Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things I hate.

• 09-01-2004 2:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭

In the absense of a "things we hate" board, I feel the need to post the following:

ATM Idiots
    You know, the ones who queue up to use an ATM when there's one just inside the door, or around the corner, yet either don't know there's one there or don't want to move from their queue. Also includes: The HUGE numbers of ppl lining up to use the ATMs in Jervis St. shopping centre - get a fricking laser card!

Bus idiots!
    In Ranelagh the 11 bus goes past one bus stop, then goes around the corner about 20 metres and stops again. People queue at this second bus stop, and by the time the bus gets there it's jammers from the first one and they never get seats. Pah, get some intelligence and walk around the corner!

Toasters that don't make enough noise
    So when the toast pops you miss it. Everyone knows you HAVE to butter toast when it's piping hot...

Damn changeable weather
    The one day you don't bring an umbrella to work it lashes rain.

Bus tickets
    That get wet in the rain and don't work for the rest of the month, so you have to show the driver every time.

Non work-safe emails not being marked as non work-safe
    Argh, my eyes!

DVD Burners
    That get to 93% and then spit out your disc and chuckle evilly.

Prices of EVERYTHING
    Soooo expensive. Damn you Ireland!

Screenshots
    I hate taking screengrabs, grr, they're very very annoying.

Liars
    People who lie to you about important things deserve to be diced up by someone with a blunt sword.

Coke from Saudi Arabia
    If I'm paying €1.25 a bottle then I want decent Irish coke, not cheap imported crap thanks...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭smiaras

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Screenshots I hate taking screengrabs, grr, they're very very annoying.

No way! They're the best thing evah!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭SuperStudent

I hate people who take ages at ATMs.
    The ones who put their card in take 20, put it in again, take 20 and do this 3/4 times.
    All while the taxi drivers is beeping the horn waiting for you to hurry up.
    Pigs.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Mobile phones ringing at empty desks
    Morons who leave their phone ringing REALLY LOUDLY at their desk. Why the hell do you need it to ring so loudly ESPECIALLY when you're not there to answer. I was about to get a hammer at one today. And don't get me started on mobiles in cinemas or I shall see the Red Mist again...

Stupid cows who sit on stools in packed trains
    There are very VERY busy Arrow trains in the morning. People are jammed together - except for the selfish little cows who bring a fold up stool with them and plonk themselves down in the middle. It's not like they're ever pregnant or disabled - they're healthy young women who think they deserve to take up the space of five people and preserve their stupid composure. Meanwhile other folk are left standing on the station because Her Royal Bi*chness needs to sit.

Queue skippers
    People who skip the queue, whether it be in the cinema or for train tickets or whatever. They generally try and siddle up or brazenly just lodge themselves into the queue. And this covers those times when a group get one mate to hold a place for himself and his 343 friends.

Little knackers who hang around my appartment gate
    I live in the IFSC and there're always little knackers trying to get through the security gate. It's locked so they dangerously climb over it or - even worse - swing across the bridge, despite the perilous drop. Darwinian selection should be working here but it's not. And they're noisy.

... more to come I imagine :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭moridin

Originally posted by simu
    No way! They're the best thing evah!

Not when you have to re-do about 90 of the buggers they're not...

Originally posted by ixoy
    Mobile phones ringing at empty desks
    Morons who leave their phone ringing REALLY LOUDLY at their desk. Why the hell do you need it to ring so loudly ESPECIALLY when you're not there to answer. I was about to get a hammer at one today. And don't get me started on mobiles in cinemas or I shall see the Red Mist again...

There are very VERY busy Arrow trains in the morning. People are jammed together - except for the selfish little cows who bring a fold up stool with them and plonk themselves down in the middle. It's not like they're ever pregnant or disabled - they're healthy young women who think they deserve to take up the space of five people and preserve their stupid composure. Meanwhile other folk are left standing on the station because Her Royal Bi*chness needs to sit.

