porsche boy wrote: » They are temporary cameras where the m7/m9 works are being done. Average speed of 60kph for tye length of the works, even at 7am in the morning when nobody's working on the sh1tting thing.
TrailerBob wrote: » There are two sets of cameras up, they look identical to those used in the UK. As to whether any fines have been issued, I haven't heard of any, and the Bus Eireann lads seem to be bombing along there
RandomAccess wrote: » I drove this last night and it was mayhem, I reckon it would be safer with a higher speed limit than 60k. Drivers bunching up an awful lot at that speed.
Mycroft H wrote: » Might be an idea for someone to make a freedom of information request?
mikeecho wrote: » Someone should do something
Mycroft H wrote: » Is it safe for the lads in working? Presumable this is what's driving this. I'd say it's set out in H&S guidelines.
RandomAccess wrote: » The effect I observed was the same as if you parked a go safe van on the side of the motorway, with another one every 250m for a few Kms. Concertina braking, tailgating, overtaking, a recipe for an epic pile up.
_Kaiser_ wrote: » Right.. you all owe me a coffee Drove this this morning and the same chaos of people dropping anchor at the first set of cameras, weaving etc and then putting the foot down until they reach the second set - at which the same craic started again, so I decided to make some calls to pass the rest of the trip... - Naas Gardai first and the Garda on the desk had read the same article above and as far as she was aware, they (AGS) aren't enforcing penalties.. but she transferred me to Traffic who are to call me back - Kildare Co Co (Roads section) transferred me to the NRA (I think - connection wasn't great at that point) who confirmed the same details of the KildareNow article, but is having someone call me back as well to confirm In both cases I highlighted the dangers being caused by these cameras and that it's only a matter of time before a pile-up happens (especially when the schools go back). I suggested a limit of 80 would be safer for all concerned given the current level of works, enforced only when they're actually active. So that's what I found out.. will update later when I hear more
ironclaw wrote: » I love how people have no concept of how these cameras actually work. Brake at the first set, speed up between them, and then brake again at the second set.
One_Of_Shanks wrote: » They're not issuing fines/points so plenty of people skip the braking part and just fly past them.
ironclaw wrote: » Fine or not, it still shows the utter stupidity of a segment of the Irish motoring public. The fact someone cannot understand the concept of average is actually frightening.