TNT overclocking - boards.ie
Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
07-10-2001, 15:09   #1
BabyEater
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Dundalk
Posts: 683
TNT overclocking

I have overclocked my TNT i was just wondering what would be the best benchmark for me to run to test the stability of the card at these higher speeds.
BabyEater is offline  
Advertisement
07-10-2001, 17:21   #2
Bosco
Registered User
 
Bosco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Galway City
Posts: 219
Folks,

I don't think there's any sure way to test stability other than to just use your computer a lot. If it's unstable, the graphics will garble and perhaps the machine will crash a lot.

Measure stability in crashes/month.

Bosco
Bosco is offline  
07-10-2001, 22:38   #3
JustHalf
Registered User
 
JustHalf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Leixlip
Posts: 2,503
Try running a 3D first person shooter like Quake III, running it's time demoes repeatedly. Look for graphical glitches... they'll appear like "snow"... this is a sign of overheating or, er, worse.

Try running 3DMark2000 over and over and over again. You might also try 3DMark2001... don't know the rest of your spec so I can't tell if it will work or not.
JustHalf is offline  
08-10-2001, 16:22   #4
BabyEater
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Dundalk
Posts: 683
I tried 3D mark 2001 but it doexnt work well .But i managed to get me core from 90-118 and me memory from 110-122 which improved me score from 462-495
By the way i have a P2 450 with 320 mb of ram
BabyEater is offline  
08-10-2001, 17:38   #5
TacT
Registered User
 
TacT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: france
Posts: 4,127
Send a message via Skype™ to TacT
Do not bother overclocking it mate.....just my opinion.

Obviously an upgrade is not a feasible option for you if you are looking to overclock the card, but a tnt with a 90mhz core is v.bad

You need a new cpu and gfx card to expect any kind of a decent performance increase, you would be better off with a new cpu before the gfx card also

If you do want to overclock it, you need some extra cooling, try get an old socket 370 fan and take it off it's heatsink and screw it on top of the core/heatsink of the gfx card, your motherboard should have a connection for it if your lucky :| then overclock.....by overclocking the card alone you will only gain a max of 5fps at a wild guess could only be 1 and if you overclock too much you may see a performance decrease........your real bottleneck is the cpu, try overclock that instead if you want performance, also try overclock your ram from within the bios, set ras-cas delay to 2, precharge time 2 etc hclk+33 if available. Likewise, I'd advise you get a few spare fans you have lying around or think about whether your money would be better spent on buying fans or a new cpu and/or gfx card..........gl

Last edited by TacT; 08-10-2001 at 17:44.
TacT is offline  
Advertisement
08-10-2001, 20:20   #6
JustHalf
Registered User
 
JustHalf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Leixlip
Posts: 2,503
Quote:
Originally posted by BabyEater
I tried 3D mark 2001 but it doexnt work well .But i managed to get me core from 90-118 and me memory from 110-122 which improved me score from 462-495
By the way i have a P2 450 with 320 mb of ram
The point wasn't to examine the scores, but to look for snow!
JustHalf is offline  
08-10-2001, 22:19   #7
BabyEater
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Dundalk
Posts: 683
when overclocking the TNT i put a cocket 7 fan onto the heatsink another above the other side of the card .I also put an exaust fan beside it an another exaust in the slot proveided on me case just above it .As u can see i had a few fans lying around .
I would love to overclock me CPU but i cant change the FSB in me bios and i dont know how else i would go about changing it .If yis know any other way i would be appreciative of any feedback.
As for buying components for me pc that is highly unlikely as i am majorly broke.
Thanks for the replys
BabyEater is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet