John_Rambo wrote: » Listen lads (and I presume you're all lads)
John_Rambo wrote: » "It's illegal but not a crime" doesn't cut it anymore. Fearing or respecting you're neighbour for criminality isn't acceptable. If your fearful, there's ways around reporting, talk to your local super.
Tigger wrote: Do you think all crimes need a Garda to witness them to be prosecuted
grogi wrote: » That's sexism!
grogi wrote: » I've got it wrong, but you got me wrong as well. I never have endorsed nor intend to ever endorse breaking the law. We're on the same side here - you can check that in a similar thread about reporting VRT-evaders.
grogi wrote: » I was just a semantics dispute and I have been proven wrong. Lesson learned.
Deleted User wrote: » ... called around and knocked on his door and said "..what's the craic with the pigs being over earlier man?" trying to be cool with him and he told me "the gards tried doing me for no insurance but I told them I haven't drove the car in months and that its for sale... ****ing dopes" There ya go folks...
[Deleted User] wrote: » ... called around and knocked on his door and said "..what's the craic with the pigs being over earlier man?" trying to be cool with him and he told me "the gards tried doing me for no insurance but I told them I haven't drove the car in months and that its for sale... ****ing dopes" There ya go folks...
Amanda.ie wrote: » Pigs? charming fella aren't you.
RustyNut wrote: » How do you know he is not covered by insurance? What evidence apart from the word of a busy body do the Guards have that he was actually driving anything?
John_Rambo wrote: » I think that might have been the words his neighbour had chosen to use. Charming indeed.
Amanda.ie wrote: » No they were his words. Typical attitude, no respect for gardai but wants them to jump to his tune.
Bongalongherb wrote: » You pull-up to a checkpoint and you have no insurance or tax, the only outcome is that the gaurds will take your car from you, then you get the bus home. I wonder if there is many folk out there that were let drive away by the guards ? I thought they all just take your car on the spot having no insurance.
CiniO wrote: » Crazy insurance prices, crazy insurance system, and total lack of enforcement, and no wonder that's a fact.
pablo128 wrote: » They give you 10 days to produce. You could tell them you insured it over the phone that morning and haven't got the disc yet. They could phone the insurance company, but I don't know if the data protection act would apply?
Bongalongherb wrote: » Right, but this doesn't fare well if you are in an accident. They give you ten days to produce your insurance disc/details, but that just gives a person 10 days to get the cash to pay for it in this small time-frame if caught, or not turn up within the ten days to the station and end up in court with a huge fine and penalty points, and maybe a ban. It's too much hassle and cash in regards to getting caught. It's only a matter of time before the folks that are uninsured are stuck with no turnaround and have to face the checkpoint. It never lasts forever, folk get caught all the time. Is it worth it ? you decide.
pablo128 wrote: » With all due respect, unless they see him driving, they won't chance a court appearance as the judge would likely throw it out citing a lack of evidence. TBH that would be a waste of everyones time. But, for all this guys bravado, he knows now that his cards are marked. If he is stupid, he will keep driving uninsured and get nicked by the same cops he lied to.
Fred Swanson wrote: » This post has been deleted.
Amanda.ie wrote: » The person wont be insured at the time of the offence, so getting it after the checkpoint is still uninsured. You cant produce what you didnt have.