John_Rambo wrote: » I work in advertising. It's all below and above the line, digital and traditional. Two of the advertisers I work with are the most popular motoring brands in Ireland. The push for PCP is very focused, they're targeting young social climbing men that are brand and year-reg obsessed diesel drivers whom are gearing for a new car to show off to contemporaries and family. And it's working very very well. Making normally unaffordable purchases all of a sudden affordable along with the typical Irish hankering for the newest 162/171 latest reg to impress the neighbours is the new black. ..... You're not. It's absurd to think that you're getting a deal.
GerryDerpy wrote: » Does the houses value drop to 1,000 after 10 years?
RayCun wrote: » 5000 deposit and 2500 a year is a high price to pay for a warranty.
GerryDerpy wrote: » Do you really believe that your chosen method represents value over buying a €7k used car outright? No offence but it is a Seat for used S-Class money. The reality is that your judgement is likely clouded by that episode of being stranded on the side of the road.
goz83 wrote: » Looking at an always on EML, or being paranoid of every sound coming the car is a serious annoyance. I'd quite happily pay 2.5k per year to avoid that. With older cars, you just never know when the next repair bill is going to cost you over a grand and have you off the road for a week, or two. There's a lot to be said for the quality of an older, luxury car, so you'll have no argument on that. My 13 year old e200 has more comfort and spec than many brand new plates driving around and it cost me about 2k circa 2 years ago. BUT....the maintenance and repairs cost Mercedes prices. Also not everyone cares about luxury brands. It's a cost per month game with as little hassle as possible for many. The pros and cons are put side by side and a decision is made (hopefully). Some though...yes, it's just about a new plate.
mickeyk wrote: » I do roughly 30k kilometres a year but if I was doing half of that I'd be tempted by pcp. .
mickdw wrote: » Did anyone see the adverts from mercedes saying they have cut prices by 10 percent across the range for 2017? What is that about? Seems like a mistake in terms of sales approach. If they offered zero percent interest against the higher retail price, it would look very attractive, would allow them to retain Original gfv figure and perhaps prevent used prices dropping to reflect cheaper new price. A different approach would have made considerable difference to the monthly rates and in my opinion mercedes need to move alittle here to compete with audi and bmw. They don't seem to want to push mercedes to the ordinary man though and no doubt the mercedes deal is likely a more realistic deal in terms of deposit going forward compared to deals from bmw but still they could push more for sales.
goz83 wrote: » Yeah I only do about 10k a year, so pcp is what I am thinking. Will hang onto the merc for now and see what deal are out in 2017. I would also plan to buy at the end of the 3 years. No intention of forever finance. I think offering lower finance deals would have just been lost with the rest of them. Cutting 10% off prices has got peoples attention, so a bold move. Still too expensive though for a new merc.
bazz26 wrote: » The cynic in me wonders is that 10% reduction clawed back in the straight deal discount or trade-in value.
mickdw wrote: » Did anyone see the adverts from mercedes saying they have cut prices by 10 percent across the range for 2017? What is that about? ......
Augeo wrote: » Ordinarily what could one expect to haggle off an new Merc do you think?
mickeyk wrote: » I'd agree with you here. Pcp doesn't suit me because of my mileage. My current car I bought for cash 5 years old with clutch and dmf just done. I intend to keep it for 3-4 years and go again. The engine management light is now coming on intermittently due to an egr fault so it's booked on Monday to look at this which is a total pain as it involves a morning off work and a couple of hundred quid probably. The upside of this method of ownership is no monthly payments, but I am saving for my next car already anyway. I do roughly 30k kilometres a year but if I was doing half of that I'd be tempted by pcp. The repayments are easily affordable for me and it should mean minimal maintenance and time off the road with silly stuff like the above. I'm fairly thrifty and would have to do the sums but I can see the initial appeal. €2.5k a year for that kind of peace of mind is nothing IMO, and it's also really nice to have a new car that nobody else has abused. If the second hand values crash as some expect then it wouldn't be the end of the world paying the balloon payment at the end. Pcp has its place I think, but its definitely not for everybody.
rustynutz wrote: » I paid 5000 deposit, monthly repayments of 216 with final payment of 7000. At the end of the 3 years I have been offered 12000 trade in value for the car, this means I have a deposit of 5000 in order to buy a new car again so my monthly repayments should be the same as I'm paying now, or I can pay the 7k with a credit union or other loan and own the car. I will probably change as I want to keep a car within warranty, maybe a kia or something with a longer warranty next time so I have the option of keeping it longer. I accept it doesn't suit everyone but to me PCP was a no brained and was by far the cheapest route to hassle free motoring.