[

I agree.
    Add to that b@stards that ring on speakerphone in a office so that everyone has to listen to their phonecalls and ringing out. Urrgh.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭leonotron

People who give out to me for queue jumping. I don't want to waste time queueing when I don't have to, if I can skip I will and then if some spa sees me do it they give out to me.

Goons who indicate when they are pulling in to a parking spot.
    They are not turning a corner so why? Learn to drive you idiots.

People who are tutting behind you when you are checking your balance at an atm, then topping up your phone credit, then withdrawing money, then checking new balance. I would tut at them, and there is a queue for a reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Creature

The prices and availibility of CDs. They never have the cds I want in town, though when they do they're always ridiculously expensive like 25 euro and upwards. Bah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭SAXA

People who do not leave the room when the phone rings and you are watching tv.
    I don't need to hear their calls and I may just want to here the tv

People who will pile rubish up rather then empting the bin at work home where ever

Drivers who stop in their cars for a "few quick words" with someone they know in the middle of the street

Shop assistants who keep asking if they can help you and you say no I am just looking. They then keep an evil eye on you incase you are going to steal something.

Chain f**king mail

Bubblegum stuck under table, chairs, desk etc

rant over

Originally posted by leonotron
    People who give out to me for queue jumping. I don't want to waste time queueing when I don't have to, if I can skip I will and then if some spa sees me do it they give out to me.

People who are tutting behind you when you are checking your balance at an atm, then topping up your phone credit, then withdrawing money, then checking new balance. I would tut at them, and there is a queue for a reason.

I don't even know you and I think I hate you! :)
    "Goons who indicate when they are pulling in to a parking spot.
    They are not turning a corner so why? Learn to drive you idiots. "
    They're indicating for cyclists & pedestrians.

Better than them suddenly stopping and you smashing into the rear of them as they try and park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭Thorbar

I hate people who don't get subtle humour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Originally posted by moridin
    In the absense of a "things we hate" board, I feel the need to post the following:

ATM Idiots
    You know, the ones who queue up to use an ATM when there's one just inside the door, or around the corner, yet either don't know there's one there or don't want to move from their queue. Also includes: The HUGE numbers of ppl lining up to use the ATMs in Jervis St. shopping centre - get a fricking laser card!

Bus idiots!
    In Ranelagh the 11 bus goes past one bus stop, then goes around the corner about 20 metres and stops again. People queue at this second bus stop, and by the time the bus gets there it's jammers from the first one and they never get seats. Pah, get some intelligence and walk around the corner!

Why do you give a shít about these points?? :rolleyes: The idiots who queue up at the external ATM's are idiots, but they need to take out money as we all do. Also, this leaves the internal ATM's for intelligent people like you and I.

What annoys me is women at ATM's. Sorry... I'm not sexist, but seriously, they just take the píss. If you're ever at an ATM and the bloke waiting in line behind you asks if you're trying to re-programme the ATM.... that's me.

As for bus idiots. Same principle as above, why do you care? You walk around the corner, and get on the bus immediately, plus a nice selection of seats. Would you prefer that you were hopping on to a packed bus, because everyone is as smart as you!?! :rolleyes:

Other things that annoy me and are self explanatory.

Drivers who don't indicate on roundabouts, or just in general.
    Mobiles or excessive talking/laughing in the cinema.
    Smokers who don't think about other peoples air.
    leonotron.
    The fact that I've given up smokes and am finding it very easy - I've no excuse to go back on them! :)
    Drummers who hit the kit/my kit too hard.
    People who suddenly stop in front of you in the middle of Grafton street for no good reason.

