Mooooo wrote: » I'd say the point being made was as a country if we go gm free it would have its advantages in it being what some consumers want. My skepticism is its the end sellers will get the markup and we'll be left told the same cap. Bord bias grass and rain ****e is doing fcuk all for us
GrasstoMilk wrote: » I completely disagree re: GM Do you really think a drop in Irish production of grain is going to do anything for world supply? It's Australia, russia, france and America that are the big players and the ones causing it. Ireland uses most of the grain it produces. GM offers the solution IMO. A lot less costs to growing crops and a lot more yield. It's the future.
blackdog1 wrote: » I strongly disagree. In fact I think we are seriously affecting our market. We have a huge population of coeliacs( people who have trouble digesting wheat)in this country and the world. It's getting bigger every year and for some reason the older wheat varieties like spelt don't seem to upset them half as much. Were going for bigger yields but these wheats are not as digestible as the older variety. It's going to be a huge problem down the road.
freedominacup wrote: » I'm not talking about grain I'm talking about across the board, nationally, no usage of gm products and no growing gm species in any area of Irish food production. I don't want to feed the world, I just want to make some money. We've had endless examples of areas of the globe where they're only starting to get going producing food in a serious way and we can't compete. We need to stop trying and capitalise on the things we can do. Island nation, extensive traceability systems, reasonably well educated primary producers, no gm so far, cool temperate climate allowing a long grazing season. We're fcuked if we think that competing with real low cost production globally is our best option.
wats the craic wrote: » scanned the cows today all 48 cows that were served are incalf . not a mad mornings work if i do say so . the 12 heifers will be scanned when i take them home from out farm .
GrasstoMilk wrote: » GM offers the solution IMO. A lot less costs to growing crops and a lot more yield. It's the future.
trixi2011 wrote: » When do most people scan there main milking herd ? Scanned one herd today and had great results but don't think scanning once in sept is give an accurate enough 6 week . What does every one do .
Icelandicseige wrote: » What paddock size should a herd of 60 cows have ?
Mooooo wrote: » What dmi can cows graze? I see grasstomilk has 18kg overall intake which suits his herd but I'd be feeding more than that. Would 16kg be a good average for the year or would a cow, hol, get in 18kg grazed do ye reckon? Obviously weather and all comes in to it. Winter diet will be mad up to 22 kgdm here. Two different forages help intake no doubt
jaymla627 wrote: » Mooooo wrote: » What dmi can cows graze? I see grasstomilk has 18kg overall intake which suits his herd but I'd be feeding more than that. Would 16kg be a good average for the year or would a cow, hol, get in 18kg grazed do ye reckon? Obviously weather and all comes in to it. Winter diet will be mad up to 22 kgdm here. Two different forages help intake no doubt 24-27 would be what the intensive indoor units would be feeding, have been on farms where 16kgs dm through concentrates was going in, with maize/silage etc on top.... 10% of the herd here would be on 6-9kgs of meal all year round but their the extreme ladies and to be honest they need every bit of it to support the litres their pumping out and get them back in calf
trixi2011 wrote: » Scanned also 30 days after ài but there's a huge difference in the results over 10% in the 6 week . Hearing all these great results of scanning just wondering are lads fooling themselves with scanning late ?? If I was to use scanning results from today my 6 week incalf would be 90%
Mooooo wrote: » Yes but in terms of grass they can physically graze in a 24 hour period. Is it unrealistic to expect consumption of 18kg of grazed grass
jaymla627 wrote: » I personally think from late April to late August provided the weather is reasonably good this is the only period you could expect a cow to get her 18kg dm grass.... 3kgs dm silage/3-6kgs nuts fty going in here at the minute and they need every bit of it, you just strip condition of cows this time if year if relying on grass alone and a kilo our two of meal
Keepgrowing wrote: » Don't understand your point. Scanned here yesterday Herd 1 Mature cows 94% incalf 80% due in first 42days 93 days breeding Herd 2 Heifers and any cow with a problem calving, Bcs of foot treated 90% in calf 80% due in first 42 days 93 days in calf Very disappointed with this group. A few older cows not in calf and earmarked for culling but must be counted. I'm really pissed off as 10% of the first calves are empty despite them getting preferential treatment.