rolion wrote: » Hi lads, And despite all these negative feedback and replies...how do the PhoneWatch is still in business today and these days ? I seen a lots of PW external panels... Must be people out there that loves the simplicity,trusts the name behind the system and not lasly, a pretty simple system ?!
Ronan H wrote: » So do people recommend other companies offering a alarm systems, or to source and install yourself, DIY style?
kub wrote: » We recommend that you get at least 3 quotations from PSA licensed installers. The full list is here: https://www.psa.gov.ie/en/PSA/1A.-Register-of-Contractor-Licensees-(AllSectors).pdf/Files/1A.-Register-of-Contractor-Licensees-(AllSectors).pdf Also there are dozens of monitoring stations up and down this Island that are in direct competition to PW but a lot more reasonable for monitoring. Your chosen installer will sort this for you. Those quotations should be a result of a site survey and a risk assessment as per EN50131 standards. You can, if you feel up to it, do a self install, we have been known to help people with whatever option they go with. But you cannot connect your self installed system to a monitoring station as you cannot certify it to the standard.
cuculainn wrote: » Do you know why I think people go with PhoneWatch? Because it's the easy option.
KoolKid wrote: Amazing that one single question can lead you to so much valuable information.
caycro wrote: » Thanks for the advice, I appreciate it as I've never done an alarm installation before. Do you have any company in the Dublin region that you'd recommend? Needs to be a garda monitored not self monitored option.
Parchment wrote: » Spin off from this thread - i went for a walk at lunchtime today through a residential area and by far the most prevalent alarm box on houses was.....Phone Watch!
Parchment wrote: Spin off from this thread - i went for a walk at lunchtime today through a residential area and by far the most prevalent alarm box on houses was.....Phone Watch!
Gmol wrote: » Used to be with Phonewatch then switched to phonelink same monitoring service for 1/2 the price(not linked to that company!!)
caycro wrote: » I was speaking with Phonewatch last week about a new installation which I had a price quoted for from last year. They never mentioned the extra monitoring costs with extra window sensors until I asked (thanks to boards for knowing to ask!) When I questioned the additional cost they said 'well we are Phonewatch' !! Has anyone used Action24? Similar price installation to Phonewatch but they have the contract for a couple of the major bookies so I'm thinking thats a great recommendation? Their monitoring fees are slightly less (30pm vs 42.50pm) and their app seems pretty simple to use. Would love to hear feedback from a user before I bite the bullet.
listermint wrote: » Whats a garda monitored system ? i thought phonewatch just ring the guards. Just like you would do if you got an SMS message. Surely best system is an independent system installed with replaceable parts and in addition some IP CCTV on it you can view on a mobile device. These are all easily accesible things in todays market.
listermint wrote: » Whats a garda monitored system ? i thought phonewatch just ring the guards. Just like you would do if you got an SMS message.