really restless last night and would loved to have gone for a walk to relax. I didn't though because it was late and I remembered the story of a women who was attacked in the area while out running in the dark. If I go out at night, I have to plan my return home well in advance. Who will I be with, where do they live, how far is it to the taxi, am I safe in the taxi? I think of stories of women in fake taxis who were abducted and raped.
I agree that it's a good idea to be wary of threats.
I think women get frustrated that some men don't understand this because they take their safety for granted.
So yeah, feminism isn't always the "man hating" fanaticism that's it's sometimes portrayed to be. The majority of us just want a better society for both sexes. I do identify as a feminist because it's really the only movement that seems to aim to create real change in how we treat each other based on gender.
Humria wrote: » I take your point about the risk of unprovoked assaults. I'm not aware of the statistics.
My point was more about blame than risk. Taking your point, that men are more likely to be assaulted.
Should men be taking more risks to ensure their safety?
If they are getting attacked when they are drunk, would they be less likely to be attacked if they were sober?
If so, are they more to blame if they get attacked when they are drunk because maybe if they were sober they would have seen to drunk aggressive guy looking for a fight?
Humria wrote: » On regards the rape culture thing, it's a bit of a loaded term really. I don't accept the argument that because there is far more rape in African countries that it's not a problem here. Our health system is much better too but that doesn't mean we all think it's great. Obviously a very small proportion of men are rapists and men can also be victims of rape. Again, I would argue that it's about OUR beliefs about rape. Often, women can be harsher critics of other women than men can.
Humria wrote: » It's cases like this that make me think that we still have a ways in how we think about rape:http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/the-sex-case-that-divided-a-town-and-shocked-a-watching-nation-26593097.html
Humria wrote: » I actually think the main problem is with the judicial system. Our justice system makes defendants witnesses in their own trials. It's not just a problem in rape cases. A male acquaintance of mine was attacked in a nightclub and sustained some really bad injuries. The case went to trail and he said the experience was really traumatic. He said it felt like he was on trail. The prosecution tried to destroy his character and reputation. So it's not limited to rape victims but it does contribute towards the lack of prosecutions.
Humria wrote: » So on a different point. I want you to try picture something for me. Imagine a girl walking home at after a night out. She gets attacked and raped. Is there a part of you thinking that she shouldn't have been walking home by herself? I know there is a part of me that does. Now, picture a man walking home by himself after a night out. He get attacked and beaten up. Do you blame him for walking home alone or do you think he was just really unlucky to be in the wrong place at the wrong time? I know I think about them differently, even if I'm annoyed that I do it. But I'm aware of it, that's the point.
Humria wrote: » As a women I feel like I constantly have to think about my safety. I was really restless last night and would loved to have gone for a run to relax. I didn't though because it was late and I remembered the story of a women who was attacked in the area while out running in the dark.
Humria wrote: » If I go out for a night out I have to plan my return home well in advance. Who will I be with, where do they live, how far is it to the taxi, am I safe in the taxi? I think of stories of women in fake taxis who were abducted and raped.
Humria wrote: » I think women get frustrated that some men don't understand this because they take their safety for granted.
Wibbs wrote: » . We have a very low rate of murder here compared I dunno Syria. One quite simply can't equate the two. This goes for "rape culture"
Wibbs wrote: » Not this one trotted out again. That was far more to do with small town parish pump idiocy aimed at an "outsider" than it was about rape. If the same guy had beaten a traveler to a pulp I'd bet he'd have got similar support. Oh and when this case is trotted out, yet again, the part that is almost always ignored is the huge groundswell of countrywide support of that woman and the universal disgust and condemnation at how those ignorant muppets acted. And as has been noted by a prison officer on this thread, that rapist will have to kept apart from the main prison population because rapists are held in such high contempt that his safety would be at serious risk. Now pray tell me, how does this equate to an Irish "rape culture". Loaded indeed
Wibbs wrote: » .Not in my thinking I'm afraid. Again and only speaking for myself I would equate both in roughly the same way, namely really unlucky to be in the wrong place at the wrong time* and both would have my sympathy.
Wibbs wrote: » .Or - and since we're sharing our inner thoughts I have to put it out there TBH - some women, or more women are more paranoid outa the box on this score? You say you have to think about your safety? When the indisputable fact is me as a man is far more likely to be assaulted by random strangers. I have had a few attempts and a couple that connected too, yet I don't then go into full defensive mode. Maybe around the time soon after, but I don't live my life that way
Wibbs wrote: » pretty much entirely on feminism's terms of reference. Its akin to a politic and philosophy based on the conundrum of toilet seat up, or down. It's a man's role to make the environment better for women. Eh, you're supposed to be an adult, put the damn seat down yourself, or god forbid raise it for a man. It's far more about what the men must do to fit feminism's/a particular section of women's view on things. Masculinity is regular seen and described as "toxic". And it is almost always men's "fault", women are almost always faultless. Even when women disagree with the narrative, it's usually down to them not supporting their "sisters" and absorbing the culture of the "patriarchy". Men's much higher risk of suicide - Patriarchy. Men dying younger - Patriarchy. Men falling behind in education - Patriarchy. Divorce bias and access to children - Patriarchy. Yet when women for example receive far softer sentencing in courts, no mention of the P word and this is often celebrated by feminists. Some of whom have publicly called for even softer sentencing. I've heard all these arguments before. And more and more, more of us, men and women are asking questions about that and often when answers are forthcoming calling shenanigans.
Wibbs wrote: » I'm not surprised TBH, like I say bias goes both ways and ignorance of bias does too.