BANGERNOMICS (sub2k) of the week/day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,103 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Love it unkel, especially the Porsche decal á la 924/944 :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 731 ✭✭✭chillin117

Some Hen Houses here, All under 300 euro !
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/175743526131251/?fref=nf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,730 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Unkle, can I be a fecker and ask what's under the ehh.. Centre bonnet part?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

CianRyan wrote: »

And to be even cheekier, how much it cost!

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-prius-taxed-nct-d/13487390

ZjcwNjE1YTkyZmMwNzM5MTA1OTEwZWU1MjQ5YmYzZjZk0sHPX4veWYXaPegw3-3MaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b182MjQwOTg5OXx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

May be the first one we've had on here. Many miles, but NCT'd to 3/17 and taxed to the end of the month. €1950

Looks very tidy given the mileage, I would.

I'd say it'd do the same again without too much effort.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Giacomo McGubbin

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-prius-taxed-nct-d/13487390

ZjcwNjE1YTkyZmMwNzM5MTA1OTEwZWU1MjQ5YmYzZjZk0sHPX4veWYXaPegw3-3MaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b182MjQwOTg5OXx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

May be the first one we've had on here. Many miles, but NCT'd to 3/17 and taxed to the end of the month. €1950

How long do the batteries last on these yokes and what's the best way to check them properly ? Anything else to look out for on them ?what mpg will they do in the real world ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,511 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

chillin117 wrote: »
    Some Hen Houses here, All under 300 euro !
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/175743526131251/?fref=nf

Some fair amount of sh1te there. Some class A idiots as well.

When I posted this 15mins ago, it was €999, is the seller watching :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,206 ✭✭✭✭unkel

CianRyan wrote: »

The engine? It's a first gen, so 2.5 (204BHP). The only engine that seems to be almost immune to the dreaded IMS issue that can wreck the engine. The Boxster S is a better car, has almost 50 more horsies, but is a much riskier buy and you pay €1,808 tax instead of €1,080.

Car is in excellent condition mechanically and cosmetically, 90k miles, maintained the last 5 year by a highly respected Porsche independent specialist.

As for price, Toyotafanboi, you'll get an idea when you check donedeal, take into account there are a good few for sale for quite some time with not many people buying, winter is coming and of course my superior negotiation skills :p

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

You must be restless are you? That's 3 bangernomics cars in very quick succession isn't it?

Fair play either way, cool car for small money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Top job Unkel. I have to say I don;t often agree with your opinion about cars but no matter what way you look at it that's a real winner you got yourself :D

Best of luck with it, hopefully you like it and stick with it longer then the last few cars. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,206 ✭✭✭✭unkel

This one is a keeper lads :)

The others were never meant to be long term, most were flippers. Right cars at the right time at the right price. With tax. Drove them for a few months until the tax ran out, fixed a few things, then sold them on for a modest profit. Except the Audi TT. I meant to keep that, but it turned out the car just wasn't me...

I'll be putting up the dark green metallic 318Ci Sport up for sale soon. Bit of a reluctant sale as it is a very, very good car and only worth little money. Classic insurance is already paid for (and won't get much back if I cancel), car is taxed until the end of next month and it has a long NCT. So it would cost me zero to hang on to it for a while. But what's the point of that when I already have two cars.

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/nissan-primera-sri-twin-cam-16v-nct-01-17/11880762

ZDAxOGM5OTAxZWIzNTkyZTNkYmQwNzEzZDlhNzBkZGIiNNvbEZAeAO16Gz10QUo-aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b182MjIyNDE1Nnx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

Short enough NCT until 1/17 and its not exactly a bargain; but something about this is really appealing. Definitely a future classic. Primera SRI €1350

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

Duke that Primera is really cool.. Classic fast 90's car.

I have to say that 3.0 V6 Vectra is really appealing to me.. I'd love to go view it :D

166man wrote: »
    Duke that Primera is really cool.. Classic fast 90's car.

