source wrote: » Re Capri's latest link, correct me if I'm wrong, but I thought Ford, Volvo, Volkswagen, Skoda and Audi and probably many more make police cars in house. I know all the above have special vehicle divisions who look after that.
carzony wrote: » Seen the st focus in Lucan tonight.. What a beast of a car. Very strange seeing 2 uniforme guards driving something with alloys and a spoiler.. Have a pic but it's not a good one..
Rawhead wrote: » Are the 530's unrestricted for police spec models?
foreign wrote: » Lads usually not in uniform, some have the standard vests though.
kub wrote: » Someone orders a car that does not look much like a standard unmarked Garda car. The uniformed Gardai are in it. What is the point? Don't Traffic Gardai have ID wallets like detectives?
CharlieCroker wrote: » All Gardai have ID wallets, regardless of rank or position.
kub wrote: » I know but my point being, what is the point in having such a decent unmarked and not obvious Garda vehicle and having lads within with uniforms on, word gets around as we know.
foreign wrote: » The gougers already know the cars if if they don't they are thick. And even plain clothes Gardaí wear stab vests or ballistic vests and they are navy and say Garda on them. Easy to pass an unmarked, see the vests and think uniform members.
[Deleted User] wrote: » That BMW posted looks to be the demonstrator one. Roof markings say BMW and the bonnet has the Met Police style ANPR Interceptor markings.
Capri wrote: » Whatever about the front strobes , there is definitely a need for better side/rear ones. It's grand saying 'do they not hear the siren?' but with the exception of the factory built Insignias (Focus ST's?) the rear strobes are pretty pathetic on most of the rear lens add ons for some reason Is there a marked i30 in the driving school ? Seen one with different higher light bar and multiple strobes going around , the Mondeo I knew by the markings but the i30 is more subtle in it's differences
Sgt. Bilko 09 wrote: » I have out up two videos in the other thread of two driving school cars one of which maybe the Hyundai your talking about
foreign wrote: » They have i40 estates.
POGAN wrote: » Ford Mondeo are been redeployed to stations now from the college
Sgt. Bilko 09 wrote: » One of the Mondeos already has over 300k limited to it. Strange they'd put that in a station but I suppose desperate times in all that
POGAN wrote: » There was two up with primo in sept got all cleaned up.
Sgt. Bilko 09 wrote: » I'd leave them like that they look well
carzony wrote: » http://www.herald.ie/news/gardai-to-get-191-new-vehicles-to-blitz-crime-gangs-35267986.html
POGAN wrote: » Reannouncment from January or new funding I wondering If new more vans, BMWs and possible mondeos
Sgt. Bilko 09 wrote: » More BMW cars and bikes for RPU and Traffic I think ASU and ERU are also included. Fiat Ducato and transits and more Hyundai i40 patrol cars for regular units. They are trying to get rid of the fiesta's and focus's that are still in stations. I personally this they should go for Audis and the new Volvo. (In pic thread). You are on the money it is the same publication from January but they making it out to be savings. I don't how management have savings in the bank when the gards are now on a higher wage and more overtime. But it a nice announcement needs to have a political spin to it.
POGAN wrote: » Volvo will never ever happen again unless they come back down on price No more fiats vans all transits is the way they will go. Eru will get fleet but think RSU is covered with new BMWs But I won't hold my breathe on this though