Eh... there's plenty more, but I'm starting to wind myself up, so I'm gonna stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭whosurpaddy

Originally posted by SAXA
    Drivers who stop in their cars for a "few quick words" with someone they know in the middle of the street
    r

along the same lines, i was waitin to cross the road yesterday at the junction of o connel st & abbey st. this van is kinda idleing down o connel st, when it reaches the junction it completely stops in the middle of the road (completely blocking all traffic as theres only one lane there atm) the woman standing beside me starts to cross the road an im thinkin shes gonna get creamed, bu no the van stops with her just in front of it, an she opens the door, then her an her entire idiot family start trying differant seating arrangements for about another minute or so. at this stage everyone starts to cross the road. this seems to anger the driver who accelerates as fast as he can even tho his gob****e wife hasnt closed the door seeming intent on killinf as many pedestrians as possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 tonysoprano

Idiot females who queue at the checkout and when it's their turn they then decide to look for the purse and it is strange that this same person will look for the odd 87c when their bill comes to €8.87c. Just take the €1.13c in change for god sake.
    AND
    The person who insists on paying by CC no matter how little their bill is.
    AGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Originally posted by ixoy

Jesus i get the maynooth train into town for college and if anyone done that on the 8:20 train they would be forcefully removed !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

1. Road signs in Irish with grammar mistakes - any Irish speaker could tell you they're wrong but whatever organisation makes them obviously dosen't put much effort into it.

2. People who misuse apostrophies.

3. People who think computer science is dull and monotonous and don't realise that programming can be a creative activity.

4. People who pretend to be stupider than they are.

5. People who give in to fit in with a crowd.

6. People who are inconsistent.

7. Drama queens - people who have to make a soap opera out of everything in life.

8. Racism, sexism and so on.

9. Politicians who don't think before they speak.

10. People who go on about how beautiful a language French/Irish/whatever is and how they would love to learn it but never actually make the effort to do so.

11. People who look you up and down to see what you're wearing when they meet you.

12. People who smoke in bus queues and blow their smoke all over you.

That's all for now, folks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

I don't blame them, queue jumping's incredibly ignorant. I hate queues as much as anyone else but there's nothing that makes you so special that lets you jump it.

I think you'll find that indicating your intentions is, in fact, an example of good driving. Unless they intend to park on a corner, they're doing the right thing, and preventing someone from trying to nab the space while they park , causing a crunch. However, spending a minute indicating at a space and not actually parking in it is a prime example of bad driving, and if that 's what you're talking about, then we're in agreement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Beer Baron

Taxi drivers who never shut the fúck up.
    I DON'T CARE ABOUT YOUR OPINIONS! You have the intellect of a paramecium- SHUT UP!

Public transport in general
    Especially going on long bus journeys and the bog is always bust and there's always country music on- always

People who I've never met before but seem to know my life story
    I know I'm more interesting than you but please- go away!

Suits with jeeps
    Big fat baldy yuppie bastards who drive their jeep around town when it could take them 2 minutes to walk. And why do you need a 4 wheel drive car anyways? It's not like you drive it on any other terrain than suburban schmockville.

Polyphonic ringtones
    TURN DOWN YOUR PHONE YOU IGNORANT BASTARD. Who composed that piece of music? Do you know? Do you know the name? What's the name mother****er? Oh you don't know? Then why do you have it on your phone?! Who composed it? You don't know that either? BLAM BLAM! It's the 1812 Overture by Tchaikovsky you dullard!

Stupid Questions and requests
    Sometimes not even that. Sometimes I'm simply informed that "it's not working" as they look @ me with the most bemused expression- WHY DO YOU LOOK SO SUPRISED! IT'S A SHAGGIN' COMPUTER!

Kids
    SHUT YOUR KIDS UP BEFORE I SHUT THEM UP FOR YOU!
    You're kid isn't special- they're the same decaying organic matter as everything else.

Fat Kids
    Put your damn fat kid on a diet, little bastard weighs more than I do.

Pulp Fiction syndrome
    And after Pulp Fiction it was Trainspotting- this refers to annoying plebes who ask you have you seen/read something everyone has a thousand years ago and then proceed to tell you how cool it is and finally misquote it- YOU DON'T HAVE A CLUE STFU!

Irish Drivers
    We can't drive. We really can't.

Stupid public health & safety ads
    I saw a ad on RTE recently- telling people to wash their hands b4 eating. I'm sorry but if you're too stupid not to wash your hands before eating, too stupid not to know to stick your finger in an electric socket, etc, etc- YOU DESERVE TO DIE! Why are we protecting these people? Oh yeah- because they vote Fianna Fail.