I have to say that 3.0 V6 Vectra is really appealing to me.. I'd love to go view it :D

That Vectra is a class car for the money I think. Pics are definitely taken at UL so perhaps the seller is a cash strapped student open to a fierce low offer :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

That Vectra is a class car for the money I think. Pics are definitely taken at UL so perhaps the seller is a cash strapped student open to a fierce low offer :D

Do you think that if you bought on a wet day as you approached the red cow roundabout you would torque steer all the way to Wexford? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,539 ✭✭✭jca

More likely a cash strapped lecturer...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭gfwd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Audi A2 with the 1.4 TDi engine. They are genuinely one of the cheapest cars to run that you can buy. Comfortable too, so would suit someone doing longer distances.

€1800 gets you an NCT to 04/17

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/audi-a2-1-4tdi-new-nct/13462617

NmMxYWFmMjA0ODhiOTkzNzI0Yjk2NGM3MDk0Y2YwOGR7a7yymdT9EU1alOdk9T0GaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b182MjI2MTAxN3x8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

or €2250 for this lower mileage one, NCT 08/17

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/audi-a2-1-4tdi-nct-aug-2017-88k-miles/13148049

NjNjY2FkNTU0ZjY2NzRhY2U2ZDAzYzNjZTFhZjU3MzaUwbi75ECnyTk4iWCmcPouaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b182MDU3ODg3MHx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,431 ✭✭✭Soarer

That NCT says it's only covered 113k miles. Barely run in at that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 731 ✭✭✭chillin117

Red Kev wrote: »
    Audi A2 with the 1.4 TDi engine. They are genuinely one of the cheapest cars to run that you can buy. Comfortable too, so would suit someone doing longer distances.

€1800 gets you an NCT to 04/17

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/audi-a2-1-4tdi-new-nct/13462617

NmMxYWFmMjA0ODhiOTkzNzI0Yjk2NGM3MDk0Y2YwOGR7a7yymdT9EU1alOdk9T0GaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b182MjI2MTAxN3x8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

or €2250 for this lower mileage one, NCT 08/17

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/audi-a2-1-4tdi-nct-aug-2017-88k-miles/13148049

NjNjY2FkNTU0ZjY2NzRhY2U2ZDAzYzNjZTFhZjU3MzaUwbi75ECnyTk4iWCmcPouaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b182MDU3ODg3MHx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg
    Was looking for a cheap diesel, The Audi never entered my head, Thanks !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭TigerTim

Do those A2's have a DPF. Missus is looking to update her fairly shook '99 bulletproof Renault Scenic. She does only town driving so has no need of a diesel but at that price if there wasn't a DPF to worry about, it could be an option.

Thanks,

T.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,311 ✭✭✭✭alastair

TigerTim wrote: »
    Do those A2's have a DPF. Missus is looking to update her fairly shook '99 bulletproof Renault Scenic. She does only town driving so has no need of a diesel but at that price if there wasn't a DPF to worry about, it could be an option.

Thanks,

T.

They don't.
    I've been driving one for the past few years. Great all rounder. Frugal. Has caused me no grief. Only weak aspect is the suspension, which benefits from upgrading.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-carina-e-1-6-l-petrol-/13496713

NTM0YjBkZDU0ZmY3NzM3MzA0NWZhZWE2ZWQ2YjdjMzArfMPHJGkRZfPQc2Pq0ibRaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b182MjQ1ODczOHx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

Carina 1.6 with NCT to 2/17 €350. Could depend on this more than some human beings

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

gfwd wrote: »

I'm not sure why either ;);) I think they are a right ugly pig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,860 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

You can rent those Ovlov's out as a studio apartment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,890 ✭✭✭grogi

How long do the batteries last on these yokes and what's the best way to check them properly ? Anything else to look out for on them ?what mpg will they do in the real world ?

Typically around 500kkm. Typically, again, batteries do get damaged because of the heat...

That having in mind, if the car starts and engages the ICE, the battery seems ok. Reset the consumption indicator and take it for a longer spin, you should average not more than 5.5-6.0l/100km.