RabbleRouser2k wrote: » What’s your favourite post of yours? I go on political rants every now and again, especially on my Facebook page, and I enjoy them. I’m not so sure how everyone else feels about them though…. I wrote about the UCD 500 story in February and the amount of people reading, liking, and re-sharing that post was unprecedented for me. It did generate a lot of trolling but that seems to be the price many women have to pay for daring to be political on social media.
RabbleRouser2k wrote: » Back on topic-this...http://www.thejournal.ie/louise-onei...urce=shortlink And this doozy...keep in mind this is MONTHS after it was proven completely false
mzungu wrote: » Ah yes, the UCD "scandal". Irelands very own contribution to fake news in 2016.
Outlaw Pete wrote: » This is excellent and from someone who has been raped themselves. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v3_ty5jKkX0
RabbleRouser2k wrote: » Back on topic-this...http://www.thejournal.ie/louise-oneill-twitter-interview-3151701-Dec2016/?utm_source=shortlink And this doozy...keep in mind this is MONTHS after it was proven completely false, but she calls it 'trolling'...yeah, providing evidence that a story was false is trolling... What’s your favourite post of yours? I go on political rants every now and again, especially on my Facebook page, and I enjoy them. I’m not so sure how everyone else feels about them though…. I wrote about the UCD 500 story in February and the amount of people reading, liking, and re-sharing that post was unprecedented for me. It did generate a lot of trolling but that seems to be the price many women have to pay for daring to be political on social media. So by her logic proving someone is not guilty is providing evidence that they 'are' guilty? Come on LON, you're 31, not 16.
Widdershins wrote: » The fact that she has no shame about propagating fake news and the mindless manner in which hundreds of people took her word for it and re-shared her posts..amazing!
RabbleRouser2k wrote: » And the worst thing is...how many male students of UCD were essentially labelled sex offenders and perverts based on a false allegation that ran in the college newspaper and then 'leaked' to the media? Like, crud like that sticks, one false allegation can stain you.
ivytwine wrote: » She's articulated a lot of my thoughts on the subject. I wouldn't be of the libertarian persuasion but she's bang on there. Essentially why I feel so tired with the whole thing at present is the hyperbole, the lack of nuance, and the lack of practical support out there. I've never been so fed up with the current discourse on all sides as I am at present. Common sense, facts, measured reasoning are sorely lacking. And the thing is it's actually courageous to take the middle ground now, to be reasonable, because things have gotten so poisonous online. Also I think Outlaw Pete you mentioned Last Tango in Paris? I've been listening to the excellent You Must Remember This podcast, which is all about old Hollywood, and there's an episode on it, made back in 2014 (!) the assault is mentioned, it was common knowledge for years, or at least in the public domain. Brando or Bertolucci never denied it either, so I'm not sure why people are getting the idea that it was a matter of society ignoring Maria Schneider. People just didn't care as far as I can see... which was awful, don't get me wrong, but I think it was a recognition that the film industry, especially arthouse, was so outside the normal bounds of society that no-one was surprised. I don't think there's any other industry which had the blurred lines, extreme personalities and substance abuse that the entertainment industry had in the past. I don't think we can apply what was acceptable there as a broad generalisation of normal society.
RabbleRouser2k wrote: » That she keeps doing it, without any care for ruined lives, and already proven false allegations shows how potentially dangerous her mindset is. If she wonders why rape allegations are often called into question, or disbelieved...it's because of this. Propagating false allegations as fact, when proven false, is just absolutely damaging to genuine victims of sexual assault and rape. Women in politics-great, fine, all the more power to anyone who chooses to help their community-and means it. Women discussing politics with false allegations and no evidence...wait, any gender discussing politics with false allegations and no evidence...no, that's not right. Not right at all. It's criminal, in my eyes. Like, there was a recent article in the Irish Independent, during the Johnny Depp/ Amber Heard divorce where one of the opinion peaces painted a damning picture of Depp, and all without any evidence(this was following Heard's claims Depp was abusive). She cited a former quote from Ryder where Ryder had said 'her first boyfriend was abusive' and the columnist said, since Depp was Ryder's first boyfriend, he had been abusive with Ryder...yet weeks later, Ryder stated, openly, that Depp had never been abusive with her, and she was shocked by the allegations against Depp. If that article had been published in the US, that article would have landed said columnist in jail. Sean Penn sued for lesser comments.