Anti Smoking bitches
    DIE DIE DIE! BREATH MY SMOKE AND DIE A HORRIBLE CARCINOGENIC DEATH YOU PRICKS!

Fake D4 Fair City yuppie accents
    What was once a Dublin thing has become a nationwide epidemic- "yeh knooooohw. Putting on a fake D4 accent DOES NOT MAKE YOU INTELLIGENT.
    YOU'RE AN IDIOT.

Fake gay accents
    STOP LISPING! I know you're putting it on.
    and you you're not even gay are you? You just put on that lisp 'cos you think it'll get you girls.

Metrosexual
    I'm gonna find the person who coined that phrase, baste him/her in honey and feed him/her to the ants[/B]

Girls who think they're beautiful
    You're not. Your perfume is obnoxious and just because you can wear a pair of tight jeans and die your hair blonde does not make you attractive so stop copping this attitude- I don't find you attractive.

Girls who work in bars think they're beautiful
    You're just like the girls mentioned above, except you chat away to balding jock simians as I wait impatiently for my Guinness, GIMMIE MY GUINNESS...NO TAKE THIS BACK- LEARN TO POUR A DECENT PINT OF GUINNESS.

Going into the pub and there's football on
    Fúck the Premiership- overpaid english ponces kicking a ball- I WANT TO DRINK MY PINT IN PEACE!

Honda Civic ****
    Ooooh you got tinted windows rolled down with "euphoric" trance blasting out, a spoiler on the back that looks like a lear-jet wing and a Knight Rider light on the front- how cool are you. GET A ****ING LIFE! These gimps should be put off the road or @ least the road safety council should target these people exclusivly when making ads because it's these bastards that make it impossible to ever afford insurance.

Fiat Puntos
    I've already written about this

New Hotmail
    ARRGGGH! I HATE IT SO MUCH.

€ircon, Microsoft...
    I could go on but...

AOL, Yahoo, Real Player, Gator, Aconti
    And all the other crap people install on our machines

Britney's Wedding
    WHY DO YOU CARE! Why is an Iranian earthquake front page news for a day and her skanky-ass wedding to some hick front page for a week?

The Angelas
    BOING! BOING! BOING!
    ARRRGGGHHHHHHHHH!!!!

...hmm, I'll stop now- how much server space does boards have? Between this and the worst things you've done thread I could probably grind the whole site to its knees.

Fu*k that Beer Baron, your an angry, angry man.
    I agree with most things you say though, except for the Football.
    I HATE PEOPLE WHO HATE FOOTBALL!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 daveydub

God,

It's great to see so many Peter Perfect's around, they'll keep the rest of us on our toe's. You know what in Ireland we probably have the most reasons to moan but for god's sake get a life and do something about it. There's nothing more worse then someone sitting behind a desk, infront of a computer and mouthin' off what's wrong with everyone else... **** the lot of ye! :)

*yawn*

The hazards of modern life m'boy... need an outlet for frustration, the office environment hasn't got many outlets for anger. Hmm, game of quake anyone? :p

Originally posted by Dr. Loon
    Why do you give a shít about these points?? :rolleyes: The idiots who queue up at the external ATM's are idiots, but they need to take out money as we all do. Also, this leaves the internal ATM's for intelligent people like you and I.

