Deleted User wrote: Was Richard Keys not caught saying he'd smash it, and some co commentator or pundit would be found hanging off the back of some woman?
Deleted User wrote: » It is interesting that you flatly refuse to accept that it exists here.
Across many other countries they are willing to examine the prevalence of rape culture. Such as in the UK...http://www.independent.co.uk/voices/comment/sites-like-uni-lad-only-act-to-support-our-everyday-rape-culture-8360109.html
We'll just have to disagree on your "nope, not in Ireland, doesn't exist here" take.
Deleted User wrote: I think there is a world of difference between saying a person, male or female, is attractive, and saying you'd leave them bleeding or split them or smash their flaps in. I think the latter is crude and vulgar, I don't think the former is crude or vulgar, not sure how you conflate the two.
py2006 wrote: » I no longer engage in one night stands for fear of being accused of rape (if SHE regrets it).
JupiterKid wrote: » No, we do not have a rape culture in Ireland. This person is just a complete misandrist. She probably thinks that all men are potential rapists. To suggest that there is a rape culture in Ireland is hugely insulting to the actual victims of rape.
py2006 wrote: » If things continue as they are, in a few years, men will be accused of all sorts for merely looking at a woman.
py2006 wrote: » I no longer engage in one night stands for fear of being accused of rape (if SHE regrets it). If things continue as they are, in a few years, men will be accused of all sorts for merely looking at a woman.
Deleted User wrote: » It is interesting that you flatly refuse to accept that it exists here. Across many other countries they are willing to examine the prevalence of rape culture. Such as in the UK...http://www.independent.co.uk/voices/comment/sites-like-uni-lad-only-act-to-support-our-everyday-rape-culture-8360109.html We'll just have to disagree on your "nope, not in Ireland, doesn't exist here" take.
Dr Jakub wrote: » Not getting your solicitor to draw up a watertight consent form. Brah, do you even 2016? I'm just home from the pub. How come I saw no rapes? I saw adult men and women getting drunk and hanging out. Saw some get rejected and saw some start shifting. Where's the rape culture? At one stage me and my friend were admiring a couple of girls. I guess we verbally raped them? What's with the anti-sex freaks who promote this rape culture hysteria?
Grayson wrote: » There's the conclusive truth. I guess nothing ever happens unless you see it.
timmy880 wrote: » If the aim was to get through to young men and have them at least think about the discussion, then having the doc on a Champions League night was really awful scheduling by RTE.... What were they thinking?
Shemale wrote: » Talk is talk and rape culture is rape culture, it doesn't exist in Ireland.
ligerdub wrote: » "I'd smash her backdoors in" might well be crude or vulgar but it has nothing to do with rape.
JupiterKid wrote: » To suggest that there is a rape culture in Ireland is hugely insulting to the actual victims of rape.
Dr Jakub wrote: » Rapes happen. Normal men don't accept collective guilt for the actions of a few scumbags.
Wibbs wrote: I’m obviously not the only person who cringes when they see impressive women with degrees in biochemistry or medieval history or international languages, being reduced to a ‘grand girl, altogether’.
Poor Uncle Tom wrote: Hehehehe....
Deleted User wrote: It is remarkable, and a little depressing, to see how many limit rape culture to the specific act of rape and simply refuse to accept that it is the language of normalisation of rape, of sex and violence, of objectification and degradation.
Dick phelan wrote: » Saying a rape culture can exist without rape is honestly one of the dumbest things i'v ever read on boards,
Deleted User wrote: » It is remarkable, and a little depressing, to see how many limit rape culture to the specific act of rape and simply refuse to accept that it is the language of normalisation of rape, of sex and violence, of objectification and degradation.
The victims of rape I know would be upset by some crude frat boy type jokes involving sex and violence, upset by being cornered by some fellow pawing them, upset by references to the objectification of women.
listermint wrote: I wonder what next big term people with little time on their hands and one of the safest countries on the earth to live in will latch onto.
PoorAuldDivil wrote: » A cousin of mine (a very quiet, passive young man) was the subject of a rape complaint. His ex-girlfriend (who he had broken up with the week before) was found roughed up in a local park, went to Guards and said that he had beat her and raped her. He was naturally brought in for questioning, and found himself absolutely baffled at what he was accused of. Luckily, the Gardai saw through the story easily and she quickly confessed.........fell on the way home from a night out, rang her friends, thought she'd get one over on him. Nothing ever happened to her for this, and his name was dragged through the mud. This happened in a town in Munster in 2014. The fact that O'Neill and her type would have seen my cousin thrown in Cork Gaol at the unquestioned word of a woman leaves me extremely weary of anything these 'feminists' pontificate.
SB_Part2 wrote: » People who don't think there's a rape culture in Ireland are completely deluded.
Poor Uncle Tom wrote: » Talk about the dumbing down of a word which used to represent one of the most violent assaults on a person.
Deleted User wrote: » I have already, men using graphic and violent language to describe what they would do, men not being able to take no, men sending dick pics to women I know with no invitation, that to me is rape culture. It is using the violence and degradation that underpins rape in more commonplace situations, in conversation, in texts, in the pub etc. It's like the Sky commentators looking at the female ref and saying they'd smash it, it's degrading and insulting. That's rape culture.
listermint wrote: » This thread is serious lols. I wonder what next big term people with little time on their hands and one of the safest countries on the earth to live in will latch onto. These people haven't a clue about true hardship pain or suffering. Twitter gives them a voice. Their brains are there shame. I'm waiting for the next new term to come about with earnest.
eviltwin wrote: » It's normal now for teens, young teens, to send nude photos of themselves to others and if that ends up being shown around they shrug their shoulders. They either don't see it as a violation or feel they can't speak out about it. The ones doing the sharing don't even see an issue with it.
my concern as someone dealing with the fall out and as a parent is that it's now no longer private and that is something we have got to talk about.
Wibbs wrote: » Then there was the UCD male students hysteria. Rape culture again. With the subject of the thread blurting out deep screams at the sheer pain of it all. Except it never happened. It was the near definition of hysterics. Oh and no retraction about it either. Indeed some idiots suggested that there was no smoke without fire y'know. Oh yes. Rapists everywhere. One would almost come to the conclusion that these types want rape culture to exist and are crestfallen when it's shown not to.