RabbleRouser2k wrote: » Yes, the assault was known-but it wasn't an assault. The scene, as written, went as planned-the sex was simulated, there was no 'sex'. The only addition to the scene was the butter. Schneider did not know about the butter. The director articulated this days after the 'allegation' suffered again.But the media does not want to publish that story. They just want to propagate a 'he raped her, Brando was a rapist'... She was 19, still young to the industry, and as a young actress, open to ideas. He didn't rape her tho.
ivytwine wrote: » I'm fairly sure that it hasn't been widely disproven, in that, I think LON or possibly someone else wrote a piece saying "well it can't be proven but it's PROBABLY true." Mud sticks as you say, and it'll probably follow those boys around. Also I hadn't realised that in the States the colleges deal with sexual assault cases prior to handing them to the police? Not sure if my understanding is correct. If that's the case it's cracked. It's a criminal matter and should only be dealt with by police and courts. No wonder the colleges **** up in that case. My own university couldn't organise a semester 2 timetable, let alone an investigation into sexual assault.
RabbleRouser2k wrote: » Well, the gardai concluded their investigation with a 'we have no evidence, we spoke to a lot of people, we found nothing'...and for me, that shows it never happened. Even the email from the college said as much.https://www.joe.ie/news/ucd-the-revenge-porn-facebook-page-was-all-unsubstantiated-hearsay/530849
ivytwine wrote: » And the evidence against Penn is a lot stronger. The Johnny Depp one was interesting because there was a definite element of wishful thinking among a lot of women as he was a heartthrob. But the fact that the woman he left for Heard defended him when she could have stayed silent speaks volumes. Perhaps he was abusive to Heard, we're unlikely to know for sure. I think the Examiner, which can be *really* sloppy about stuff at the best of times, is still adjusting to the fact that its content is available now to a worldwide audience. Not that long ago it could have published an article alleging Depp is a domestic abuser and unless he was on holiday in Ballydehob it would have never been brought to his attention. There's also the assumption that celebs are fair game, or aren't real people. Likewise I don't think LON sees the UCD boys as real people, but rather akin to the villains in her novel. But as someone who grew up in rural Ireland should know, the rumour mill is usually full of ****e, and nothing was ever proven- nor any evidence found. Instead those lads will have to wonder about whether listing their course on their CV will stop them getting a job, because they're actual real humans.
RabbleRouser2k wrote: » Yes, but the claims against Penn-that he tied up and beat Madonna, have already been refuted, by Madonna. I have no doubt there was verbal abuse, but nothing physical-that said, there was more evidence of her being abusive (An ex girlfriend of hers in 2009) than there was of him. But some people really wanted to see him fall. I'm glad he didn't, but he's fighting back against her now, in the courts. So the ugly divorce continues. (It's funny how Mel Gibson gets more chances at redemption, despite him being an absolute cur at times). But to be honest, I think their entire relationship was toxic. Oh their sloppiness is unreal-O'Neill's articles don't take into account that 'Anyone' can read her stuff, anyone...including her parents, or exes. Her recent 'some people want to see you fail'...was just...it was like a teenager wrote it. But journalism here in Ireland...it can be really dodgy. When you see the ramblings of Holly Carpenter being printed in the indo, and lampooned on twitter, you just sit there and wonder 'what the absolute f***!'. Most journalism now is 'copy and paste twitter posts'...or one egregious 'interview' with an Irish comic was robbed, entirely, from Jarlath Regan's podcast. Without his permission.
