Originally Posted by Peist2007 However, it is a two horse race and our opponents, whilst excellent, are mightily flawed. Plus the Dub fanbase is extremely confident this year. Remember the silence on Sunday as halftime hit? If Kerry had come out in the second half in the same vein the Dub fans werent long for turning on their heroes.
seligehgit wrote: » Let's get behind our lads,they will die on the field come September 18th to bring an end to the famine.
Fr Tod Umptious wrote: » Why can't Mayo be the 2013 Clare hurlers, or the 2012 Donegal footballers or even the 2011 Dublin footballers just for once and give it 100%. .
Oldtree wrote: » I'm optimistic and over excited.... boing boing boing
PressRun wrote: » This is the least hyped year I can remember, tbh. In previous years it always felt like excitement and expectation were at fever pitch and there was always talk of what was going on with the players in training, who was going well, who was likely to start, and so on. A lot of that seems to have gone very quiet this year. Most people I've spoken to are hopeful rather than optimistic.
Pidge. wrote: » Choose Mayo - Stevie Kelly Choose pain, heartache, depression Choose to place your faith in false gods adorned with tight shorts, false tans and braids Choose whether or not to wear your county colours for fear of ridicule should you be at the wrong end of another hammering Choose false hope at the start of each FBD Cup campaign Choose Galway as the enemy, Roscommon as an annoyance, Sligo as soccer heads, Leitrim as your favourite underdogs Choose to wish Padraig Joyce was born our side of the border Choose McHale Park as mecca, Tuam as a hay shed, Hyde as a hell-hole Choose to park in the old bacon factory, stand under the score board, watch the girls go by with fake tan dripping from the night before Choose whether to travel up to Croker the day before or the morning of the big match Choose whether or not to take home that Tipp girl you met in Rodys Choose a big mighty fry before the match in your sisters place Choose too many pints before the match Choose the Big Tree after the match Choose to go on the piss even though we lost again Choose to hope that Maughan finally gets it right, O'Mahony hangs around if Maughan doesn't Choose to forget Holmes but thank him for the league title Choose to dream about what it would have been like if we had won in 1996, Choose to forget about 1997 and 2004 Choose to be a Garda, Civil Servant, Plasterer, Carpenter, Plumber, Electrician, Nurse Choose a flat in Drumcondra, Phibsboro, Rathmines Choose a house in Ballycullen, Carpenterstown, Lucan Choose Rody Bolands, the Portobello, Flannerys, Coppers, McGowans Choose the Manhattan, Giggs Place for eating Choose to leave your place of birth at the tender age of 17 Choose to go to college in Galway, Sligo, UL, UCD or get the start with the big brother in Dublin Choose only to return home for Christmas, Easter, the local town festival, Connacht Championship fixtures Choose whether or not to apply for a job in the one local factory and accept half your current wage in the hope that life will be better than the rat race in the big smoke Choose Cox's, Rockys, Mantra, Long Necks to drink Choose Baxter, Volex, Coca Cola to work Choose Breaffy House, Castlecourt Hotel, Hotel Westport, Pontoon Bridge, Downhill Hotel to get married Choose Enniscrone for holidays Choose the Westhern, The Cannacht Telegraph, the Mayo News, Mis Whest Radio Choose long summer days in the bog, driving a tractor at 12, going to the local mart as a big day out Choose your first car a souped up Jap import, on your mothers insurance, don't tax it until you are caught Choose the site your father leaves you and to build a unimaginatively designed mansion on it Choose the two teacher school for primary education, the big school in town for secondary Choose to go down town for lunch, play pool in the pub, hope the convent girls notice you Choose getting a pint in the local at 16, seeing your father in the local disco, thinking you scored because you kissed a girl Choose to stand outside the church at Sunday mass choose, to always be a mammys boy Choose Mayo
Pidge. wrote: » Choose Mayo - Stevie Kelly
gigantic09 wrote: » Staring Lee Keegan as Begby. Cora Staunton as Diane. Aidan o Shea as Sick boy. Evan Regan. as Spud. Andy Moran. as Renton.
PARlance wrote: » Hopefully that continues, I'm loving the build up (or lack thereof) this year but I'm sure we'll have a few daft songs in the coming weeks.
Suarezistheman wrote: » Id be more interested in what we do at the other end, who can we put on Cian O'Sullivan to give him something to think about?
Mayo Club 51 wrote: »
yop wrote: » I wonder what that totals to?
PARlance wrote: » Just a rough guess, about 8,000 I would say. Maybe 10,000 at a push with the fundraising. 50 clubs @ 80 tickets = 4,000 Supporters Club & Panel = 4,000
PARlance wrote: » Hopefully that continues, I'm loving the build up (or lack thereof) this year but I'm sure we'll have a few daft songs in the coming weeks. While it has possibly been our most underwhelming route to a final I'm probably more optimistic than before. There is a sense from the camp that it has been a work in progress / a process to get here. There's something different this year (mainly thanks to Rochford) and while it mightn't be enough, someone different was needed. Dublin are clear favourites but when I look at possible match ups, I can make a case for us being very close. Key for me will be how we deal with Connolly, Kilkenny and Kevin Mc. You can't igore the other 3 but those 3 forwards make Dublin tick for me. Keegan on Connolly, I wouldn't want anyone else in the world on the lovely Diarmud I think it's a given that they'll be reunited. Kilkenny, I would love to see Higgins harassing him and causing him a few headaches going forward. Don't let him dictate the way / pace of Dublin's play. Kevin Mc, I would stick Boyle on him myself, fight fire with fire. I could spend 2 weeks alone looking forward to those 3 match ups. Midfield will be an even battle. We might have a few surprises for them up top. The key for me outside of keeping the above trio quiet will be how we deal with the final quarter onslaught from Dublin. Do we leave the likes of Parsons on the bench and save him for the second half, I would. Himself and Conor O'Shea may play at key role is trying to halt Dublin.
yop wrote: » Is that Hickey level of counting tickets! Find it hard to believe we'd get 8000/10000 tickets for AI final day
seligehgit wrote: » Yep agree with those matchups excepting Keith Higgins on Kilkenny..I think they might stick Zippy on Brogan.Definitely meet fire with fire with Boyler on Kevin McManamon.I am hoping Leroy can continue to have the indian sign on Diarmuid Connolly but knowing some day Connolly is going to do a job on him.Lee Keegan struggled quite a lot on Quinlavin the last day. Nullifying Connolly and McManamon is very important.But some other Dublin forward tends to step up to the plate...Paddy Andrews who shot the lights out in the replay whilst giving Keith Higgins a horrid time or Dean Rock who's having the season of his life.
naughto wrote: » Are u season ticket?