As for bus idiots. Same principle as above, why do you care? You walk around the corner, and get on the bus immediately, plus a nice selection of seats. Would you prefer that you were hopping on to a packed bus, because everyone is as smart as you!?! :rolleyes:

Oh no, I don't mind, I mean, I'm already on the bus at that stage ;)

It's not that I care, it just annoys me how some people can be so sickeningly stupid. I'm thinking of the future... they shouldn't be allowed to breed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭SAXA

Originally posted by daveydub
    God,

It's great to see so many Peter Perfect's around, they'll keep the rest of us on our toe's. You know what in Ireland we probably have the most reasons to moan but for god's sake get a life and do something about it. There's nothing more worse then someone sitting behind a desk, infront of a computer and mouthin' off what's wrong with everyone else... **** the lot of ye! :)

so you join the thread to bitch about people who bitch mmmmm

Moridin,

The fact that you're bothered show's that you do care! If it didn't bother you why think or worry bout these things? I think you need to lighten up and get something else to occupy your mind :eek: ... ...

and Saxa yes someone has to come on here and tell ye'all sado's to lighten up.. Such bores :(

Originally posted by SuperStudent
    I don't even know you and I think I hate you! :)
    "Goons who indicate when they are pulling in to a parking spot.
    They are not turning a corner so why? Learn to drive you idiots. "
    They're indicating for cyclists & pedestrians.

Do cyclists & pedestrians pay road tax? No, they have NO say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Beer Baron

You know what in Ireland we probably have the most reasons to moan but for god's sake get a life and do something about it. There's nothing more worse then someone sitting behind a desk, infront of a computer and mouthin' off what's wrong with everyone else... **** the lot of ye!

Yeah- not one to complain @ all are you...sheesh!

To some of us bitching is a way of life, to me it's the only way of life, I mean why else did god put us on this earth if not to bitch about it.

My heros:
    muppets.jpg
    BOO! BOOOOOOO!!!!!

Originally posted by Civilian_Target
    I don't blame them, queue jumping's incredibly ignorant. I hate queues as much as anyone else but there's nothing that makes you so special that lets you jump it.

Only a sucker lets someone skip the queue in front of them, if they do then the deserve it. I don't like having to queue, simple as that, if I can avoid it I will.

Facist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭blondie83

this same person will look for the odd 87c when their bill comes to €8.87c. Just take the €1.13c in change for god sake.

Yeah they used to drive me mad in work. And the thing was it was always the really slow people who did it. The ones who had already taken ages to put their stuff through, and thn decided they didn't want half of it because "Oh thats 2c dearer than I thought it was so I'm not getting it"(so you have to spend anther five minutes getting a manager to void it out, meanwhile the queue grows longer!). Then they spend at least five minutes packing their stuff into bags, going "oh no I don't want any help, I always do it myself" So everyone has to wait again! And they have to pack it all in perfectly, then take it out and repack it again, just to be sure the butter isn't near the ham or something like that. They don't even get embaressed that everyone is glaring at them and waiting for them to move! I know if I was holding everyone up I'd be out of there as quick as possible. And 90% of ppl are like that, it's just the annoying 10% that drives everyone mad!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Sauron

Im not gonna go into them in much detail..Im sure I wont really have to

Drama Queens who go crazy at the slightest thing

Muppet Mobiles ie those cars with the tinted windows etc. with dance "music" blaring

Celebrity gossip magazines eg Hello, etc the whole paparazzi thing annoys the helll outta me, who could possibly care about what these people do? what with their 2 or 3 weddings a year that last about two weeks...and Its just pathetic to see people making a living out of, and people wanting to see pictures of when celebrities go to the shops

Smoking in general especially on the bus

queue jumpers most of the time they annoy me...

The Bush admin they just embody dishonesty and I really cant trust them at all.

Asshole Bus drivers wait till they get right beside the door after they've been running like hell to catch the bus, and floor it.

The Premiership, pro footballers, etc. Beckham, over-paid b4stards ( when there are many more deserving and under paid people around) argueing over fees for airing the matches, as if they dont get enough.

many more but ...well... you know...

The fact that you're bothered show's that you do care! If it didn't bother you why think or worry bout these things? I think you need to lighten up and get something else to occupy your mind :eek: ... ...

I disagree. Just because something annoys me doesn't mean that I care about it. I'm annoyed by lots of things. I'm annoyed by stupidity and I never cease to wonder how some people can get by without some sort of basic common sense.

Like why the hell would you queue when you can walk for like 10 seconds and use a machine that's free? It's like standing downstairs on the bus when there's loads of room upstairs... I just can't believe how people can have so much time that they can waste it like they do.

