ShaShaBear wrote: » Id be more worried that it would set the marker that they can get what they want if they push hard enough. No wedding is precisely what they are hoping for here
Aineoil wrote: » Sorry, I didn't realise that no wedding was their objective. I wish you the best and it's awful that you have to deal with this before your marriage.
ShaShaBear wrote: » My fault for not stating it Didn't want to include too much obvious information, but the intent behind this was to leave me with two choices - have no-one there, or have no wedding. It would be a submission if I cancelled it.
Aineoil wrote: » No worries. I totally understand. I was in a similar situation 27 years ago. My mother-in-law told us our wedding wasn't well timed for her. She went from telling me that no one from my husband's side of the family would attend the wedding to giving me a list of her relatives that I should invite that were so unrelated to her. To cut a long story short we went ahead with the wedding. She was terse, rude and a pain in the behind the whole day. She made a bit of a show of herself on the day to be honest.
JuliusCaesar wrote: » Yes of course you do. Where are you having your wedding? In the Registrars Office or a hotel?
freshpopcorn wrote: » I could be totally wrong about this but if your started making a big deal about needing security for you wedding to the hotel could the hotel cancel in fear ye were trouble. I'm just basing this on hearing that sometimes hotels can cancel if their dodgy of the family. As all ready said I could be totally wrong about this!
Toots wrote: » To be honest I'd say it'd need to be really bad for the hotel to pull out this close to the day. My aunt used to work in a very popular wedding hotel and by all accounts it wasn't at all uncommon for couples to ask the hotel for help removing potentially troublesome people who might show up uninvited.
hatrickpatrick wrote: » This is a horrible story indeed. What grounds are there for the law which states that a civil wedding must be open to the public? Strikes me as tailor made to enable this kind of sh!te. What's the thinking behind not allowing people to do this in private and have complete control over their own guest list...? Whatever you do don't cancel, that sends the message that you can be bullied, which is not a reputation you want especially if this feud looks like it will continue for some time.
Harika wrote: » I was thinking of getting some TV cameras with an RTE sticker on the side and film the whole ceremony. To appear on national news might not sound too appealing for them, so they might chicken out.
freedominacup wrote: » All weddings not just civil ones.
hatrickpatrick wrote: » But why? Surely it should be up to the parties involved to decide who gets to see their wedding...?
TheChizler wrote: » Very off topic but how do high profile people get away with having totally closed off ceremonies in that case?
freshpopcorn wrote: » I can't really comment on this situation but I have heard of people saying their going to ruin people's weddings/etc and in general nothing happens and if somebody is going to have a little melt down during the ceremony it will probably still happen with the security guy their!
hatrickpatrick wrote: » This is a horrible story indeed. What grounds are there for the law which states that a civil wedding must be open to the public? Strikes me as tailor made to enable this kind of sh!te. What's the thinking behind not allowing people to do this in private and have complete control over their own guest list...?
Gatica wrote: » Marriage is considered a public contract and as such should be accessible to the public to witness it. Unfortunately it does mean that it cannot be done at private locations or prevent people from entering. However, as with anywhere else, I'm sure the venue can insist on someone leaving if they cause offence or are misbehaving in public. OP, any chance you could apprise the guards of potential trouble so they're aware of it in case you do need to call them? Probably easier in a smaller rural setting where people know each other. Then having subtle security posted close to the entrance to keep an eye for those people and have photos of the culprits shared with the security to they know to look out for trouble if these do enter. Such a horrible situation and I really feel for you. Hopefully the troublemakers won't have the gall to actually turn up on the day and make asses of themselves.
Spanish Eyes wrote: » If it were me, and due to the circumstances I would do the legal bit in the registry office, even if it is Belfast or NI (less notice required I think), and THEN, you could bar them from the reception. No worries. That's what I would do, and everyone would understand. Record the ceremony and play it at the reception. I wish you well. Make it as stress free as possible please. It can be done.