Cee-Jay-Cee wrote: » Well done on getting to 80 relatively unscathed and still driving to boot. If I make it to 80 with all my faculties in check I'll be well pleased and anything after that is a bonus.
73Cat wrote: » On the plus side I got to sit in a fire truck with the firemen in my PJ' s
Stigura wrote: » Why were they wearing your PJ's?!
73Cat wrote: » . Damn good they looked in em too !
Graces7 wrote: » At my age, heading for 80, maybe I should be more in tune, but life is so precious now.. A few weeks ago I was driving home from shopping along our deep rural narrow lanes. I hate speed and am careful and been driving over 50// love driving... Came round a blind bend on a single track lane to find myself face to face with a huge oil tanker going at speed as there was a long straight stretch behind him. I mean really close... Can still see it if I close my eyes... I drive a wee Susuki and had we "met" that would have been the end and so sudden.... He braked but had nowhere to go, Had I braked? But instinctively I accelerated and swerved to the left. Missed him by a bare two inches, ploughed through the verge/ditch and back on the road.. Saw the tracks I had made at a later date.... must have been travelling at speed as my little front wheel drive gets stuck very easily It all seemed unreal yet the thought in my head when I thought it was the end of me was anguish at the thought of my far away family hearing of my death And the feeling for days that I was on borrowed time and maybe I had been killed and this was some kind of ???? Life is precious and fragile.. Had an emergency health scare a few days ago and the same feelings then.
Sam Kade wrote: » So, did anyone have an actual near death experience? I know a man in his 60's at the time dived into a swimming spot to save a young girl and almost drowned himself. Both were saved and he told me after that while he almost drowned that he had a flashback of his life, as far back as recieving his First Communion.
cantdecide wrote: » In a very literal sense, I narrowly avoided decapitation by milliseconds. A few years ago, I was riding my motorbike and in a freak accident, a tractor coming from the opposite direction had the boom from its chemical sprayer open out and cleave me off the bike. The only luck I had was that it hit me clean and square across the forearm, shoulder and helmet. The boom opened out and down so fractions of seconds earlier and I would have had the full force of it to the head. It was a life changing/ affirming moment. The Guards said engineer said that if you re-enacted that accident, nine out of ten times I'd have have ended up dead. The bike was written off.
hairyprincess wrote: » I was attacked by a cow. Twice. Same psychotic cow both times. First time my life flashed before my eyes, I saw my kids as I was screaming for help after she hit me. Second time she had broke loose and came running up the road towards me, I jumped over a fence (to this day I don't know how I did as it was quite high and I'm quite short), I slipped on the wet grass and landed on my back. She came running to the fence as if she was in a Spanish bull run, butted it and fair play to Coillte but they know how to fence, the fence stayed put and away she ran up the road. Majorly traumatising. Particularly the first time as it was completely unexpected.
Sam Kade wrote: » I thought it was all over at 34, coming back from Ballybunnion to Cork I came round a bend at 60mph in an 89 car no ABS :eek: a cattle lorry straight in front of me at the wrong side of the road, I was actually standing on the brakes and everything went into slow motion. Anyway the fool in the lorry decided to turn left into a gateway which meant his rear bull bar came in contact with my car cutting through the wing and tyre at the drivers side. Anyway we all survived, happy days.