Something to occupy my mind? I think I've had plenty to think about over the last while actually :p

Moridin,

If everyone was to act like you, then you yourself wouldn't be able to avail of the free atm in the hidden bank lobby, you wouldn't be able to get a seat upstairs on the overcrowded 10 or 11.. So you should be thankfull that there are people who are somewhat less clued-in as you are.

What I don't get either is others who moan about queue jumpers and people who pull out a foldy-out chair on the train.. Do you for one second think that approaching the queue jumper and ask whats going on might perhaps be more fruitfull? rather than sitting here moaning about it and likewise with the doll-face in the middle of the train, anyone thought about goin up to her and given her a smack?

This is Irishness at it's best, sit here and moan about and do fu*k all...

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Originally posted by The Beer Baron

Stupid public health & safety ads
    I saw a ad on RTE recently- telling people to wash their hands b4 eating. I'm sorry but if you're too stupid not to wash your hands before eating, too stupid not to know to stick your finger in an electric socket, etc, etc- YOU DESERVE TO DIE! Why are we protecting these people? Oh yeah- because they vote Fianna Fail.

lol
    Anti Smoking bitches
    DIE DIE DIE! BREATH MY SMOKE AND DIE A HORRIBLE CARCINOGENIC DEATH YOU PRICKS!

lmao

i hate school, homework, d4 fuckheads, jock's,rockers,goths,
    people who say there parents beat them as a child and are now fucked up....

Bullshit. why? my parents beat the shit out of me when i was a kid and i turned out just fine and dandy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Pink Bunny

Originally posted by simu
    [7. Drama queens - people who have to make a soap opera out of everything in life.

11. People who look you up and down to see what you're wearing when they meet you.

[/B]

Agree especially to those two above!
    And also, men that look you up and down slowly while you are talking to them. Look in my eyes when you talk to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

Things I hate.....

1: Not being able to find shoes that fit me - Went looking yesterday for a new pair of runners. Just wanted a cheap-ass pair for day-to-day use, nothing fancy. Now, is it just me or does every shop owner in the country think guys feet stop growing when they get to a size 9? Nowhere, and I mean nowhere, could I find a size 12, or even an 11 that I could have managed to squeeze into. Looked around, hmmm, let's see, size 7, size 8, size 9, ah bo***cks! Go up to the counter with a pair of the size 9's; "Excuse me, do you have these in a size 12? Or even an 11?" "Hang on till I look." Stand around for 20 minutes before girl comes back only to tell me, "No, sorry, 9 is the biggest we have." This pisses me off no end. I mean, it's not like I'm looking for a gold-and-diamond encrusted, mink-lined pair of shoes here, just a pair that will fit me! Christ! Shoe shop owners and retailers of Ireland, if you're reading this, please, PLEASE remember that some of us guys are bigger than a size 9 and stock your shelves accordingly.

2: When the Post Office/bank is packed and they think having one window open is enough - Another major gripe of mine which I'm sure is shared with many others. Why is it that when the queue in the Post Office or bank is stretching out the front door there is only one window open? But any other time you go in there and there's only yourself and another person waiting all the windows are open? Who in their infinite wisdom decided to come up with this policy? It doesn't take an Einstein to work out that the reverse should be done instead: all windows open when it's busy, only a couple open when it's relatively quiet. It beggers belief sometimes.

3: Companies who decide to change the taste of your favorite food with a "new and improved" flavour that ends up tasting like s**te - I'm sure you all know of examples of this phenomenon. I mean, if a flavour is tried and tested and people like it, why change it and end up turning people's stomachs and turn people off your product completely? In most cases where they do this in the hope of gaining more consumers, it only ends up backfiring on them and they loose whatever fans of the product they had in the first place and then don't gain any new ones either. Company goes bankrupt, big boss is left to be seen standing outside the factory gates locking them up for the last time crying to himself, "Oh God, if only I hadn't listened to those marketing idiots and we stuck with the original flavour. I'm ruined. RUINED!"

