Grizzly 45 wrote: » Cant go wrong with the mitsubishis,if they haven't been arsed about.Drive a 95 Pajero MK 2 and its the most bullet proof 4wd Ive ever driven . Mk3 in comparison is soft as hell I find. Only thing that proably surpasses them ,is Toyota.[Put it like this,if ISIS and the Taliban drive them,you can be sure they are tough machines..:p] 15/20 k will certainly get you into a very good hunting wagon,but I'd hold onto the car for day to day commutes if you are looking at a pick up/crew cab. Crew cabs are pretty bouncy on the road if you don't have a load on the back.So they aren't too much fun on long drives.
sniperman wrote: » hi all,looking for opinions on a good small 4x4 for hunting/shooting, diesel,got a few permissions that the car just cant cope with,(up very hilly countryside)so thinking of trading up,budget around the 20 grand mark,thanks all
EPointer=Birdss wrote: » What type of hunting? How much space do you need? I.e deer or just dogs etc If small is what you're after a Pajero Junior is a great Jeep. Might not suit the big engine brigade but; 4x4 Can go near anywhere with decent tires Cost 1000-1500 Tax 299 Insurance few hundred quid No commercial BS You'd fix & service most of it yourself as needed At a budget of 20k you could run it for the next 15-20 years!! I keep an economical car & one of these. Car has never been cleaner & ive never enjoyed a Jeep as much
sniperman wrote: » hi,type of hunting is foxing up the mountains with rifle,and maybe next deer season with a mate,sick of cleaning the muck off the car.getting stuck on sloppy laneways etc,driving in first gear alot,so decided on trading up,thanks so far lads for oppinions
selectamatic wrote: » I'd also be an advocate of the small 2nd 4x4 idea. Op if you're over 25 classic insurance is a real possibility for a 2nd vehicle over 20 years old. Something like a 1996 or under Suzuki vitara/escudo Pajero Jr like suggested (different and better than a 1.8 gdi pinion) 1.1 and diff lock+low range Daihatsu terios 1.3 4x4 (No low box) but serious off road with proper tyres Daihatsu sportrak (baby fourtrak) 1.6 4x4 & low box Gen1 rav4 4x4 no low box but light and again great off road with right tyres excellent 2.0 engine but dearer tax. But a good cheap one of these and you'll have plenty of cash left to upgrade to a nice car as well leaving your new bargain 4x4 to do real work and get mucky. Classic insurance is generally a few hundred probably less than 3 (Jap imports are best avoided) Tax will be grand on anything under 1.3 gets pricey when ya go above this. As long as the vehicle is over 20 years old classic insurance should be doable.
German pointer wrote: I use a Jimmy for hunting and its great. Serious off road capabilities cheap to run and service. Iv had me and my mate who is about 18 stone 2 sets of gear including rifles and an 11 pointer red stag in it and not a bother coming off the hill and another day same mate and 3 fallow in the back. I can also do the school run in it if needs be.
Crow Pigeon and Pheasant wrote: Just woundering how's it on fuel and is it 1.3? I would like to get a jeep for my first car bit want something economical would this be a good choice? Thanks
have2flushtwice wrote: » 20k available for a Jeep to go hunting as a hobby, fair play. I wouldn't invest a tenth of that if I didn't have a guaranteed return on investment. I think you should look into what some of the posters are saying wrt cheaper ideas.
German pointer wrote: Haven't a clue on mpg as I fill it when empty. But cheap to run and service. 1.3 engine. I have my one 3 years I bought it for €1700 and have no intention of changing it. Go anywhere in it.
sniperman wrote: » yep have 20k to invest in my hobby,(or should i say passion)thats the result of not wasting it on fags or beer;),not looking for any returns,also dont want a heap,looking for a good near new one,
ronn wrote: » Anyone tried the skoda 4x4s or herd if there any good,???
blackpearl wrote: » Whats it like on juice
EPointer=Birdss wrote: » 30 quid fills the tank Local driving lasts ages. Open roads like any small engine stresses more but from memory I think it's like 250km to the tank but it's been ages since I've measured.