Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
06-09-2005, 20:19   #1
Newshound
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 106
076 numbers - How much to call one?

Does anyone know What rate do other networks charge to call 076 numbers?
Newshound is offline  
Advertisement
06-09-2005, 20:25   #2
paulm17781
Closed Account
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,684
They are charged at national call rates I believe.

Contact the networks I suppose.
paulm17781 is offline  
06-09-2005, 22:28   #3
Cabaal
Cat Herding Mod
 
Cabaal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Authoritarian Inc
Posts: 21,344
4.92c per minute Peak and 1.26c per minute Off Peak.
not bad really,

Obviously this will be different on mobiles depending on who your provider is, but landline to 076 is the above
Cabaal is offline  
07-09-2005, 13:26   #4
JNive
Registered User
 
JNive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 972
i believe 0766 will be treated as a landline.
JNive is offline  
17-09-2005, 01:25   #5
Urban Weigl
Registered User
 
Urban Weigl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Co Mayo, Ireland
Posts: 2,763
Send a message via ICQ to Urban Weigl
Quote:
Originally Posted by JNive
i believe 0766 will be treated as a landline.
0766 will cost no more than a local call, even when called from a regular landline. From a mobile, it's like calling any other Irish number, eg 01 or 091.
Urban Weigl is offline  
Advertisement
02-10-2005, 21:43   #6
shabbyroad
Registered User
 
shabbyroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: in a cafe on the left bank
Posts: 1,188
Send a message via MSN to shabbyroad
so does that mean if I have a call-plan that includes 'free' calls to landlines that 0766 numbers will be included in that plan ?
shabbyroad is offline  
03-10-2005, 09:11   #7
paulm17781
Closed Account
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,684
Quote:
Originally Posted by shabbyroad
so does that mean if I have a call-plan that includes 'free' calls to landlines that 0766 numbers will be included in that plan ?
I think Eircon and other fixed providers will charge you national rates (not included). Other VOIP providers will probably make them free anyway.
paulm17781 is offline  
05-10-2005, 17:38   #8
Newshound
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 106
Can you call these numbers from Eircon phones?
I can call mine from my mobile, but get an engaged tone when i call it from my Eircon phone
Newshound is offline  
06-10-2005, 09:08   #9
paulm17781
Closed Account
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,684
Quote:
Originally Posted by Newshound
Can you call these numbers from Eircon phones?
I can call mine from my mobile, but get an engaged tone when i call it from my Eircon phone

Yeah you can. I tested it and it worked.
paulm17781 is offline  
Advertisement
06-10-2005, 09:11   #10
Newshound
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 106
Definitely not working with my Eircom phone.
called blueface and they said to call eircom about it so thats what i'll do
Newshound is offline  
06-10-2005, 10:43   #11
Cabaal
Cat Herding Mod
 
Cabaal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Authoritarian Inc
Posts: 21,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Newshound
Definitely not working with my Eircom phone.
called blueface and they said to call eircom about it so thats what i'll do
Lets us know how you get on, I'm sure they'll be totally confused if you mention:
076 - "Eircom: that dialing code does not exist in Ireland, what country are you calling?"
&
VoIP "Eircom: whats that now?"
Cabaal is offline  
06-10-2005, 19:19   #12
Newshound
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cabaal
Lets us know how you get on, I'm sure they'll be totally confused if you mention:
076 - "Eircom: that dialing code does not exist in Ireland, what country are you calling?"
&
VoIP "Eircom: whats that now?"

You were so right.
I got transferred to 3 people then finally i was told to contact blueface.
I hung up and tried again and the 2nd person set they would sort it out.
I live in hope
Newshound is offline  
06-10-2005, 21:59   #13
Cabaal
Cat Herding Mod
 
Cabaal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Authoritarian Inc
Posts: 21,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Newshound
You were so right.
I got transferred to 3 people then finally i was told to contact blueface.
I hung up and tried again and the 2nd person set they would sort it out.
I live in hope
Not very surprising,
I'm guessing part of the agent "sorting it out" entails them hanging up on you and taking the next call in the Q and also forgetting about your problem.

Last edited by Cabaal; 06-10-2005 at 22:03.
Cabaal is offline  
13-02-2010, 21:51   #14
drunkmonkey
Registered User
 
drunkmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Haven Arena
Posts: 12,333
Sorry for dragging up a really old thread but I was just playing a game on my iphone and I hit off one of ads on the bottom of the game (got a bit giddy dropping bombs on tanks), anyway,
Phone dialed out a number 076 606 0743 Hung up straight away when I heard the word partyline ( I honestly thought it was an incoming call)

Trouble is now i've started getting texts from "roisin" who's looking for some monkey lovin, any idea how much these texts are costing?, called my operator and they couldn't tell me until my bill is generated and they can't stop them.

Company sending them is called, mytext. I've texted stop so hoping that's going to work.

grrr can't believe I got caught like this feckin iphone, come back nokia all is forgiven
drunkmonkey is offline  
14-02-2010, 01:00   #15
Johnboy1951
Registered User
 
Johnboy1951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,557
Quote:
Phone dialed out a number 076 606 0743 Hung up straight away when I heard the word partyline ( I honestly thought it was an incoming call)
I was not aware that the 076 numbers were available to such users ....

Is there somewhere to get a listing of what some of the 076 number may be used for ?
Johnboy1951 is online now  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet