JRant wrote: » Or he could be the victim of emotional and financial abuse. He admits he gave up work and has no financial input. That can be a scary place to be if you're completely dependent on a spouse. Then when her ladyship rocks in and tells him she kissed another dude and wants extra wavin on the side he might feel like he has no option but to go along with it. Either way it's a sad existence for anyone to have to live through. Your wan in the article comes across as a right piece of work.
py2006 wrote: » Lost for words, check it out Poor pandering guy is being taken for a fool
Eric Cartman wrote: » Didn't think about it like that. If you wrote an article "my husband came home one day and told me, a poor housewife, completely dependent on him, that he wanted to go off with other women while I sit in and watch the kids, Im ok with it….I suppose..." I can imagine it would cause a fair bit of outrage
Calhoun wrote: » Of course it is a sad existence I dont mean to be insensitive to the guy in the article its just this type or article i see as trying to normalize crap like this as if its ok.
py2006 wrote: » Lost for words, check it out As I write this, my children are asleep in their room, Loretta Lynn is on the stereo, and my wife is out on a date with a man named Paulo. It s her second date this week; her fourth this month so far. If it goes like the others, she ll come home in the middle of the night, crawl into bed beside me, and tell me all about how she and Paulo had sex. I won t explode with anger or seethe with resentment. I ll tell her it s a hot story and I m glad she had fun. It s hot because she s excited, and I m glad because I m a feminist. When my wife told me she wanted to open our marriage and take other lovers, she wasn t rejecting me, she was embracing herself. When I understood that, I finally became a feminist. Poor pandering guy is being taken for a fool
As I write this, my children are asleep in their room, Loretta Lynn is on the stereo, and my wife is out on a date with a man named Paulo. It s her second date this week; her fourth this month so far. If it goes like the others, she ll come home in the middle of the night, crawl into bed beside me, and tell me all about how she and Paulo had sex. I won t explode with anger or seethe with resentment. I ll tell her it s a hot story and I m glad she had fun. It s hot because she s excited, and I m glad because I m a feminist.
When my wife told me she wanted to open our marriage and take other lovers, she wasn t rejecting me, she was embracing herself. When I understood that, I finally became a feminist.
mzungu wrote: » Then again, if that guy is happy then so be it.
dogcat wrote: » I know I'm in the minority but as long as the woman wouldn't mind it when the man did it, I would have no issue with it.
gizmo555 wrote: » Different strokes, etc. But when he says "I'm glad because I'm a feminist" he just sounds delusional. What has this to do with feminism?
Darren Incalculable AcrossL wrote: » I agree, if they both want an open relationship and are taking advantage of the fact then fair enough. However it's dressing up all this as feminism that grates. I can't view the link here but is he meeting other people or just her?
It does work both ways and, yes, I too enjoy sexual carte blanche. I just don’t use mine as much as my wife uses hers. What’s important is equality of opportunity, not outcome.How does it feel? It feels great ... mostly.
Iseedeadpixels wrote: » Same here, I wouldn't be into any form of a open relationship but my friend is and both her and the hubby can do as they please.
Outlaw Pete wrote: » It seems to be that more and more men are becoming like that guy. He is very much just one of the few vocal ones but I have without question heard other men saying quite similar things. To say they put women on a pedestal would be a massive understatement.
I get the impression they have nothing but disdain for their own sex, maybe even are disgusted by it at some level.
On one hand I feel sorry for guys like that but on the other, I despise them.
Darren Incalculable AcrossL wrote: » I can't view the link here but is he meeting other people or just her?
py2006 wrote: » Notice he doesn't have any notions of being with other women himself.
kunst nugget wrote: » I think it's the 'I'm happy with it because I'm a a feminist' justification for being a complete doormat that is the worst part of it all. He's essentially in an emotionally abusive relationship where he is being completely emasculated and he's trying to convince the world he's cool with it because he's a modern man.
DEFTLEFTHAND wrote: » He has to be one of the saddest bastards I've ever read about. He actually turns my stomach. He's the lion in the pride who is not allowed to mate, lest he spread his weakness to the next generation.
Calhoun wrote: » Id say he would want to have a paternity test as from the sounds of it they might not be his kids.
iptba wrote: » Though in many countries the law says the husband has the responsibilities of being a father whatever a paternity test shows (as far as I know).
iptba wrote: » I should have added that it is useful to know the paternity of one's supposed children, whatever one's legal responsibilities.
Eric Cartman wrote: » The amount of comments saying "ahh shes not here to defend herself" , there have been many cases of lads being cleared of rape charges and still being tarred with the brush for life , abd if you even dared say "sure lets get the wife beaters side of the story first" you'd be jumped on. Its sick really.
Elliott S wrote: » Unless of course, there is a huge volume of compelling evidence, like with Savile. We only have one side of the story re: Aherne and there can be no opposing side given. Jimmy Savile is NOT a reason to now disregard innocent until proven guilty. That is an exceptional case - there is just so much compelling testimony against him from so many people. It's is very different to two people in a marriage.
Maguined wrote: » I read a reddit thread the other week about a married couple in the states. They were in an open marriage and each had multiple partners however the husband started the thread as he was unsure how to deal with his current situation. When he came back from a work trip his wife confessed she was pregnant and it was probably from one of her boyfriends as they had sex without protection while the husband was away on his work trip. The husband was upset as though they agreed to an open relationship they both agreed to the condition of using protection. They had only recently started to talk about having children and they had already said they would only want children conceived from them both so now this has thrown the spanner into the works. The husband is upset and has told her he would not want to raise another mans child but he will not actually say he wants an abortion and the wife is saying she is unsure if she wants to carry the child or have an abortion so wants to know what the husband wants to do. It was a very depressing thread to read because despite the fact the husband does not want the child he refuses to admit that to his wife as he doesn't want to be controlling and feels it is her decision while she feels the same and both basically do not want to make an actual decision so it is easier to try and leave the responsibility to the other. Many posters to the thread had brought up the fact that depending upon what state he was living in even if they had a paternity test performed he would still be responsible for the child if the child is born into a marriage so if he did not want to raise the child if she chose to keep it he would have to initiate separation before birth so he would not be responsible to support the child that is not his. He had not reached any decision the last time I read it so I really need to dive back in and see what the outcome was.https://m.reddit.com/r/relationships/comments/53ga1b/me_31m_with_my_wife_32f_poly_couple_we_were/?limit=500&utm_source=mweb_redirect&compact=true