westcoast66 wrote: » Have a neighbour who works for the ESB. Leaves at 9 and is back most days by 4. Loads of holidays/sick days and very secure job. Seems like one of the best jobs for a farmer.
ml100 wrote: » Teaching, holidays/hours can't be matched by any other full time job
kollegeknight wrote: » I reckon a pe teacher. Loads of time off and very little paper work. I'm an engineering teacher. Home in evenings by 5pm off every weekend and great holidays. But serious workload trying to get lads with projects over the line. I definately get a big greyer and fatter every march/April. I'm happy with the pay too. Hard to get a job in home county though. It's luck dependant also with cows calving in the spring. Ive only 13 to calf yearly.
Username John wrote: » Yes - less hours, but a bit inflexible too, compared with other jobs... And then there's the kids / students...
ml100 wrote: » I don't think you will get any job paying the salary/pensions of teachers with the same flexibility, 1 week off every 6-8 weeks, 2 weeks off at the end of term plus the summer holidays, home by 3:30-4 pm, perfect job for tillage!
Username John wrote: » That's not what I mean by flexible... I mean you can't be late, you can't leave early... whereas lots of other jobs you might be able to ring and say something gone wrong, be an hour or two late... I know the core hours are less, and holidays are good... Not for me though
Username John wrote: » Does he like it? I worked in a place that was half semi state before, and the perks were good all right - but twould wear you down... the kinda constant 'that's not my pay grade' or 'jobs not worth that' kinda vibe... I don't think anyone should go for a job just cos it fits in with farming. Go for something you like doing first then try to get to fit as best you can... People always say teaching is a grand job and fits with farming grand - it's is, the only problem is the teaching bit... Any 9-5 job really, within a reasonable distance would fit in with farming fine...
Icelandicseige wrote: » I think it's a very sad way of looking at life. Your looking for a job that fits in to the job that your already working because ye can't make a living from it. Now tell me what would a business minded person do?
Icelandicseige wrote: I think it's a very sad way of looking at life.
Icelandicseige wrote: Your looking for a job that fits in to the job that your already working because ye can't make a living from it. Now tell me what would a business minded person do?
laoch na mona wrote: Nothing wrong with a second job if it's something you enjoy and are passionate about (and with a bit of luck your not loosing money at it.)
laoch na mona wrote: The reality is that any small operator will need another source of income for security,
tractorporn wrote: » As said before if you work at something you love you'll never work a day in your life, but people can't live on fresh air. I don't see too many other professions needing a second job to keep them afloat. Teachers, nurses, guards and luas drivers weren't shy about looking for pay rises why should the farmer be happy with his lot?
kowtow wrote: » The perfect 'second" job for a farmer is surely as a travelling salesman / delivery service. For his own produce.
Icelandicseige wrote: » kowtow wrote: » The perfect 'second" job for a farmer is surely as a travelling salesman / delivery service. For his own produce. Now ye have it...! That's the way every farmer should think in my opinion. More drive and positivity instead of doom and gloom.. prices this and prices that..