Eric Cartman wrote: » +1 , I think id rather get stranded roadside once or twice for an hour and not have any payments owed on a luxobarge than fly around in a new econobox with a higher number on a plastic plateIf you have the 30+ k to buy a new car outright or dont mind a traditional loan then fair play. If you have 7-10k saved theres a lot of good cars to be had that will 99 times out of 100 get you from a to b without issue
rustynutz wrote: » So I buy a 7k car outright, if I want to replace this in 3 or 4 years time then I will need to be save at least 2k a year in that time. Then there is the yearly nct, high tax, insurance and servicing costs of the 7k car and if you are looking at an s class or similar any problem is not going to be cheap. The only money I've spent on the seat is 2 tyres in the 3 years as servicing was free. The main attraction to PCP for me is certainty, I know that the car is going to cost me 216 a month or roughly 50 a week, no nasty surprises or phone calls from the missus to say she is stranded somewhere when I am working in the other side of the country. On the new seat versus used Merc comment I'm not going to kid myself that I can afford a Merc when i cant by driving around in a 10 year old one! If I want to walk away from PCP after the 3 years of ownership I simply sell the car privately, lets assume ill get at least the 12k I was offered on trade in, pay back the final payment of 7k so I have my 5k deposit back meaning my motor cost me 2.5k a year for the 3 years, I can live with that
Lantus wrote: » You won't get a 5k deposit back as equity! You would get something but that's not realistic.
Paisley Rapid Newscast wrote: » The poster has already said a dealer has offered him 12k to trade in which gives him his 5k deposit back.
Lantus wrote: » Looks like there has been a future estimation made which is fine but not actual evidence of a deal. I was offered 4k equity on a leaf day 1 which I didn't buy. Those cars have near zero equity today. You might achieve a better deal for super low mileage and perfect condition. It's just too good to be true though. Customers doing that well? Assumes no increase in future car values and zero risk to customer.
Paisley Rapid Newscast wrote: » I'm reading it that his 3 years is almost up and he has got a trade in price of 12k from a dealer but maybe I'm wrong. Not directing this at the poster I'm quoting more a general comment but I get the impression from some posters that they don't want pcp to work out as planned for people. A hit of begrudgery maybe at those buying new cars.
jimmy blevins wrote: » Honestly I'd love to see PCP go bang and more besides, the "motor industry" here is an absolute shower of gangsters. I currently drive a car that's near twenty years old which despite having to pass yearly nct's is near uninsurable never mend the ridiculous taxation system I feel like drivers are being railroaded into unnecessarily buying newer and newer cars.
rustynutz wrote: » Its simple mathematics - final balloon payment = 7000. Value of car = 12000 (I've already been offers this amount in trade in off another dealer) 12000 - 7000 owed = 5000 for me to do as I please. I have bought everything from 12 year old cars to 3 year old cars, and everything inbetween in my 20 years of motoring and I can promise you PCP hasn't been the dearest option. It was different 10 years ago, if you owned a ten year old car chances were you would have relatively trouble free motoring for many years if you chose the car carefully. This is not the case now, as cars have gotten more advanced reliability has gone way down, particularly as cars age, everything has a sensor attached to it, some a couple of hundred euro each, then you have turbos, injectors, particulate filters, dual mass flywheels to name a few, each can have 1000 euro plus price tags and each considered a service item by car manufacturers. Then throw in yearly nct and astronomical tax if its pre 2008, along with insurance companies not wanting to insure older cars, and charging a premium if they will, The bills start adding up.
frozenfrozen wrote: » If the PCP bubble pops, hopefully it's while we still have free trade with the UK because otherwise it'll all be coming from Japan at great expense. We will end up spending a lot of money bringing in suitable cars, rather than buying cars domestically. This will lead to even more depreciation for the owners of the PCP cars.. Just rambling here. And by PCP cars I basically just mean cheap and cheerful small displacement turbo diesels with a very low life expectancy. If you're getting something really nice on PCP then that's good for you and I have no issue with that. I just think the money being put into PCP for cheap cars would be much better spent maintaining the status quo of 'somebody buys expensive car, then sells it on for a good value, who then sells it for good value, who then gets a great car for 3000 euro for going in and out to the shops' That sounds a lot better than everyone paying massive depreciation and everyone's cars are worthless.
Lantus wrote: » It's a slight contraction to say do as you please. I would say your getting a good price by the dealer to jump brands or dealership. Fair play if it all works out. The deposit goes into another car though, not your pocket. Hope I'll be in as good position!