RayM wrote: » The Gardai played no role in any investigation. UCD investigated it internally, over the course of two or three days, and nobody came forward with any proof that the Facebook group existed. Given that it was alleged to be a private, closed group, nobody would have been able to provide proof unless they were a member. And if it did exist, it is unlikely that anyone involved in such a group would be prepared to drop themselves and their friends in it. Now I'm not saying that the group in question did or didn't exist, but less than one year earlier, there was a controversy surrounding the involvement of Ag Science students in a Facebook group entitled "Girls I'd shift if I was tipsy". And that group definitely existed.
ivytwine wrote: » I trained to be a journalist and to be honest it's not the most talented or intelligent that succeed. Sometimes it's just the ones who'll stick at it no matter how ****e it gets. Irish media is in dire straits, it really is. But it's not helped by the fact that the circles are so small. Even I'd be reluctant to criticise LON too openly as it's not a million miles beyond possibility that I'd run into her. We already have mutual Facebook friends. So it's all back scratching, unless you're an isolated crank living in the wilds like Kevin Myers, or you just don't give a ****e like Gene Kerrigan.
RabbleRouser2k wrote: » Yet as John Power notes-not a single victim came forward either. Okay, say for example, 200 students slept with two girls each...you're telling me that not even 1 out of 400 girls would come forward? Not one?
RabbleRouser2k wrote: The 'girls id shift' guy got elected to the UCDSU, and that happened months before the UCD 200 story-less than a year to be precise. So I can imagine that may have triggered such a tale...but notably, and to further disprove the UCD200 tale...that group could be seen, viewed, and accessed. So there was evidence there, no doubt about that. There was no evidence of a slut shaming page.
RayM wrote: » I'm not telling you anything. I'm not even trying to prove that the Facebook group existed. If it did exist, and was a closed, private group - accessible only to invited members - there is no way that any of the women in question would have known about it. Therefore, how could they have come forward? The 'Girls I'd shift' group could be seen, viewed and accessed by anyone until it was mentioned in the University Observer - at which point it was hastily deleted. I'm not sure how that disproves the existence of any subsequent groups. Its existence shows that there was a pre-existing culture and that such a group would hardly be unprecedented. Had it not existed, I don't think the 'UCD200' story would have taken off the way it did.
"You really can't compare the two as female nudity and male nudity are treated in such different way. Male nudity won't have the same negative impact on a man's social standing. "There isn't the same amount of shame attached to male sexuality as there is to female sexuality. We have been shamed and silenced for hundreds of years and we carry that history with us. "There is no point in comparing the two as the impact and the consequences are completely unequal for men and women for having photos shared."
Outlaw Pete wrote: » Re: the whole UCD 200 debacle.. Louise came out with a lot of waffle around that time but one of the most infuriating things which she said was in response to it being put to her that photos of naked male students sometimes get passed around without consent also: And yet Louise tells us young men today need feminism.... ha! Like a hole in the bloody head they need it. The above quote was taken from a radio interview Louise gave around the time the UCD 200 story broke and when she was publicly back slapping herself any opportunity she could get (when she wasn't too busy screaming in cottages out in the sticks that is). You can listen to the interview here.
RayM wrote: » Had it not existed, I don't think the 'UCD200' story would have taken off the way it did.
RayM wrote: » The 'Girls I'd shift' group could be seen, viewed and accessed by anyone until it was mentioned in the University Observer - at which point it was hastily deleted. I'm not sure how that disproves the existence of any subsequent groups. Its existence shows that there was a pre-existing culture and that such a group would hardly be unprecedented. Had it not existed, I don't think the 'UCD200' story would have taken off the way it did.
ivytwine wrote: » I trained to be a journalist.
midnight city wrote: » Genuine question here, having been through college to train as a journalist why are they overwhelmingly liberal left in outlook?
hatrickpatrick wrote: » Unless people are actually being harassed, what exactly is the harm in people discussing who they find attractive?