FrKurtFahrt wrote: » I just received this also: The arrest was high profile. It was widely commented on in Ireland and abroad. Liveline had covered the wider issues at length - in particular with relevance to the lack of tickets made available to the athlete's families. This was the first interview with a representative of the Brazilian system. It is entirely appropriate that he was questioned on what had happened in Rio de Janeiro. Joe Duffy quotes Irish politicians, including the leader of the Labour Party, who have said this is not the way we do things. He asks the Commissioner if he understands that? In asking that and other questions he was not making a value judgement on the Brazilain legal system. He does not ask why Mr Hickey was not allowed out on bail - he asks about the Brazilian system and whether the police would oppose bail.The Commissioner said he wasn't happy that the media were there when Mr Hickey was arrested. Joe Duffy's ad-lib reference to the Commissioner carrying a gun, referred to the Commissioner as the source of authority in the room. He could have asked the reporters to leave.
Atlantic Dawn wrote: » Wonder what tha BAI would think of those RTÉ reponses to the complaints?
A Tyrant Named Miltiades! wrote: » They're very unsatisfactory responses in my opinion. YES, THEY ARE, BUT THAT'S PAR FOR THE COURSE WITH RTE AND HOW THEY HANDLE COMPLAINTS AGAINST ONE OF THEIR OWN. They failed to engage with the questions altogether. THEY ALWAYS DO. ON MY LAST COMPLAINT I WROTE BACK TO THEIR REPLY MENTIONING THEY FAILED TO ADDRESS ANY OF THE POINTS I MADE OR THE QUESTIONS I ASKED. I HAVE NOT RECEIVED A REPLY TO THAT (SURPRISE! SURPRISE!) I don't care enough about this to make a complaint to the BAI I REALLY WISH MORE PEOPLE WOULD AND SHOW JOE UP FOR THE UNPROFESSIONAL BULLY THAT HE IS AS COMPLAINTS CLEARLY FALL ON DEAF EARS IN RTE, plus I don't really want my name showing up on a Google search disclosing to future employers that I am a Liveline listener :eek::eek::eek: But if that wasn't a consideration, I'd probably complain. Not even because this issue affects me -- it doesn't -- just for the lack of honest engagement with genuine criticism or even a tacit acceptance that it could have been handled more professionally.THE ATTITUDE APPEARS TO BE "NOTHING TO SEE HERE, MOVE ALONG. YOU'RE MISTAKEN, JOE IS RIGHT AND YOU'RE WRONG"
HeidiHeidi wrote: » Ah, here..... Do they take us all for complete fools? YES I hope whoever had to write that is paid handsomely, and had their fingers crossed behind their back while doing it.....IT'S RTE, OF COURSE THEY'RE PAID HANDSOMELY
ButtersSuki wrote: » THE ATTITUDE APPEARS TO BE "NOTHING TO SEE HERE, MOVE ALONG. YOU'RE MISTAKEN, JOE IS RIGHT AND YOU'RE WRONG"
A Tyrant Named Miltiades! wrote: » I might ring Liveline tomorrow and tell Joe I'm very cast down by the reply so to speak
snubbleste wrote: » Councillor Seamus Traynor v. Joe Duffy, Lahvline, 23 September 2016https://clyp.it/1rhytp2r
A Tyrant Named Miltiades! wrote: » Just listening back to the clip courtesy of snubbleste. My favourite part is when Joe realises he's lost the head, and says "I'll calm down if you calm down", even though the Councillor (whom I think is a loon anyway) hasn't even been able to get a word in.
foggy_lad wrote: » That was cos the lawyers telling Joe they'd feed him his own bollix if he didn't cut to a break immediately! It just shows that this inflated overpaid prick doesn't even listen to the poeple who ring the show! All he heard from the councillor was that the Nigerian woman had a canary in the Newry hospital.
RustyNut wrote: » Ah lads I missed the show today. Is it worth downloading for work tomorrow?
A Tyrant Named Miltiades! wrote: » The strangest part is the assertion that Joe's question, why didn't the Commissioner just use his gun to disperse the journalists, actually had nothing to do with a gun... wtf? RTÉ claims it was a reference to the Commissioner's authority, and presumably therefore a metaphor? I'm sure Joe and RTÉ are well aware that it was a bungled interview. There are some serious mental gymnastics required to assert that reference to pointing a firearm at someone actually has nothing to do with a firearm. I might ring Liveline tomorrow and tell Joe I'm very cast down by the reply so to speak
HeidiHeidi wrote: » Nooooooo! This could be GOOD! :D
BPKS wrote: » Just after checking the rest of the thread. A bad decision by me, feckin hell.
bottlebrush wrote: » Would have been gas when he broke into the ad break if they'd played the Tommy McCanary ad....to top it all off
Red Kev wrote: » There's no stipulations as to how long an Irish Whiskey has to be in a cask you twit.
Atlantic Dawn wrote: » Could you take the box out and attach it to the car of the local old lady who drives at around 20kph daily?
sligojoek wrote: » Tht could get him into bigger trouble.
honeybear wrote: » Heard last 20 minutes of show - Joe really lost it. It's pretty impressive how many posts on Boards his show gets when HE is presenting. Although his wages are ridiculous, it's obvious that the show is well listened to
foggy_lad wrote: » shameful stuff there from the Huffy Duffy clown.