blue5000 wrote: » What I do is turn a clevis hitch upside down and put a screw in ball hitch on the long straight drawbar. This gives me about a 4 inch drop. Sorry don't have any photos.
rangler1 wrote: » Considering that those trailers are now illegal behind a jeep, there'll be a good few looking for that information. ....that's if the guards enforce the laws, presume you referrring to a fourteen foot trailer
Reggie. wrote: » Wonder would you pick them up handy 2nd hand now that they are illegal for jeeps as you say
tractorporn wrote: » I passed Regan's in Frenchpark the other day and they had a world of 2nd hand trailers outside a couple of fresh looking 3 axles, a local man told me that they had traded in a good few against new trailers when the new regs came in.
davidk1394 wrote: » What are the new regulations
rangler1 wrote: » Old regs really, just not being enfoced, you're not supposed to tow more than the specified towing weight for your jeep. Most max jeep towing weights are around 3 tonne, 14ft trailers carry more than 3 ton and when you add in the weight of the trailer its illegal.
paddysdream wrote: » Don't think you are correct on that or otherwise all the 2 axle IF trailers would be illegal as well as both are plated for 3.5 tonne.Specs(plating) for a 2 or 3 axle IF trailer whether 12 or 14 ft are identical as far as I am aware.Number of axles is totally irrelevant. Few things come into play when towing a livestock box including; your licence,towing vehicle plating for max permissible weight,towing capacity and gross train weight,plus trailer plating. Still no bother towing a 14ft box as long as you keep within the guidelines. Posted the following before and is as I understand it; Does BE licence not allow you up to 7 tonne gross ie vehicle,trailer and load depending on I would suppose trailer gross at 3.5 tonne or less if plated so(IW etc) plus weight of towing vehicle? Had a quick look at RSA site and the following is what I understand it to be. BE licence covers vehicle fully landen to DGVW plus its towing capacity. Example Toyota Landcruiser DGVW is 2850 kg(on tax book) or 2750 (DOE cert) or 2850kg (previous DOE cert) or even 2730(another DOE cert).Clear so far? Thats van,fuel cargo,driver passenger etc. Towing capacity is 3000kg as far as I know. Sheep box here(12x6 2 axle Ifor Williams with decks)is plated to 3500kg and weights about 1100kg approx. So; that gives you 2850 kg max for van plus 3000kg max for trailer or a total train weight of 5850kg.A LWB Pajero would rise this to 6350 assuming its DGVW was the same as the Toyota.Just looked and Pajero GVW is 3030kg plus 3500kg towing so total of 6530kg. All as I understand it,allowable on a BE licence. Apologies if wrong.
Reggie. wrote: » Id be wary of regans as I know where the stuff comes from in England and it's not always good stuff.
rangler1 wrote: » You have to adhere to the towing capacity of the jeep which as you say is 3000kg, so if you put 4 500kg cattle in your trailer, you are towing more than the max towing weight for the jeep when you add in the 1100kg weight of the trailer. As i say it's not being enforced anyway so it's a bit irrelevant.
Muckit wrote: » 14's I'd say are probably legal weightwise with 2 decks of sheep?
Muckit wrote: » Are the army doing under cover surveillance now for the gardai?
barnaman wrote: » For Ops benefit... messing with towbars etc illegal unless you get it certified afterwards etc. "Mr Cahalane modified it to install a tow bar to allow it to be pulled by a tractor. The kingpin on the trailer had been removed, and there was no certificate to say what weight the new towbar could tow."
Muckit wrote: » Two lads near here hauling 12 and 14's..... behind berlingos!!! I kid you not.
rangler1 wrote: Considering that those trailers are now illegal behind a jeep, there'll be a good few looking for that information. ....that's if the guards enforce the laws, presume you referrring to a fourteen foot trailer
Nekarsulm wrote: » By that definition most Ifor Williams don't meet the requirements of an agri. trailer either.
gerryirl wrote: » I'm after buying a 3 axle cattle trailer. I hadn't plannned on a 3 axle as its only going to be used on the tractor but a great second hand one came up for sake and I knew its history so I bought . Here's my problem . It has 13 inch rims on it so when I put it on the tractor the balance is wrong so all the weight is on the 2 back axles mostly the back one . Is there any device out there that can be bought that I could lower the hitch by a couple of inches . I've seen ones that go on the arms but that's not great job . Thanks in advance