moc moc a moc wrote: » Sending the ERU in is retarded. What are they going to do, start shooting people? If it's a riot, then send in riot police to baton the bollix out of them.
Oops69 wrote: » i can't believe there's 2OO staff employed there, then again if SIPTU is running the place most will be on sick leave/ compassion leave / thinking about getting better leave , thinking about going on sick leave leave , someone-said-boo- to - me leave etc.etc. etc. bull**** excuse leave , so that number is probably accurate .
Wigglepuppy wrote: » Ok I know stuff like "bring back firing squads" is just provocative and "carry out public floggings" is not constructive, I also disagree that the softly softly approach to violent criminals is "the PC liberal brigade" - it's legislation and insufficient police resources. But the rest of what you say - seriously. Only you are the one referring to their background. Everyone else here is referring to their behaviour, not where they are from at all. It's quite patronising to be honest to abdicate responsibility from someone based on their background - it's as if they are incapable of holding accountability because of where they are from. What about all the other people (the majority) from disadvantaged backgrounds who don't resort to violent crime sprees? Saying people are looking for them to be punished merely because they are disadvantaged (and not because of their violent crimes) is incredibly dishonest - and it's baffling that you don't even take into consideration what they have done. And to compare them to desperately poor people who were hanged for stealing a loaf of bread to feed their families in days of yore is incredibly inaccurate. Those people did not terrorise and assault others, they were driven to desperate measures. That was a time when there were no supports whatsoever for the marginalised, they were left to rot. People like social workers try to help the people this story is about - many start off with the same view as you - only to be met with hostility. I have no doubt that their difficult upbringings are the reason for their anger, but they are still responsible for their own behaviour.
TheNap wrote: » Imagine you are a qualified social worker but then are asked to deal with a number of 19 year old violent criminals with serious mental health issues . No protection . No riot gear . Most employees middle aged men and women . How the government allowed this to happen I'll never know . I'm just surprised that a worker hasn't been killed yet
tomofson wrote: » There is no 19 year olds there.
tomofson wrote: » I am the only one referencing their backgrounds because for most of the posters on here it is an underline subconscious issue, they may not even realize they have it or may not have even given it much of a thought...
Wigglepuppy wrote: » Why do people just post provocative drivel for a reaction? Boredom I guess. It seems such a tedious thing to bother doing. That is nothing other than an assumption.
tomofson wrote: » An assumption that has very real potential to be an actual fact.
mariaalice wrote: » Sending someone under 18 to a prison is not right in a modern society, yet at the same time the issue is very complex when dealing with extremity violent young offenders.
Gatling wrote: » So what do you do , Mollycoddling has failed, We need to now say that for the most part there sent to oberstown because of criminal activity plain and simple, Prison style rules and regulations and enforcement is seriously required
Staff member injured in Oberstown riots needs 'reconstructive surgery on his face' A staff member injured in Monday night’s riot in Oberstown has been left needing plastic surgery. The man was attacked by up to eight teens who broke his nose. The man was also left with severe lacerations in his face and needs reconstructive surgery.
Edward Microscopic Tutu wrote: » These are the people that deserve pity and these are the people whose voices should be heard, not "young people" who made a conscious decision to attack and slash him.
Gatling wrote: » Unfortunately we live with people whom believe hugs and mollycoddling makes its all better for our young thugs ,
Gatling wrote: » God forbid we expect them to face any kind of consequences what's so ever
end of the road wrote: » we don't.
twowheelsonly wrote: » We do actually. The Prison Service is practically run by Probation and Welfare nowadays. The Minister for Justice is ex P&W. the head of the Prison Service and his No.2 are ex P&W. The Navy, Army and Gardai all have uniformed members at the top of their tree. Regardless of how they may have gotten there they all have the experience of working 'on the floor'. Probably 80%+ of the people running the Prison Service are civil servants and P&W Officers who have zero experience of working one on one with violent offenders or at the coalface in the prisons but they all have ideas on how it should be done. Previous to this prisoners who played ball and treated staff with respect had no problems and had that respect reciprocated whilst those who kicked up and caused trouble were dealt with accordingly. Usually they wised up fairly quickly and most ended up playing ball. The general consensus amongst prisoners was that if you f***ed up then you deserved it and everyone understood that. There was a mutual understanding and for the most part it worked and everything ticked along nicely. Nowadays it's like a race to see who can make the most complaints and which category of complaint they can make. (Forms to do so and special boxes to post them in are actually dotted throughout each prison !!) It's tippy-toes now for the staff which has had a detrimental effect on the effectiveness of prisons and the ability of staff to run them. It's P.C. gone too far.
end of the road wrote: » pc doesn't exist. bar the adding of the complaint form system, which is better then prisoners rioting if they have an issue.
JupiterKid wrote: » Rehabilitation - yes, for sure but punishment as well.
JupiterKid wrote: » They may be young but these teenagers are violent offenders. They need to be dealt with accordingly. The facial injuries by a staff member show just how far these little thugs are prepared to go. From looking at the website, it looks like Oberstown has indeed been run by PC luvvies who will only get bitten in the arse. We need to be tough with these offenders. Rehabilitation - yes, for sure but punishment as well.
FGR wrote: » So you think that if the complaint doesn't go in their favour that they'll go on their merry way?
FGR wrote: » A caveat has to be that rehabilitation will be provided once they're willing to engage in it and show positive outcomes. Lads who sign up for courses just for the sake of additional benefits should be required to show results before being provided with same. It's gotten far too soft.
foggy_lad wrote: » All the Joe Duffy types who only ever dealt with these "kids" through toughened perspex screens don't really have a clue what is going on in places like Oberstown. These "kids" are not little or indeed kids in any meaningful sense of the word! Many are over 6' and 14-18st and very fit because they are all wannabe MMA cage fighters(thugs). As in other countries we need proper boot camps and for those who "face up" to staff they should be brought to the ground with non lethal beanbag rounds and locked into a suitable restraint chair where they can not injure themselves and more importantly cant injure anyone else, Spit hoods and gags should be readily available.
Samaris wrote: » As a matter of interest, how young is too young for some of the suggestions being made in this thread? The "killing them all" ones? Oberstown does or did take children as young as ten and yeah, I do have to say god knows what sort of life they've had when they're committing criminal acts by the age of ten.