4: Companies that stop making your favorite food/shops that stop stocking it - In the same vein as the previous gripe, why is it that when you try something you really like, then end up becoming addicted to the stuff, 2 weeks later they either stop making it or shops stop stocking it? I call this the "Cadbury's Cream Egg Phenomenon". Everybody loves Cream Eggs (well, everybody I know), I'm addicted to the beggers, but why is it you only see them around in the run up to Easter? Usually from the start of February till the end of April or so. They are huge sellers for Cadbury's and I'm sure they would sell well all year round but they only seem to sell them for a few months each year. Leaving addicts of this confectionary goodness having to go cold turkey for the rest of the year. And the same goes for things like chilli-flavour Texicanos. I love these crisps and used to always buy the great big bags of them (perfect for a night in front of the telly) but I haven't seen a big bag of them around for almost a year now. Only these tiny, piddly piss-ant bags with about 10 crisps in them. Why? WHY? Bring back my monster bags, PLEASE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I think you'll find road tax has to do with a vehicle's impact on the environment, and the road itself. hence why bigger vehicles pay more road tax. And why cyclists don't have to pay road tax. Should an articulated truck be entitled to forgoe all indicating and courtesy to other road users? After all, he does pay more road tax than the majority of other road users..."Fuck you little car driver, get out of my way, I pay more road tax, I've more right to be here". :rolleyes:
    Idiot females who queue at the checkout and when it's their turn they then decide to look for the purse and it is strange that this same person will look for the odd 87c when their bill comes to €8.87c. Just take the €1.13c in change for god sake.
    What annoys me more is women, regardless of the queue behind them, are both unprepared coming up to the counter, and slow to leave.
    They stand there, watch the cashier total everything up, wait till they're told how much it will cost, and then, only then, take their bag off their shoulder, rummage about for their purse, take out their purse, count all the paper money they have in it, and give the cashier the money. How much hassle could it possbly be to have your purse open and ready while the cashier is totalling up?
    Then they get their change, scrunch it into a ball, unscrunch it again and remove the receipt, sort the notes into the little compartments, count all their paper money again, fold the receipt up, put it in another compartment, put purse back in bag, wuick rummage in bag to make sure everything's there, and then leave.
    This really annoys me. I'll either say 'excuse me', hand my goods to the cashier over their head or shoulder. If they don't move or are right in the way I'll stand so close I could be standing on the backs of their feet until they move. There's room to stand aside. If they're going to be ignorant, I'm going to be ignorant.
    My gf does the above all the time and it really annoys me. If I see her sorting her change at the till I just take the bags and walk away, don't wait for her. ;)

(Note, the above is ok if there's no queue. I have no problem waiting those few extra seconds unless I've been standing in a queue.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

TIMELIFE MUSIC

Do pedestrians contribute towards Ireland CO2 emissions which the EU charges us for? No. Do we pollute? No. Do we generally have as much money as car users? No. But we have the same rights in society, so it's only right that you ignorant polluting ****ers pay for our busses and pavements. You have the option to join us if you so desire.

And as for your ignorant view on queueing, I'm sure that you're the ignorant wanker who jumps in ahead of kids and old ladies, rather than trying to dodge in front of the likes of me.

And on my hate list today is an ignorant w*nker, like you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Oh by the way, Irish people are very very very bitter

Originally posted by aidan_dunne
    Things I hate.....

1: Not being able to find shoes that fit me - Went looking yesterday for a new pair of runners. Just wanted a cheap-ass pair for day-to-day use, nothing fancy. Now, is it just me or does every shop owner in the country think guys feet stop growing when they get to a size 9? Nowhere, and I mean nowhere, could I find a size 12, or even an 11 that I could have managed to squeeze into. Looked around, hmmm, let's see, size 7, size 8, size 9, ah bo***cks! Go up to the counter with a pair of the size 9's; "Excuse me, do you have these in a size 12? Or even an 11?" "Hang on till I look."

