Ol' Donie wrote: » Did anyone think the bit where Sean came on to say what he'd be talking about on his show was more than a little frosty?
Typer Monkey wrote: » I thought so too but you can't blame Sean..after he outlined what was coming up on the show George said 'well I think that's just fantastic!' like the patronising old goat that he is! Can't believe Sean has lost half an hour to this cr*p :mad:
Ol' Donie wrote: » Don't blame Sean at all. Did well not to say "Blow it out your ass, George."
aw wrote: » I'm not sure this is going to work. I enjoyed The Right Hook. I like the grumpy old devil. But now, it's like he has too much free reign to pick too many inane topics that nobody, other than him, cares about. It seems like a lap of honour for him. NT begged him to come back, so he can pretty much pick and choose what he wants to talk about. Without having to stick to a Drivetime formula, he can waffle on about whatever he wants - and this does not make for good radio sometimes. I hope it improves.
Ol' Donie wrote: » I agree. It really is 2 hours of George broadcasting his own opinion, on topics he chooses. I fail to see what it achieves. It doesn't educate or inform anyone. It might have entertained, were it not for the fact that we all knew all the things he blathers on about at least five years ago. As far as I can see, it's mostly just designed to get people mildly outraged. Maybe in the hope people will tune in to hear what nonsense he'll say next. This is fatally flawed, though, because he just says the same things about the same topics every day. I can't f*ckin believe they made Sean's show shorter for this.
lawlolawl wrote: » This show is truly terrible and not even in a fun way like Loiveline. Grumpy old middle-class radio. Tailored to Daily Mail readers seemingly.
Say Your Number wrote: » It's just a continuation of the Right Hook with Liveline thrown in, as I said I like George but Sean is miles and miles ahead as a broadcaster. If Sean's time was cut for a show that served a purpose other than stroking G Hook's ego I wouldn't mind as much, I know ye are probably bored of me bleating on about it but its an utterly galling decision.
Say Your Number wrote: » It's just a continuation of the Right Hook with Liveline thrown in, as I said I like George but Sean is miles and miles ahead as a broadcaster. If Sean's time was cut for a show that served a purpose other than stroking G Hook's ego I wouldn't mind as much, I know ye are probably bored of me bleating on about it but its an utterly galling decision. Seems like an unpopular decision on here but that's not always an indicator of the general feeling.
Say Your Number wrote: If Sean's time was cut for a show that served a purpose other than stroking G Hook's ego I wouldn't mind as much, I know ye are probably bored of me bleating on about it but its an utterly galling decision.
Say Your Number wrote: Seems like an unpopular decision on here but that's not always an indicator of the general feeling.
Say Your Number wrote: It's just a continuation of the Right Hook with Liveline thrown in, as I said I like George but Sean is miles and miles ahead as a broadcaster.
Akrasia wrote: » It's ridiculous. Moncreif had a history expert talking about the U.S. election, and he had a philosopher talking about Morality, and Sean treated them with respect and asked intelligent probing questions and lighthearted observations. Hook talked about religion by railing against 'liberals', talked about science by calling scientists 'Ageist'... He believes he is himself the only historian, scientist, and philosopher worth listening to.
ghostdancer wrote: Ronan Mullen, Michael Graham and George ranting on about immigrants; some of the usual right-wing knuckle-dragger boardsies must be still **** themselves silly, hence their uncharacteristic quietness....
PeterTheNinth wrote: » it saves me having to hear him with that stupid "It's being reported today" smart ar$e nonsense every day.
somesoldiers wrote: » What Barry Kenny did on his holliers slot....where's my train Bazzer??