dastardly00 wrote: » In what way was he a 'clown'?
Deedsie wrote: » lawred2 wrote: » Why though? It's their podcast. They aren't a state broadcaster. They can take whatever angle they like. I didn't listen to the extract as I fast forward through such segments. They are journalists, providing analysis to the public.. There is an expectation of well researched, balanced media coverage. If you didn't even listen to Dave Hannigans MMA segment? Why would you defend it?
lawred2 wrote: » Why though? It's their podcast. They aren't a state broadcaster. They can take whatever angle they like. I didn't listen to the extract as I fast forward through such segments.
Deedsie wrote: » Ethics, professionalism, fairness, objectivity, principles, integrity... Those are some of the qualities I look for in my media consumption. With most topics they are very fair, with their attitude to this they are forcing a populist "collegiate" opinion without offering an alternative viewpoint.
Trimm Trabb wrote: » Anyone know where Mark got that piece of audio where Dunphy is describing Ken as a 'cogent writer - but WRONG'? Thought yesterdays episodes were particularly funny.
Trent Houseboat wrote: » I think it might be Dunphy's podcast. I read recently that he was starting one of his own. Best of luck to him and all that, but I'd rather cram my ears with bees.
Brock Turnpike wrote: » People seeming to have a serious amount of sand in their vaginas in this thread. Everyone knew what the lads' opinion was in the US Election. If it bothered you that much, you shouldn't have listened to it. Not sure of the problem with the coverage of McGregor? I'm actually a fan of his (not in the scary Wonderfullife way) but I didn't mind the section on him at all. Hannigan is entitled to his opinion, and I find it baffling that people are being critical of the lads coverage of the fight by having Hannigan on. Ken and Mark were actually defending McGregor during the piece. If people can't take a step back and see why others would take the piss out of the hoolabaloo around McGregor and the UFC, then that's their problem. It's comical at times.
leggo wrote: » Hannigan is stealing a living. He was dead to me as a credible journo when he started talking about how "black players like Blake Griffin" (seriously, just Google him once before you talk about him in a professional capacity) were really upset with the LA Clippers race row years ago. His UFC 'analysis' was absolute trash. "It was a draw, which was baffling to me!" Nearly every person with knowledge of the sport at the time had a draw as the likely, or at least a possible, result for Wonderboy/Woodley in seconds on Twitter. He still doesn't understand basic fight scoring days after watching the event he's brought on to be an 'expert' on. I don't care about his hack attempt to wind people up about disliking MMA, but why am I listening to him instead of someone who at least understands the basics of the sport?! Why do Irish people consider him a 'journalist' or a source? He has a taxi driver level of qualification to talk about sport.
lawred2 wrote: » Did he claim to be an expert on MMA? What is all the sensitivity about?
Tsipras wrote: » Is it a real sport though? Ah no only joking it's good craic
Deedsie wrote: » It wasn't just Murph... They all participated in the self congratulation at their superiority.
Cartman78 wrote: » Lads, are ye all being held at gunpoint and forced to listen to the show or what??? There's always the fast forward and/or unsubscribe button if you genuinely don't like the content
Beersmith wrote: » This is a forum where we can surely discuss such things. Sometimes people express they love a segment, compliment an interview or say how funny ken was. We can also comment on what we didn't like about a particular segment. If you don't like the posts here surely you can just not read the thread.....
Hugh Mungus wrote: » Pointless post. Unsubscribe from the thread of you don't like the discussion. It's a thread to discuss second captains...good or bad.
Hugh Mungus wrote: » You're missing the point entirely.