How do you think I feel, I'm size 14.

Moridin,

If everyone was to act like you, then you yourself wouldn't be able to avail of the free atm in the hidden bank lobby, you wouldn't be able to get a seat upstairs on the overcrowded 10 or 11.. So you should be thankfull that there are people who are somewhat less clued-in as you are.

(snip)

This is Irishness at it's best, sit here and moan about and do fu*k all...

Isn't that what message boards are for? Posting thoughts, comments, likes and dislikes? If I wanted something DONE about it then I'd go and do something, but I don't.

All I wanted was to post a couple of the things that have been getting on my nerves lately, hardly a crime is it? Did anyone ask you to read the thread?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

On buses People who stand downstairs when there are seats upstairs. This really bugs me. Where is the shame in going upstairs and checking for seats? So what if there aren't any (and 99% of the time there's at least 1 seat). When I'm upstairs I always have a look round the top deck before I get off and say to the idiots crowded downstairs that "There's at least 10/15 seats upstairs! Why don't you sit there instead of getting in people's way down here".
    Also: people who think they have a divine right to your seat and that young people can't get tired. I have no problem giving up a seat to pregnant/blind/crutches/physically handicapped person. But just because you're old or have some sort of disability card (and are able-bodied) AND DON'T PAY FOR YOUR TICKET - (but flash a card to the driver when getting on) then get lost and sit upstairs

In Banks people who don't know their account number/who don't have dockets completed. Who chose the busiest time of the day (lunchtime) to do their banking and wonder why there aren't as many cashiers open.

Vinyl people who act surprised when you tell them you still buy vinyl and tell you that they "didn't think you could get records anymore". Just because they don't buy it and Golden Discs doesn't stock any doesn't when it no longer exists. Also people who say "they miss vinyl", complain that their turntable no longer works, but never do anything about it, despite you telling them that new turntables/needles can be purchased without difficulty

Music people who say they've never heard of a band you mention and sound like they think they're superior to you because they haven't. Ask the same person do they buy any music magazines/listen to specialist DJs/look at music websites and they'll say no. Well how the fcuk can they expect to hear of bands if they don't do this? The band you mention may be all over "The Ticket" section of the Irish Times but these people don't even bother to read it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Soccer fans who support English clubs but always shout for the opposition when England are playing. People who think they're more Irish than you because they support Celtic. People who wear Celtic jersies to Ireland games. People who wear Rangers jersies to Northern Ireland games. People who wear Celtic jersies with Eire 32 or bombed places and dates on them.

Also people who think it's funny to spoil BBC polls by voting for something Irish and ludicrous. Just for a bit of craic. And claim not to hate the English. But hate to see Tim Henman doing well. But watch British TV etc.

All I wanted was to post a couple of the things that have been getting on my nerves lately, hardly a crime is it? Did anyone ask you to read the thread?

You're completely right there, but I just wanted to register my thoughts on moany holes who sometimes ain't got anything better to do then moan about every god damn thing under the sun...

Sorry if I offended you in my opposition... moan away!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,025 ✭✭✭yellum

Gandhi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭Faust

I hate crappy coke! Sometimes when you get coke and it tastes like melted Mr.freezes!!! It's usually from germany or some other country. When i ask for coke i ask for Coke that does'nt taste like crap. GRrrRRrrr!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭Faust

I hate crappy coke! Sometimes when you get coke and it tastes like melted Mr.freezes!!! It's usually from germany or some other country. When i ask for coke i ask for Coke that does'nt taste like crap. GRrrRRrrr!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

Originally posted by Civilian_Target
    How do you think I feel, I'm size 14.

Oh my god! :eek: And I thought I had it bad. You have my deepest sympathies as I'm sure you know all about this problem much more than I do. At least occasionally I might be able to find a pair that fit, you must be tearing your hair out with frustration, at this stage.

Still though, having bigger than average feet does have it's advantages, now and again. Like those knowing smiles a girl will sometimes give you! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭sionnach

i hate people who post the exact same thing twice :)